We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs

Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs
67 bis, rue Touahen | Proche de la Skala de la Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
212 524 47 59 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 200 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wifi freeClosed on saturdayOpen from 18.30Menu at 90 dhs and 130 dhsFrench & vegeterian and morrocan cookingMorroco wine cardNo credit card accepted
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

It took a little bit of time to find this hidden treasure at the back of the medina but my husband & I were thrilled we took the time to figure out the map.
We had a fantastic meal & would recommend it for all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    127
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to be and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Of one of the many restaurants my wife and I were lucky to enter this place. It has à very nice ambiance and the food (startes, main coarse and desert) were of very good quality. They even have some great wines! The ower stated that his wife was responsible for the flavours. She has also à restaurant in Essaoira, we will certainly bring à visit to this place as well...!
Frank & Najla from the Netherlands

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the most delicious meal here and are more than happy to brag about it. The owner, Lawrence, waits tables and makes sure everything is taken care of, including giving us a heads up that everyone sat at once and it may be a little slower (it wasn't). Very reasonably priced food and wine, and the luxury of being able to order Moroccan or something special like Fois Gras or duck breast. Such attention to detail and such wonderful flavors. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good service and presentation let down by quality of lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant is run by Lawrence, who's wife runs the Cle de Voute. The atmosphere is lovely and the cuisine Franco-Marrocain. We started with a kir melon - which we'd never had before - melon licquor which we will find back in France or Belgium. Delicious. For starter we shared a tomato tarte and the avocado salad, both of which were well-presented and tasted fabulous. For main course, I chose the magret de canard - beautifully tender duck served perfectly with apples in cinnamon. However, the same problem occurred with the lamb as at their other restaurant - one piece was fine, another tough, the third inedible. Again, they reduced the price and explained that there was a problem with the quality at the moment - it was a shame though - especially twice with the same team. Do remember that if you want to enjoy your meal, you do need to ask them to give you a break between courses. Otherwise, you will find your main course arrives a few minutes after you have finished the starter. This is not an issue with the restaurant at all but it seems that some people want to eat and go - a shame in such a pleasant atmosphere!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food was always good here but now is better than ever. It was the best food (a mix of Moroccan and international) we had in Essaouira, and the lowest price. Atmosphere is small, warm and intimate, and service excellent
Keep up the good work, Lawrence!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.