We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa de l'O, Essaouira” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa de l'O to your Saves list
Villa de l'O
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Villa de l'O, Essaouira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are just finishing a two & a half week trip to Morocco and have spent our last three nights in Essaouira staying at this B&B hotel. The Villa de l'O has much to recommend it, being close to the medina walls it makes arrivals and departures very easy and access to everything you could wish to visit, involves just a short, enjoyable stroll.
Beautiful views of the bay are available from many rooms (unfortunately not ours) and the terrace, where a lovely breakfast is served at your convenience, every morning.
All the staff seemed very pleasant. There was also some renovation work being carried out whilst we were visiting and it was a little noisy at times and a bit dusty too, which was a bit of a negative.
I was sharing a room with my 20+ daughter who was finishing a three month stay in Africa, we had a lot of luggage between us and our room was SMALL. Considering we were paying for 5-star Riad accommodation on our trip, we were a bit disappointed. Though, our beds were very comfortable and the shower was good by Moroccan standards, meaning it was hot and above your head, a huge bonus. My mother's room was extremely spacious, very comfortable too, and she did not have an overhead shower but the most enormous bath which suited her.
I would return happily and recommend Villa de l'O to friends too, but only if I could be choosier about my room.

Room Tip: Not l'Occident, too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    41
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
142
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a 2 week holiday in morocco and needed a bit of chill out time and we found it with this beautiful hotel on the edge of the medina with fantastic views to the bay and a roof terrace you could spend all day on. You felt part of the hub of essaouira but could also escape the craziness for some peace and quiet if you needed. It sometimes felt like you had the hotel and the terrace to yourself. The breakfast was brilliant and the service amazing. Take a trip down the coast to sidi kaouki for a long sandy beach with very few tourists.

Room Tip: We stayed in L'Orient and it was as beautiful as the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just read all the other rave reviews of this place and wonder if we stayed at the same one!
The roof terrace and breakfasts were delightful-----but our room was very disappointing. The shower did not work properly and drained away very slowly. The bathroom sink plug was useless
It was so dingey we needed a torch for the safe and could barely read in bed.The decor was the worst sort of bland, impractical, beige/brown designer statement. Quite souless and no Moroccan feel for vibrant clour.
We never met the managers in our 4 night stay. Attention at the front desk was pleasant but cursory

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sitting right against the medina wall this is absolutely in the right place. Could not be in a better location to enable you to see all that Essouriah has to offer.

It was easy to see why camera crews were setting up for a film shoot - this is such a picturesque palce to discover.

Breakfast was excellent - no evening meals available so you'll have to get out at night. Staff were very helpful in making suggestions. Eating on terrace overlooking the sea was great.

Very colonial feel. Would have been even better if there was a door on the en suite bathroom - it's just wierd not having any privacy in your personal moments!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed in Ville de L'O (originally recommended by Boutique Souk) and we were not disappointed. The location is good, being inside the Medina and very close to the sea. The decor is eclectic and relaxing. Staff, particularly the receptionists are absolutely charming and make you feel that nothing would be too much trouble. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

With the huge selection of hotels and riads Essaouira has on offer it was difficult to make a choice but we were so happy with our decision! The hotel is small and exquisitely elegant - every piece of furniture, every ornament has been carefully picked to create a romantic colonial feel. The location is perfect- immediately within the medina walls and away from the busier internal little streets. Caroline is extremely helpful and helped us arrange a transfer at a reasonable cost from our previous hotel which was 3 hours' drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Quite simply faultless. Elegant, romantic riad with superb views from the terrace. Staff are superb and genuinely hospitable. The breakfast is simple but ample and the bar is reasonably priced. This will be on my top 10 hotels ever for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa de l'O 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de l'O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.