We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty in Simplicity, Friendliness and Warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Baladin to your Saves list
Riad Baladin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beauty in Simplicity, Friendliness and Warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Riad Baladin was a wonderful stop during our recent trip to Morocco. The hotel is clean, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be heading back there on our next trip. Claudia and all the staff were especially helpful in directing us around the town. The internal architecture and room layout is wonderfully simple and very soothing. The Riad Baladin is a wonderful base from which to explore the ancient city of Essaouira.

And when there make sure to go horseback riding on the beach! Claudia arranged for us to get horses at Equi Evasion, just outside of town. Excellent guides, well trained horses and fantastic beach. You can Canter (or gallop if experienced) for kilometers on end. This was the high point of our Moroccan trip. Thank you Claudia!!

Room Tip: the 'honeymoon suite' has a fireplace and a bathtub.. the ocean put you to sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My brother and I stayed for 2 nights in March. The Riad is gorgeous, clean, relaxing and really special. We would have liked to stay longer. The rooms were relaxing and breakfast on the roof terrace was wonderful - the service was friendly and smiley, the breakfast tasty, and the view of the whitewashed surroundings and seagulls perfect. The riad was also in a great location. Claudia was amazing and told us really excellent places to go - we followed her advice and had a great time. Would recommend definitely and would definitely go back. xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose Riad Baladin having read the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to miss Nicole but were warmly welcomed and helped by Claudia who was managing the Riad whilst Nicole was away. I am not sure whether I would call the Riad 'luxurious' but it is charmingly decorated, in light airy colours with lots of traditonal fixtures and fittings and a relaxed vibe. It is clean (a bit sandy sometimes because of the wind) and the staff are warm and incredibly helpful. The beds are locally made (I slept very well), some of the towels were a little frayed, soap was provided but no shower gel, shampoos etc. Our room was on the first floor looking into the courtyard - it was very pretty but short of natural light. We completely failed to work out how the door locked - but since they like to leave our room open to air during the day as the sea air is quite damp, you have to not worry too much about security! Our teenagers had rooms with single beds in a different part of the riad and they were much lighter and you could lock the doors. A good breakfast was served on the roof terrace - bread, croissants, yogurt, fruit salad and eggs if you'd like them. There were no other drinks or snacks served in the Riad - so more like a b&b really. They seemed happy for us to bring in our own beer and wine though and provided glasses and a corkscrew. All the restaurant recommendations were great - and we ate wonderfully well every evening. Both our lunch spots - the fish market and the gipsy cafe at Sidi Kaouk were truly memorable! It is very well situated in the medina and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great stay in this well run and friendly property. Nicole was a super host full of great recommendations. Our dinner in caravan club proving to be one of the highlights of our week long holiday. If you're after a clean, well located riad with delightful staff then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrikin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautiful riad run by the charming Nicole Pavlin. It is beautifully appointed, is luxurious, well run and efficient. A delicious breakfast with local foods is served each morning on the roof terrace. It is well located in that it is easy to access all of Essouira on foot. You do need a guide initially to get you there once inside the walled town, but Nicole takes care of that. She also provides excellent directions if you are driving; impeccable recommendations for restaurants, which we followed and had extraordinary dining experiences; and if you are lucky she will take you to a local restaurant on the beach for amazing fresh seafood. Her dog Carlito is always by her side and an amiable companion to guests at the riad. Do not miss the opportunity to stay here. The staff is also very helpful and will take your luggage up and
down the stairs for you. You will want to ask Nicole to recommend the best hamman in town for a wonderfully relaxing and pampering experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nicole is an amazing hostess!

I would perhaps mark down the stay by a point because my initial perception of our roof-level room was that is was a tiny bit 'dusty'.... But then I quickly realized that its simply impossible to avoid some accumulation of dust such a dry, windy environment.

The location was perfect, in the center of the old town. The breakfast was generous and of good quality. The decor and atmosphere was very relaxing. It really felt like a home away from home.

Its not the most luxurious Riad, slightly shappy chic. But for the price, its great. Its quirky, warm and welcoming and I would most certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dermot59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were very lucky to walk into this riad and get the last available room for that night - in my opinion perhaps the best room of the whole riad, which is on the rooftop terrasse and therefore more secluded from the rest of the rooms. The place is owned and managed by a Swiss lady (Nicoe) who is quite known on national television and who fulfills her childhood dream with this sanctuary. For this reason perhaps most of the other guests were German speaking. Aside from the beautiful character of the riad, we found Nicole to be the most competent travel advisor for local activities and restaurants. In fact, even though we had previously arranged for a Hammam, quad biking and restaurant, we ended up cancelling and rebooking according to her suggestions - which did not betray us! This riad for sure deserves the highest rating.

Room Tip: The room on the rooftop is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuOnKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Baladin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing