We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It stole my heart!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa de l'O to your Saves list
Villa de l'O
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 171 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It stole my heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This boutique hotel is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. It's a little diamond! Superb warmth, friendliness and helpfulness from the owner Caroline and her very attentive team. They were all very engaging! The attention to detail really is exceptional. Very comfortable and well laid out rooms that you can really feel at home in. I slept very well on the good quality double bed I had and the pillows and bed linen finished off the touch of luxury.
I especially enjoyed the substantial and healthy breakfast with freshly squeezed juices on the roof terrace which had amazing panoramic views of the beach and roof top angles of part of the medina.
The rooms downstairs like the indoor courtyard for example were wonderful right down to the natural avery it has established with small birds like Finches creating a beautiful background chorus whilst I took afternoon beverages. Another room I loved was the games room with log fire and Edwine makes the best hot chocolate soothers!
I was delighted with my hammam and massage and not to far to go, just down one flight of stairs in fact!
Villa de L'o is unique and special in every way and confidently recommend a stay here even if its just for. Long weekend break. I'm sad to be home!

Room Tip: Alas there was no swimming pool but the sea is so close it was not a problem for me. I stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    45
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
152
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I read some of the comments posted on this site, so I was a wit skeptical, and as usual, it's all about 'guts'. In those times and days every one feels he/she has the power of the internet.... Villa de l'O is a nice little guest house, ideally located a few steps from the beach, a great view, a REAL rooftop terrace, unlike the zillion of Ryads in town with a handkerchief size rooftop and no experience as such...Yes it could be better, but you get what you pay for.
The front office staff is always present and friendly with good recommendations. Yes a more visible Maitre/esse de Maison would be great to see, at the same time I have stayed in may guest houses and sometimes it is like that and you feel you just rented a home and see no one at all! The Villa was full but only met a few guests at breakfast, with a view and the bees and the seagulls trying to knick my croissant! All part of a charming experience with a colonial style that makes you travel in time in Mogador.I'll be back!

Room Tip: Take the rooftop room with the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Essaouira at the Villa de l'O and it was good without anything extra. And this is the story of this B&B: all is there but there is no soul or spirit in the house! Although it has a lot to offer if there was that higher level of engagement of the owner/manager or... (that person who was invisible, although only 7 rooms). Eg: for 3 mornings the same ingredients for b/f were served, no change.
I have to say that the staff at reception are very friendly and helpfull: they advised a number of excellent restaurants: La Table de Magador, Les Allizes
If you look for smtg good, well located and with friendly reception staff, then it may be an option. Altough I'm sure you can find a lot of other Riad's in town with better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some of the furniture (large leather drawer cabinet,...) and objects in our split level room were worthy of a wealthy merchant's house. The terrace breakfast was excellent and provided a magnificent view over the ocean (pity about the pesky, persistent flies). Excellent advice given by Meryam in reception on a place for dinner: atmospheric, tasty, and very cheap, and how to negotiate in the souk! We enjoyed sitting in the lovely quiet courtyard garden listening to the birds. Perfectly located just inside the Medina, boasting a very short walk to the beach, this Villa provided for all our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are just finishing a two & a half week trip to Morocco and have spent our last three nights in Essaouira staying at this B&B hotel. The Villa de l'O has much to recommend it, being close to the medina walls it makes arrivals and departures very easy and access to everything you could wish to visit, involves just a short, enjoyable stroll.
Beautiful views of the bay are available from many rooms (unfortunately not ours) and the terrace, where a lovely breakfast is served at your convenience, every morning.
All the staff seemed very pleasant. There was also some renovation work being carried out whilst we were visiting and it was a little noisy at times and a bit dusty too, which was a bit of a negative.
I was sharing a room with my 20+ daughter who was finishing a three month stay in Africa, we had a lot of luggage between us and our room was SMALL. Considering we were paying for 5-star Riad accommodation on our trip, we were a bit disappointed. Though, our beds were very comfortable and the shower was good by Moroccan standards, meaning it was hot and above your head, a huge bonus. My mother's room was extremely spacious, very comfortable too, and she did not have an overhead shower but the most enormous bath which suited her.
I would return happily and recommend Villa de l'O to friends too, but only if I could be choosier about my room.

Room Tip: Not l'Occident, too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a 2 week holiday in morocco and needed a bit of chill out time and we found it with this beautiful hotel on the edge of the medina with fantastic views to the bay and a roof terrace you could spend all day on. You felt part of the hub of essaouira but could also escape the craziness for some peace and quiet if you needed. It sometimes felt like you had the hotel and the terrace to yourself. The breakfast was brilliant and the service amazing. Take a trip down the coast to sidi kaouki for a long sandy beach with very few tourists.

Room Tip: We stayed in L'Orient and it was as beautiful as the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just read all the other rave reviews of this place and wonder if we stayed at the same one!
The roof terrace and breakfasts were delightful-----but our room was very disappointing. The shower did not work properly and drained away very slowly. The bathroom sink plug was useless
It was so dingey we needed a torch for the safe and could barely read in bed.The decor was the worst sort of bland, impractical, beige/brown designer statement. Quite souless and no Moroccan feel for vibrant clour.
We never met the managers in our 4 night stay. Attention at the front desk was pleasant but cursory

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de l'O 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de l'O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.