We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

Restaurant Ramsess
18 Rue Iben Roched, Essaouira, Morocco
05 24 47 21 39
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 212 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went in for lunch, was welcomed by staff who didnt speak much english - but made us feel welcome anyway ! We soon had the english speaking owner (?), who recommended a chicken tagine and couscous - melt in the mouth , lovely food. recommended !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    60
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go to Ramsess for home cooking and great local music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all you'll meet the lovely Zineb, who will greet you and tell you about her mother's home cooking. The meals were homemade and excellent, and very reasonably priced. They have delicious Moroccan wine by the bottle or glass. Daily fish specials and everything we tried was superb.

What really makes it a special place is the live music -- Rachid, Youssef and Yassine are a very talented trio that sing and play percussion/guitars and local instruments. Their music is mesmerizing and the beats have remained in my head now a week after leaving lovely Essaouira.

I really recommend that you check out Ramsess and experience the magic happening there! Really nice people, brought us back time and time again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food , wonderful hospitality, Fabulous Live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I dined here twice on our recent trip to Essaouira. We had a recommendation from the Riad where we were staying.
The welcome was warm and friendly in a relaxed informal Moroccan setting. The food was local Moroccan dishes freshly repaired and delicious. Good value for money.
We were greatly entertained by a local traditional Gnawa band who played live on both evenings . You have got to see these three young guys in action they had the house rocking.
We will be back !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great music !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had the best meal of our stay in Morocco here. Though we arrived late in the evening, Zineb was very welcoming and we had a superb time. The live band of Dieez Mogador playing great Gnawa music, was really enjoyable - they even sang Happy Birthday for my husband! Wonderful experience with some very warm, friendly and hospitable people !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food - easily the best we had eaten during a week in Morocco. Friendly service, and they serve wine. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Ramsess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.