We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food, tagine to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 Bis, Rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 219 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, tagine to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The sister restaurant (La Cle de Voute) to another highly ranked trip advisor restaurant about 100m away, this one delivers more great service and food for a reasonable price. My tagine was gorgeous with lamb, prunes and apricots, really melt in your mouth. My other half had a lovely steak, as nice as the others he had also had at Elizir and the sister restaurant to this place, although none were as good as steaks you can get in a great steak place in the UK I have to say. The chocolate fondant dessert was nice, but for 5 euros (not cheap cheap in Morrocco), I thought there should have been a bit more, a slighter bigger ramekin wouldnt have hurt! Service was great, wine lovely. I did find that both restaurants passing you their business cards, as well as giving you information and a detailed description of how you actually add a trip advisor review about them a little too much, it seems they are good marketers indeed, but perhaps they are just striving to be no1/2 on TA! Still the best Tagine I had in Morocco.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    141
    29
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Crtainly the best place in Essaouira with sister restaurant la cle de voute. Beautiful fish food and amazing meetballs. Te wine a special reserve from Meknes also stunning. Definetively a place to go if you are in Essaouira!! Price also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had an amazing meal here. I had the a beautiful fish starter that I had never had before. If we hadn't been leaving the next day I would have gone back for it again! My husband was going to order it for desert after he tried mine but was to full! I then had the fish tagine and it was really yummy. The decor is simple and nice with some lovely photos taken by the owner on the walls. The service was great and the place had a nice atmosphere. I want the owner and his wife to open up a restaurant where I live!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a great dinner here. The service was excellent and the food was great. The restaurant was quite clean and nicely decorated. The avocado salad was excellent as well as the duck, gambas with rice and fillet minion. They have a mixed menu so it's great to go to if you have had moroccan food for a few days and are looking to try something different as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“lovely meal great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

had dinner here on a quite night and had a lovely meal it was nice to have avocado salad to start as felt like i hadnt had many vegetables and was sick of tagines so had a fish pie type dish which was lovely and my other half had a delicious pastilla. The owner was lovely helping us with our wine choice to suit the meal.He also gave us advice about where to go and recommended a taxi driver we could use which was realy useful as used him to got Val D'Argan and back to Marrakech another day. you can also eat at his wife's restaurant round the corner which guests in our hotel said was so good they had to go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.