We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere directly out of 1001 Arabian Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baladin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baladin
Save Saved
You added Riad Baladin to your Saves list
Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Atmosphere directly out of 1001 Arabian Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Linked by the ground floor and terraces the 3 riad (houses) form a charming maze. The interior design is both intricate and inviting. Whether falling asleep listening to the Atlantic Ocean crashing against the city walls or being served a scrumptious breakfast on the rooftop terrace - Riad Baladin is the perfect home away from home in Essaouira.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    153
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
420
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed at Riad Baladin for a couple of nights. This was my second trip to Essaouira and I decided to try Riad Baladin based on other trip advisor reviews and I was very happy with my choice. I was given a beautiful room on the terrace - very very light and airy and the terrace is a great place to relax.. Claudia came to meet my bus at the bus station and took me to the riad, which is well situated. She was extremely welcoming and full of very useful information about places to eat and things to do. Breakfast was delicious - with healthy fruit salad and muesli and served on the terrace which is a great way to start the day. Would loved to have stayed longer but would definitely choose to stay here if I go back to Essaouira. Thanks a million Claudia!.

Room Tip: The room on the terrace is lovely, very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just returned from our two-week trip to Morocco this Friday and we stayed the last 5 nights at the Riad Baladin in Essaouira. And we really loved it.
The location is really good: in the best part of the old medina, very close to everything but yet quiet and tranquil. A little oasis in the heart of the town.
The style of the Riad (which consists of 2-3 buildings actually) is very nice: light colours, a hint of shabby chic and some traditional elements. We had a nice room. Not too spacious though - but that is typical for most of the Riads in towns as we heared and new from a stay in Marrakesh before. Our room was the Honeymoon Room with an inroom bathtub/ shower and a toilet (separated by a wall and curtain only) - so you must like intimacy to select that room, of course ;-) The overall atmosphere at the hotel was peaceful and almost like staying with friends. Our hosts Nicole, Claudia and Renate made sure that we were taken care of all the time and had plenty of suggestions for restaurants, excursions, shopping etc for us. We felt a bit like staying with friends.
We can also recommend to join the excursions that the Riad offers: on some days one of the hosts will take guests to a half-day trip outside of Essaouira and that is a welcome opportunity to see other parts of the area.
If you like the feel of staying at a friend's house and love little boutique hotels, you are best placed at Riad Baladin. We certainly wouldn't choose any different should we come to Essaouira again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Claudia and her team did their upmost to look after us and were always helpful and polite. Riad Baladin was ideally situated within Essaouira with all the main sights easily accessible. The Riad was very pleasing to the eye and was a great place to seek sanctuary in, from both the heat and the action of the medina. Breakfast was ample and of a very good quality. If there was a criticism of Riad Baladin then that would only be that it may be a little tired and need sprucing up. BUT that fits in with shabby chic/ hippy eccentric appearance and I fully appreciate that the coastal and desert environment can be harsh on buildings.

The ever helpful and happy Claudia arranged for us to have a camel ride along the beach and then traditional meal with they guys at Equi Evasion . What an amazing experience and "Thank you" Claudia.

I have already recommended a stay at Riad Baladin to a couple of friends and recommend to all passing by Essaouira to stay for at least 1 night and to stay at the Baladin. The town itself is worth a visit and is not as full on as Marrakech!! The medina, harbour and fortifications are all very interesting.

Thank you to Claudia and all the team at Riad Baladin.

Jay, Bronwyn & Portia

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace room (rooftop) as it is furthest from the street (less ambient noise), has easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have spent 5 days at the Baladin, truly beautiful place. Lots so places to relax with the perfect view for sunset. Claudia was in charge and nothing was a problem - she advised us on all the best places to go, she was kind and helpful and made our stay very easy. Breakfast was simple but nice with a choice of cooked fresh eggs, breads, jams , good coffee and a choice of tea - the staff were not intrusive in any way the rooms cleaned daily.
The decor of the Baladin is cool and calming, it is cool in the riad and although we didn't use the hot tub it looked lovely. We will definitely return - perfect base for a beach holiday with the joy and wealth of culture of the Medina.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When planning our family holiday in Morocco, we scatter-gunned a load of Riad's. Nicole the owner of Baladin confirming availability and offering to organise accommodation for a 11 night tour of the country. We stayed in 5 different Riad's across country all of which were booked and confirmed by Nicole and all excellent, Nicole had booked a hire car for us from Essaouira but the vehicle was in a crash being transferred back for our use, it was the end of Ramadan and all hire cars were booked due to public holidays. Claudia (covering for a heavily pregnant Nicole) organised a car and driver, it worked out more expensive but pros outweighed cons, more importantly Baladin helped out in a emergency.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Traveling, arrival and get-set go time:
For those of you traveling with toddlers to Essaouira, Morocco you should consider the Riad Baladin. There are many reviews that detail Riad Baladin's beauty and tranquility, so I will only reconfirm and move onto the other necessities parents look for in a hotel. First, if you have never traveled to Morocco and are concerned with communication--worry no further. It is likely between all the staff members you will find a language you can clearly communicate your needs and desires. As many people have mentioned Nicole is an amazing woman with a vast wealth Essaouira knowledge. However, she is not the only one--I found the entire staff Julie, Hameed, Fatima Zahra and the rest of the breakfast/cleaning staff to be polite, helpful and most importantly tolerant of talkative/touchy toddlers (3 and 4).

We took the Supratours bus route from Marrakech and the staff met us at the bus station. There are people who will transport your luggage from the station to the Riad and if you have little one's without a stroller this is a great start (20 dirhams)--if you are worried about negotiating the staff will assist. When you immediately arrive you will receive a map and helpful information to get you started on your tour of the medina and ease your mind of where to eat. I recommend the restaurant overlooking the Escala and ocean for your afternoon meal and the Johare's Restaurant (incredible Kefta Tagine and many more traditional Moroccan meals.) If you do not remember these suggestions or plan out your trips, do not worry they assist you with food recommendations. I was pleased with all of their suggestions. Another suggestion they may offer is the horse,camel, or ATV ride--really worth the expense of time and money. My girls loved the horses--and all you have to do is ask Nicole she will set it up for you.

Security:
You are in safe hands here. The Riad is not overwhelmingly big and full of many rooms--its comforting to know that the staff knows and is aware of all the guests who stay at the Riad. Additionally, the Riad is located in a very safe area with many friendly neighbors, who will happily point you into the correct direction if lost. Despite being located slightly off the beaten path of the main two walk ways--you will have no trouble finding your way back at night or during the day--there are many landmarks that will serve as an acute reminder.

Parents or heavily packed travelers:
Most of the Riads I have stayed in do not have elevators and have steep stairs without safety hand rail to assist with trips up and down. You are in luck because they have a hand rail (a thick rope tightly latched to the wall).

There are no TVs in the rooms for those who desire quick and easy toddler entertainment and freedom from constant toddler craziness :-) but there is one downstairs with a DVD player. To counter this--I brought a small portable DVD player and head phones, it came in very handy when I just wanted to enjoy the quiet serene atmosphere of the hotel after an entire day and evening of sight seeing, eating and shopping.

Some added cool points:
We slept in the Canelle room with three beds facing inward. I loved this room and the blankets were so comfy and thick enough to leave open your windows on a breezy night. I loved hearing the ocean at night and waking up content.

My friend slept in the solo room adjacent to the Canelle room fantastic room as well. She performed yoga on the roof top terrace overlooking the medina with a slight view of the ocean.
Truly refreshing. Remember to bring a light jacket to enjoy the terrace at night. It is windy every where in Essaouira.

You know a place is truly fantastic, if you are willing to book another trip to Essaouira and stay at the same exact place again--and we will. Enjoy--I hope my evaluation and suggestions work out for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baladin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.