We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baladin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Baladin
Save Saved
You added Riad Baladin to your Saves list
Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great place to stay. Very friendly owner & personal. Wonderful rooms including bathroom. Whirlpool availlable. In the heart of the Medina. Close to restaurants and shops. Delicious breakfast on the great terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    152
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
96
415
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family & I spent 3 nights here and enjoyed every single minute.Our room was spacious and clean with lots of character.The Riad itself is beautiful with great attention to detail. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We were given lots of great recommendations for restaurants & galleries .The jacuzzi was SO relaxing & breakfast on the roof terrace was a great start to each day.We would definitely go back and recommend it to all out friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If "not too bad" or "alright" is your bench mark for a room, then I urge you to go to the Baladin.

The hostess here is excellent, she has an excellent knowledge of the town and great ideas for excursions. We stayed in the La chambre amoureux which was ok, just.

But with no lock on the door, you can't lift the toilet seat, the taps are loose, the shower poor, the massive luxury bath is great but you can't get enough water to quarter fill it. The room was dirty, tired and un-loved. The bed was ok.

I think most of the reviews on this page are for the very charming owner Nicole, but me I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guests of Riad Baladin
This review is rather disappointing after the experience we had with those guests:
a lovely couple very much in love - so much that they even forgot to close their doors after they had a nice drink up on the terrace and while they also had a great time together back in their room already on their 1st day..:-)
No one was complaining about that and we rather had a good laugh together with the other guests!
They booked a whole week and of course we also suggested excursions outside of Essaouira to a hippy beach etc. which they did enjoy very much.
After a couple of nights they decided to visit a place with swimming-pool which we also suggested them and they spent another night there before going back to Marrakech - so, they left earlier as planned and we did not ask them to pay us all those nights which they booked in advance!
This generosity was probably too much - thanks to that we do have now all those critics for a loose door lock and a tap which we all fixed immediately. Sad that they did not tell us anything about all that - me as the manager I prefer direct reactions so I can act also on time!
Have a look just at the review before that one - it's amazing how different the opinion about our "inn" can be...
Last but not least:
it's alright to leave the doors and windows open at our hotel (also to air a bit during the day) - it's an absolute safe place and guests are here in good hands (myself I'm married to the police inspector of the town:-).
Anyway, we're happy to hear from every guest what they think and thanks also for all the compliments - I feel very flattered this time at least about their last sentence: "very charming owner Nicole" it really makes me blush! (by the way: I'm just the creator and manager of that hotel and sadly not the owner...).
Nicole Pavlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very clean. Lots of character. Beautiful rooms. Fully functioning lovely bathroom. Great roof terrace. Excellent location. All this is true, but this is only where it begins for this riad. All staff were excellent, willing to do anything for you. The owner, Nicole, is a wonderful hostess and really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. She is a feast of local knowledge and will spend as much time with you to make sure you have your bearings and get what you want to get done. While at the riad my father left all his electronics chargers in the room after we had left. Nicole called me immediately to inform of this, unfortunately we had already left for Marrakesh. The next day Nicole was coming to Marrakesh anyway and arranged to meet us at the Marrakesh bus station to return the chargers. she couldn't have been more helpful.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

my wife and I spent only a day in essaouira and the night at riad baladin. It was quite and comfortable. if I ever go back to essaouira I will definitely consider riad baladin again. If you are looking for a nice and romantic place where to spend time with your partner this is the one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We did really enjoy our stay in riad baladin. We were really lucky with the weather and the sun beds on the terrace were great to relax when the weather was hot! Our room was quite small and a little bit tired with the tap and plug sockets a bit loose. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the mattress wasn't even! The breakfast was very nice and was good to get a wider selection than you get in riads in Marrakech. A lot of the reviews mention the great service and it was useful to get recommendations but we did find it a bit full on and quite like being left to our own devices on holiday. We were also asked to put a review onto trip advisor which I don't agree you should ask people to do. Overall this riad is in a great location and is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guests of Riad Baladin
Just a quick reaction to that review:
We've been very surprised to read for ones that we give too many recommendations...
It's meant like a little help from a friend who gives you maybe more interesting links for things to do and see in Essaouira including some very good Restaurants, Cooking course, Spa visit or Excursions to "secret"/hidden places outside of the town not mentioned in any guidebook - it's to take or to leave this is certainly your own decision! Usually our guests are quite happy about our suggestions:-)
And today it's absolutely also common to ask clients to write their opinion on Tripadvisor - first of all we do not have a guestbook at the hotel or on our website therefore we're more than happy to know what our guests really do think about their stay at the Riad Baladin! Also that is to take or to leave of course - it's not a must for anybody...
Finally, if the comments are rather positive then it's a big pleasure for us, too - after having more than 500 "Excellent" & "Very good" reviews we do certainly know that we're on the right path with our service for a lot of people!
Anyway, everybody is welcome at the Riad Baladin - see you hopefully very soon!...:-)
Nicole Pavlin (Manager Riad & Restaurant Baladin)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a wonderful 1 week stay in Chambre Grise. The room was fantastic and we took a peek at many of the other rooms which were also great. Service from everybody was superb including breakfast and from the night staff (lighting the fire, preparing the jacuzzi etc). Nicole went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed our stay including organising our airport transport, arranging activities, etc and her recommendations for restuarants, activities etc were always spot on. Thankyou so much to everyone, and loved the puppy dog.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baladin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.