We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goog service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Atlas Essaouira & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
La Fleche, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Goog service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Atlas.My wife and I were well impressed with the Hotel, bags of space and very well presented, justifying it's 5 star rating. A short run to the Medina is a real treat without the normal souk pestering. The wind is a constant feature here but that aside, the pool never gets crowded and there is a private beach with a restaurant where you can enjoy fresh fish dishes (the fishing harbour adjoins the medina) and watch the multitude of kites being flown on the beach. There are two restaurants in the hotel, we only tried the buffet and not the Moroccan. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. Breakfast was good although it lacked the option of omlettes etc, cooked to order. The staff in general were very friendly and helpful especially the reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    184
    76
    43
    28
See reviews for
100
276
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed at the hotel one night on a recent trip to Essouaria but it was just what I wanted. Having come from a Riad I wanted something modern and convenient with all the amenities; this was just that. It is on the oceanfront a short walk from the medina. The seven restaurant was amazing food and is located right on the beach. The local Moroccan wine they had was great. I usually don't frequent hotel restaurants but this obviously attracted locals and people staying at other hotels, how convenient. I had to leave on a 6 am bus and the staff helped me get a taxi to the station, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in Essaouira for 7 nights.The weather was warm, but extremely windy (great for surfing, windsurfing and kite surfers) The hotel was a short stroll into the local fishing port/town, where there is an abundance of shops and cafes/restaurants. Our hotel room was clean and spacious with a lovely ocean view. The only negative aspect was that there was no balcony.
My daughter and I managed to brave the swimming pool most days (freezing cold) and then had a relaxing spa bath. (If you stay for a minimum of 3 nights, you get an hour in the Spa area for free every day) The breakfast buffet was adequate with plenty of choice, although the service could sometimes be slow. They are still reconstructing the promenade in front of the hotel, but this wasn't too noisy. Overall, our stay here was an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: I'd recommend paying the extra for an ocean view, as there are lovely sunsets to be enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

April 2013 We stayed at Atlas for one evening. We picked it because it looked so luxurious from the outside and I wanted a clean and fresh room for a good nights sleep. We paid over $125. They were to give us a wakeup call to make it to the included breakfast and failed to do so. Also, a man working for the hotel walked right into our room to find me standing there undressed!

I can forgive those two mess-ups but it felt like they were trying to be a 5 star hotel but just looked like a 5 star hotel. The next night we stayed in Essaouira at another hotel for $65 and it was much better and closer to the medina and ocean. We were very disappointed we didn't stay there both nights. The hotel was called Iles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with 2 families for 1 night. Essaouira is a fantastic place to visit. The hotel is well located but a bit far from town to walk - 2 minutes by car. Our premium rooms were quite large with a good bathroom and all amenities. We didn't use the pool (to cold) and the Hammam was fully booked. breakfast was excellent with a range of very good options. They are reconstructing the promenade in front of the hotel so be aware of that. Service was good and friendly and the rate reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel may well have its best days behind it. The building and interior are attractive, but the rooms are a bit dated.

The first night we arrived we called the front desk to make a reservation for dinner. The woman who answered suggested that we make it ourselves. The room receives no electricity without a room key. We put the second room key in in the electricity slot to charge our phones while we were out. When we returned the key had been removed and had disappeared.

The pool area is nice, if you can handle the wind, but the servers by the bar are no where to be found.

The lunch food was average, the breakfast was atrocious. Cuba bad, perhaps worse.

However, you can't argue with the price. For a nice, clean stay in a hotel this place is just fine, but certainly not five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed three nights and had a good time. However it is very expensive and doesn't have that special something to make it worth the extra money. Liked Essaouira but will find somewhere else to stay if we go back. Good wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#31 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Essaouira & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.