We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Gallops along the Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zouina Cheval

Zouina Cheval
Village de Diabat | Situe a 3 km de la medina, Essaouira 44 000, Morocco
+212 669-807101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 activities in Essaouira
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Zouina Cheval is a professional stable organizing authentic horse treks with nights in camp as well as horse and camel riding on the beach. Our trips allow participants to gain insight into the Moroccan way of life through contact with Moroccans and experience the unspoilt beauty and nature of the country. Rides from 1h to all day long on the beach. Treks from 2 to 6 days on demand. We will pick you up at your hotel and drive you to the stables.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Gallops along the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time during a two hour ride with Zouina Cheval. The horses - berber arab stallions - were well trained and very well behaved. I was riding Espoir which was described to me as the horse version of a Ferrari. The moment we started galloping along the beach the comparison with a Ferrari became quite obvious - I have never been so fast on horse before! It was great fun and Espoir was very well behaved, easy to handle and responding immediately as I was asking to go back to canter or trot. For horse lovers this is an experience not to be missed!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    15
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a fabulous time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I booked a two hour camel ride for my teenage daughter, my 72 year old mother and myself (39 years old). We had the time of our lives! I believe our guide's name was Abdul. He could not have been more kind and patient and caring, both to us and the camels. We could clearly feel that he cared for the animals a great deal, and he wanted us to have a fabulous time. We rode through the forest brush from Diabat unto the beach just south of Essaouira. Abdul stopped a few times to take pictures of us on the camels at noteworthy spots (ruins of an old house on land, and ruins of an old Portuguese castle on the beach.) These are some of our favorite photos from our entire vacation in Morocco. As he lead, Abdul looked back frequently to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We had arranged with Sophie via e-mail to meet at 2:00 at the Cafe Henrdrix in Diabat. The taxi ride from Essaouira took just minutes, and Abdul was there with the camels to meet us 10 minutes early. Everything about the excursion was professional and delightful. I highly recommend Zouina Cheval.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Amazing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Mostly, you should know that Najib, your guide, is absolutely a PRO and so trustworthy and competent. Not only that, but he took absolutely phenomenal pictures for us of us galloping along the beach in the sunset. We had a really fantastic, memorable time on our 2-day 1-night trek. Everything was run so well, and communication was excellent. You should book a trek!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, exhilarating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our trip was organised with very short notice but this was not a problem.

The stables are modern, clean and more importantly the horses are kept in excellent condition. Well groomed, tack clean and helmets (brand new) were provided without being asked for.

The team were very helpful and provided an excellent experience to all, including a complete beginner to horse riding.

Definitely recommended and will return to Najib's stables at the very earliest possible opportunity

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Galloping over the beach on vibrant well-taken care of stallions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Sophie takes great care of her horses and takes you to the beautiful beach and forest. She has many interesting stories about Morocco when you're not galloping away. Next time I'll definitely do a longer trip!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zouina Cheval also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Zouina Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zouina Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zouina Cheval to your Saves list