We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we've had in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

Restaurant Ramsess
18 Rue Iben Roched, Essaouira, Morocco
05 24 47 21 39
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 192 restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I are foodies and we were really looking forward to Morocco. To be honest, we've been generally disappointed and have found a lot of the food to be a bit on the bland/boring side.

This place was outstanding-- best meal/dining experience we've had in Morocco (we've been to Fez, Tinghir, Merzouga, Marrakech, and Essaouira). The hostess (rare to see a women working the front of the restaurant in Morocco) was charming and spoke good english. It was clear that the food was something they took pride in. The assorted moroccan salads were fabulous and the tagines were way above par for the country (we had meatball/egg and fish tagines).

The live music was also really fun (Moroccan, french, etc)-- the musicians were clearly having fun and engaging with the folks around the restaurant.

All in, food was 280 Dirham (two 3-course package meals) and wine was 150.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    137
    53
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great music, REAL PEOPLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

When I visited, the Berber band playing - 3 young guys with HUGE talent - were so good that I just kept on going back night after night. And I wasn't alone, so did many others until we all got to know one another - and the band. Set in 3 small caverns, the extraordinary music, the food, the wine, the shisha, the lovely staff and the VERY REAL soulful atmosphere all amounted to nights out I will never forget. If you can avoid joining in the clapping, the laughter and the dancing, well, you must be dead! Fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great music, overpriced, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We found the food here average and overpriced compared to some of the other places we ate in Essaouira. The restaurant is cosy and attractive and the Gnaoua music excellent, but the food was average at best. The Moroccan salad to start was good, but the couscous main course lacked flavour and was no better than I could have made at home. The toilets were blocked while we were there, and there was no soap to wash your hands, which really made me question the hygiene standards here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Myself and my wife have vsited Essaouira several times but this was the first time we tried this place. Although there weren't many people when we arrived, the welcome was warm, the ambience was laid back and the food was just outstanding, excellent, incredible ... take your pick of superlatives. The aubergine caviar starter was the best I've ever had anywhere and the chicken tagine was cooked to perfection - also the quantities were spot on just enough without leaving 2 kilos of rice on your plates like in other restaurants. Also given how good the food was it was incredibly good value.

The musicians who played were good fun and really added to the experience. There is nothing bad I can say about this place. In my opinion it should be rated no 1 in Essaouira but I think that's only a matter of time once word really spreads just how good this place is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went in for lunch, was welcomed by staff who didnt speak much english - but made us feel welcome anyway ! We soon had the english speaking owner (?), who recommended a chicken tagine and couscous - melt in the mouth , lovely food. recommended !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Ramsess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.