We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Fare in Essaouira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 Bis, Rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 217 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
361 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“French Fare in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and meal at this warm and friendly restaurant. The menu features a mixture of French and Moroccan dishes. We opted for the French dishes, starting with a shared goats cheese salad that was very tasty but could have been a bit larger portion. The steak was generous and very good fillet of Moroccan beef. Our other main course was a gratin with prawns and calamari that was also very good. We didn't have coffee or desserts, but with two glasses of a full-bodied Moroccan red wine and a large bottle of sparkling water our bill came to about 35 Euro which we consider excellent value. The room is quaint, comfortable and intimate. The service is very attentive. The French owner is also a photographer and his portfolio of very interesting photographs is available to browse. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    139
    29
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a week in Essaouira and dined at a different restaurant each evening. This was definitely our favourite; an interesting and varied menu, excellent service from Lawrence and superb food. If you're visiting Essaouira then this restaurant is a must. We wanted to try the restaurant run by his wife, Liliana, but ran out of time. If we come back to Essaouira for another holiday we will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What can I say about D'Orient et d'Ailleurs, number 1? In my opinion, NO WAY. It’s a nice place, good food and service, but nothing special. There was nothing in the menu that I thought I would love to have so ended having the fish tagine, one of the specials of the day. It was a bit boring and bland, I have to say. The place lacked ‘je ne sais quoi’, a bit too serious. From all the places we ate in Essaouira, I’m afraid I would put this restaurant at the bottom of our list. Don’t get me wrong, it was not that bad, it was just the other places we went to were much better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Really good cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went here after being recommended by his wife at her restaurant round the corner, and weren't disappointed. Again, top quality cooking - really excellent seafood pastilla and veg pastries to start, followed by prawns, veg tagine, seafood gratin and seafood pasta, all of which were great.
Would definitely recommend during a stay in Essaouira.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and were not disappointed, lovely ambience andlots of good food, my girlfriend couldnt fit a desert in.great service I would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.