We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people. Great atmosphere.”
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

18 Rue Iben Roched, Essaouira, Morocco
05 24 47 21 39
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 175 restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
22 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    132
    52
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice people. Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I visited Restaurant Ramsess because from the outside it looks interesting. It is tucked into a busy market street and had a "bodega" feel. Just like the decor, the people are warm and friendly. Also,if you're looking for wine with the meal---not easy in Essaouira---here's your spot !

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guern, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This restaurant made our day in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

On a day trip to Essaaouira we had previously made a choice of restaurant using trip advisor.

Ramsess is not impressive from the exterior - don't be put off. Inside is charming, authentic and cosy.

The restaurant is family run and staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were particularly impressed by Zineb and left with an impression of having being invited to dine with the family.

The meal itself was delicious and freshly cooked to our order.

In short - an absolute delight which made our day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go and enjoy their food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent meal here on our first night in Essaouira, the place has a very relaxed atmosphere but they are passionate about their food. We probably went a bit over board in what we ordered but you would be able to have an excellent meal for about 120dh each. Definitely recommend

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After a nearby restaurant search on t/a this came up with a decent ranking so we decided to try it.
Despite the signage saying there was live music, we were sadly disappointed when none eventuated throughout the course of our meal.
The service was very slow
We were placed in the view of the entrance, I'd imagine it was to attract other diners (which it succeeded in doing), perhaps why it took so long for them to find change for us.
We both had Chicken and almond Pastillas (80dh ea) which were not as moist as we'd had elsewhere, I think the salad provided was to migitage this.
All in all, not terrible food but not somewhere I would rush back to with the other restaurants on offer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with womans touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is one of those places you feel welcome and not only for your money. The women of this restaurant try to make you at home. With al the love and care they can offer. They don' t want tips only a good review on tripadvisor. And then only when you mean it.
Well I really mean it when I say that the food is good. Terrific sole and nice maroccan salads. The maroccan wine is good and the desert, cheesecake is delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Ramsess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.