We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Baladin to your Saves list
Riad Baladin
Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Baladin for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year as part of a family trip to Morocco. We originally booked Chambre Terrasse but Nicole the manageress very kindly upgraded us to Chambre Rose after our first night. We were 2 adults with a 6 year old and she felt Chambre Rose would suit us better. On arrival Nicole was there to welcome us and immediately sat us down and pointed out all the things to see and recommended places to eat. Breakfast was great and served on the terrace and rooms very comfortable. The Riad is very well positioned and a short walk to almost all the places you would want to go to. Pasta Baladin around the corner is also great for a great pasta and they even delivered to the Riad one evening when they could not accommodate our party of 6 in the restaurant. All in all very friendly staff, clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Baladin.

Room Tip: Chambre Gris and Rose have fireplaces for slightly cooler winter months. Chambre Terrasse has loads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    154
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
431
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Riad Baladin is a beautiful place to stay in Essaouira, and the nicest place we stayed during our time in Morocco. Unlike more traditional riads, the place is full of light and sunshine. The rooms are decorated in white, light wood, and with Moroccan lamps and textiles. We stayed in the family room which was completed in September 2012. The bed was a four-poster and a wooden ladder led up to a mezzanine level where there were two further beds. The bathroom was spacious and painted in Mediterranean blue. There were bathrobes and slippers, and even a hair-dryer, which was a bonus.

Baladin is run by Nicole who is Swiss and speaks English, French and German. She sat down with us on arrival and marked a map with all the best places to eat and drink, the spots with the most beautiful views, and an awesome vegetarian cafe with retro furnishings. Nicole has been in Essaouira for several years and is married to a local so has great advice on both things to see and do locally as well as the best places to go in Morocco.

Breakfast was brilliant - the best and biggest breakfast we had in Morocco. There was fresh bread and several kinds of jam, teas, fresh coffee, freshly-squeezed orange juice, Swiss muesli and fruit salad, yoghurt, and eggs cooked in the style of our choosing. Baladin has a fantastic multi-level terrace with sun loungers and shaded sitting alcoves.

My partner and I also tried out the spa/jacuzzi which had lit candles and was relaxing enough to almost fall asleep in.

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Riad Baladin is exquisitely decorated, very stylish, comfortable, and so welcoming! Nicole is wonderful and her colleagues are kind and helpful. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Make time for the hot tub. Lovely stay -- wish it could have been longer!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a lovely time staying at Riad Baladin over the New Year period. Nicole, the owner, was very welcoming and gave us lots of great advice on places to eat and drink in Essaouira. We stayed in the 'chambre terrasse' -it had a lovely beachy feel. Although breakfast is served on the terrace just outside the room, we never felt overlooked. It was a lovely, peaceful and homely place to stay. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast served each morning by the very friendly staff and we would definitely recommend Riad Baladin to anyone visiting Essaouira.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Riad Baladin for 5 nights during a 2 week family tour of Morocco which had been organised by Nicole the manager at Baladin. ( We did a version of Baladin's tour c which was a truly amazing and unforgettable experience and gave us all a real insight into what Morocco has to offer!)
Our party consisted of 2 adults and our three children aged 19,18 and 12.
Our bedrooms (Grise and Rose)were incredibly comfortable and peaceful and we all slept wonderfully well. Breakfasts were served on the roof terrace and were the best we experienced during our whole time in Morocco! Plenty of different breads and even pancakes, fresh fruit salad, cooked eggs, local jams and lovely fresh coffee
The atmosphere is very relaxed and homely and there is enough living spaces to either mix with other guests or find your own space and explore the charming rooms, and magical nooks and corners which are thoughtfully furnished.
Nicole is a legend! She was on hand if we needed any advise and provided us with maps and local information sending us to never to be forgotten places we may not have found.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Riad Baladin for 4 nights. We were met at the Supratours bus stop and taken to the Riad. We paid 30 Dh for this service.

Nicole was at the Riad to welcome us. She gave us a map of Essaouira and highlighted places of interest to see and eat. She then gave us a tour of the Riad. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The doors to the rooms are left open during the day so they can get aired out. There is no safe in the room but Nicole assured us that our belongings would be safe.

The breakfasts were great. We had plenty of muesli, fruit salad, bread, chocolate croissants, eggs, cheese, jams, yogurt, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. A good start to the day!

We also made use of the wonderful jacuzzi - a must as it is so relaxing.

Our son fell in love with Nicole's dog, Carlito, and was very sad to leave him!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This spot is in the old city and is really beautiful. It's not very big, but all of the rooms have a nice boutique feel and everything is pretty new. The best part is the complementary breakfast that was served on the rooftop terrace - delicious and stunning views. Also, Nicole, the owner spent a lot of time with us making sure we knew how to get around and giving us recommendations on restaurants and activities. I was there with friends, but I could see this being a really romantic spot if you got one of the couple's rooms and used the hot tub in the central courtyard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: Rue Sidi Magdoul 9, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baladin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.