We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Ramsess for home cooking and great local music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Ramsess

Restaurant Ramsess
18 Rue Iben Roched, Essaouira, Morocco
05 24 47 21 39
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 192 restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go to Ramsess for home cooking and great local music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all you'll meet the lovely Zineb, who will greet you and tell you about her mother's home cooking. The meals were homemade and excellent, and very reasonably priced. They have delicious Moroccan wine by the bottle or glass. Daily fish specials and everything we tried was superb.

What really makes it a special place is the live music -- Rachid, Youssef and Yassine are a very talented trio that sing and play percussion/guitars and local instruments. Their music is mesmerizing and the beats have remained in my head now a week after leaving lovely Essaouira.

I really recommend that you check out Ramsess and experience the magic happening there! Really nice people, brought us back time and time again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    137
    53
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food , wonderful hospitality, Fabulous Live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I dined here twice on our recent trip to Essaouira. We had a recommendation from the Riad where we were staying.
The welcome was warm and friendly in a relaxed informal Moroccan setting. The food was local Moroccan dishes freshly repaired and delicious. Good value for money.
We were greatly entertained by a local traditional Gnawa band who played live on both evenings . You have got to see these three young guys in action they had the house rocking.
We will be back !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food, great music !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had the best meal of our stay in Morocco here. Though we arrived late in the evening, Zineb was very welcoming and we had a superb time. The live band of Dieez Mogador playing great Gnawa music, was really enjoyable - they even sang Happy Birthday for my husband! Wonderful experience with some very warm, friendly and hospitable people !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food - easily the best we had eaten during a week in Morocco. Friendly service, and they serve wine. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in Essaouira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice restaurant, comfortable and friendly, Zenib (front of house) made us welcome and the food was great. We went twice in 1 week and the music on the 2nd visit was very enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ramsess also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Restaurant Ramsess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Ramsess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;