We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of in-between” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 199 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kind of in-between”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice place with a really nice and friendly owner. When finding out we had no cash, but just a credit card (which they don't accept), he told us to just come back the next day ...

However, the food we had was quite average. So no real idea why it is hyped why Tripadvisor so much. Maybe they had a bad day ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    126
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Much a-do about not too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really like the owners of the place, they are very friendly. But the food is a disappointment each time I return - and I have dined there several times - and I find it too expensive for what they offer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

It took a little bit of time to find this hidden treasure at the back of the medina but my husband & I were thrilled we took the time to figure out the map.
We had a fantastic meal & would recommend it for all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to be and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Of one of the many restaurants my wife and I were lucky to enter this place. It has à very nice ambiance and the food (startes, main coarse and desert) were of very good quality. They even have some great wines! The ower stated that his wife was responsible for the flavours. She has also à restaurant in Essaoira, we will certainly bring à visit to this place as well...!
Frank & Najla from the Netherlands

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the most delicious meal here and are more than happy to brag about it. The owner, Lawrence, waits tables and makes sure everything is taken care of, including giving us a heads up that everyone sat at once and it may be a little slower (it wasn't). Very reasonably priced food and wine, and the luxury of being able to order Moroccan or something special like Fois Gras or duck breast. Such attention to detail and such wonderful flavors. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.