We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baladin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baladin
Save Saved
You added Riad Baladin to your Saves list
Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have spent 5 days at the Baladin, truly beautiful place. Lots so places to relax with the perfect view for sunset. Claudia was in charge and nothing was a problem - she advised us on all the best places to go, she was kind and helpful and made our stay very easy. Breakfast was simple but nice with a choice of cooked fresh eggs, breads, jams , good coffee and a choice of tea - the staff were not intrusive in any way the rooms cleaned daily.
The decor of the Baladin is cool and calming, it is cool in the riad and although we didn't use the hot tub it looked lovely. We will definitely return - perfect base for a beach holiday with the joy and wealth of culture of the Medina.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    153
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
418
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When planning our family holiday in Morocco, we scatter-gunned a load of Riad's. Nicole the owner of Baladin confirming availability and offering to organise accommodation for a 11 night tour of the country. We stayed in 5 different Riad's across country all of which were booked and confirmed by Nicole and all excellent, Nicole had booked a hire car for us from Essaouira but the vehicle was in a crash being transferred back for our use, it was the end of Ramadan and all hire cars were booked due to public holidays. Claudia (covering for a heavily pregnant Nicole) organised a car and driver, it worked out more expensive but pros outweighed cons, more importantly Baladin helped out in a emergency.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Traveling, arrival and get-set go time:
For those of you traveling with toddlers to Essaouira, Morocco you should consider the Riad Baladin. There are many reviews that detail Riad Baladin's beauty and tranquility, so I will only reconfirm and move onto the other necessities parents look for in a hotel. First, if you have never traveled to Morocco and are concerned with communication--worry no further. It is likely between all the staff members you will find a language you can clearly communicate your needs and desires. As many people have mentioned Nicole is an amazing woman with a vast wealth Essaouira knowledge. However, she is not the only one--I found the entire staff Julie, Hameed, Fatima Zahra and the rest of the breakfast/cleaning staff to be polite, helpful and most importantly tolerant of talkative/touchy toddlers (3 and 4).

We took the Supratours bus route from Marrakech and the staff met us at the bus station. There are people who will transport your luggage from the station to the Riad and if you have little one's without a stroller this is a great start (20 dirhams)--if you are worried about negotiating the staff will assist. When you immediately arrive you will receive a map and helpful information to get you started on your tour of the medina and ease your mind of where to eat. I recommend the restaurant overlooking the Escala and ocean for your afternoon meal and the Johare's Restaurant (incredible Kefta Tagine and many more traditional Moroccan meals.) If you do not remember these suggestions or plan out your trips, do not worry they assist you with food recommendations. I was pleased with all of their suggestions. Another suggestion they may offer is the horse,camel, or ATV ride--really worth the expense of time and money. My girls loved the horses--and all you have to do is ask Nicole she will set it up for you.

Security:
You are in safe hands here. The Riad is not overwhelmingly big and full of many rooms--its comforting to know that the staff knows and is aware of all the guests who stay at the Riad. Additionally, the Riad is located in a very safe area with many friendly neighbors, who will happily point you into the correct direction if lost. Despite being located slightly off the beaten path of the main two walk ways--you will have no trouble finding your way back at night or during the day--there are many landmarks that will serve as an acute reminder.

Parents or heavily packed travelers:
Most of the Riads I have stayed in do not have elevators and have steep stairs without safety hand rail to assist with trips up and down. You are in luck because they have a hand rail (a thick rope tightly latched to the wall).

There are no TVs in the rooms for those who desire quick and easy toddler entertainment and freedom from constant toddler craziness :-) but there is one downstairs with a DVD player. To counter this--I brought a small portable DVD player and head phones, it came in very handy when I just wanted to enjoy the quiet serene atmosphere of the hotel after an entire day and evening of sight seeing, eating and shopping.

Some added cool points:
We slept in the Canelle room with three beds facing inward. I loved this room and the blankets were so comfy and thick enough to leave open your windows on a breezy night. I loved hearing the ocean at night and waking up content.

My friend slept in the solo room adjacent to the Canelle room fantastic room as well. She performed yoga on the roof top terrace overlooking the medina with a slight view of the ocean.
Truly refreshing. Remember to bring a light jacket to enjoy the terrace at night. It is windy every where in Essaouira.

You know a place is truly fantastic, if you are willing to book another trip to Essaouira and stay at the same exact place again--and we will. Enjoy--I hope my evaluation and suggestions work out for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first Riad experience and we were not disappointed. The service was friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable. The breakfast on the roof terrace is great. Essaouira is an interesting place.We enjoyed the fact that it was always a challenge to find our way home but it wasn't that hard. Enjoy the charm of this delightful Riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at Riad Baladin during July. Nicole's effervescent welcome and informative talk on the best restaurants, cafes and shopping areas were really appreciated. The beachy, relaxed and tasteful decor immediately evoked a welcome feel. Great roof top terrace where we enjoyed our breakfast. Can highly recommend Riad Baladin for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our taxi driver was waiting for us at Marakesh airport as promised and the riad manager Nicole had come to welcome us at the city gate and walk with us the 5 min walk to the riad buried deeply in the old Medina! Good Start!
The riad was beautiful and stylish, airy and light, each room with it's own character, I'd call it contemporary Moroccan, really lovely.
It felt Very Safe, and there was a nice night porter there every evening, wishing you goodnight while discretely checking you really were a guest and not a stranger.
We stayed for 10 days in Essaouira and really enjoyed ourselves, from simply walking around town though the market [and fish market at the old port] to taking afternoon trips with Nicole. She drove us to a couple of beautiful beaches [one was a windsurfers paradise!] we also had a BBQ lunch at a stunning Hotel where we could make use of the swimming pool[s] and read in the lovely gardens.
The temperature was comfortable every day, quite windy, but never too hot or too cold.

With great advice from Nicole we ate in some lovely local restaurants in the Medina.[Elizir was my favorite!]

Not forgetting the recommended 2hour hamam and massage at Azur .... what a treat!

Despite being handsomely 8 months pregnant nothing was ever too much for Nicole, she had cleverly got an enthusiastic young assistant, Julia, to help her :-)

Many thanks Nicole for a great stay at Baladin! x x x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Riad Baladin was the perfect base to explore the enchanting Essaoira. Tucked away in the winding Medina streets you enter an oasis of Morroccan charm with an elegant Swiss twist. Every detail is carefully thought through, with a palette of textures of white and wood, mixing antique and modern, reflecting Essaouira's brilliant quality of light. An impeccable welcome from Nicole and her multilingual team completed our stay. A place to feed the soul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baladin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.