We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Save Saved
You added Atlas Essaouira & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Windy City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in Essaouira for 7 nights.The weather was warm, but extremely windy (great for surfing, windsurfing and kite surfers) The hotel was a short stroll into the local fishing port/town, where there is an abundance of shops and cafes/restaurants. Our hotel room was clean and spacious with a lovely ocean view. The only negative aspect was that there was no balcony.
My daughter and I managed to brave the swimming pool most days (freezing cold) and then had a relaxing spa bath. (If you stay for a minimum of 3 nights, you get an hour in the Spa area for free every day) The breakfast buffet was adequate with plenty of choice, although the service could sometimes be slow. They are still reconstructing the promenade in front of the hotel, but this wasn't too noisy. Overall, our stay here was an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: I'd recommend paying the extra for an ocean view, as there are lovely sunsets to be enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    178
    70
    38
    22
See reviews for
86
258
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

April 2013 We stayed at Atlas for one evening. We picked it because it looked so luxurious from the outside and I wanted a clean and fresh room for a good nights sleep. We paid over $125. They were to give us a wakeup call to make it to the included breakfast and failed to do so. Also, a man working for the hotel walked right into our room to find me standing there undressed!

I can forgive those two mess-ups but it felt like they were trying to be a 5 star hotel but just looked like a 5 star hotel. The next night we stayed in Essaouira at another hotel for $65 and it was much better and closer to the medina and ocean. We were very disappointed we didn't stay there both nights. The hotel was called Iles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with 2 families for 1 night. Essaouira is a fantastic place to visit. The hotel is well located but a bit far from town to walk - 2 minutes by car. Our premium rooms were quite large with a good bathroom and all amenities. We didn't use the pool (to cold) and the Hammam was fully booked. breakfast was excellent with a range of very good options. They are reconstructing the promenade in front of the hotel so be aware of that. Service was good and friendly and the rate reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel may well have its best days behind it. The building and interior are attractive, but the rooms are a bit dated.

The first night we arrived we called the front desk to make a reservation for dinner. The woman who answered suggested that we make it ourselves. The room receives no electricity without a room key. We put the second room key in in the electricity slot to charge our phones while we were out. When we returned the key had been removed and had disappeared.

The pool area is nice, if you can handle the wind, but the servers by the bar are no where to be found.

The lunch food was average, the breakfast was atrocious. Cuba bad, perhaps worse.

However, you can't argue with the price. For a nice, clean stay in a hotel this place is just fine, but certainly not five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed three nights and had a good time. However it is very expensive and doesn't have that special something to make it worth the extra money. Liked Essaouira but will find somewhere else to stay if we go back. Good wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I wasnt quite sure what to expect when we had booked this place as we had seen some really mixed reviews on trip advisor. We were pleasantly surprised though as on arrival we were given a better and larger sea room view when I had booked the cheaper garden room through easytobook.com for only £43 per night (no breakfast inc). The room was large, with a tv, living/seating area, a big bed, ensuite and generally very clean and modern. True, it isnt as quaint as some of the Riads but it had a big pool (too cold to swim in comfortably in march though!), a nice deck and sun bathing area and an ok hotel bar. Contratory to sme reviews, we found service to be good, our air con was a bit warm and the shower head wasnt working the first day and both things got fixed immediately with efficentcy and a smile. We were about a 15 min walk to the edge of the medina (or 1 euro in a taxi) and if you go left out of the hotel there is a few nice beachy modern bars where the kite surfers hang out and that was a great place to hang out with a bottle of wine and watch the sun go down. I wouldnt rate this place 5 star as it was a bit 'cold' feeling in parts, the reception area is a bit empty feeling as someone else has mentioned, and the grouting in the bathroom wasnt 5 star at all, if you were a tiler you would be depressed at the sight of it. However, for the price, very pleased. Not so sure if it were £80 per night or more at this time of year that I wouldnt say try elsewhere though. For £43 or not far off that you cant beat it though!

Room Tip: try and get a room on 1st floor or higher as the ground floor rooms look dark, especially once the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 5 days in Essaouira and the hotel was ideally located to get to the Medina (approx 15 min walk)
The beach was literally across the street. We were there while they were constructing a beach promenade which didn't detract from the experience, just meant a bit of caution.
Many previous reviewers have tried to comment on the 5 star rating. It is quite clearly NOT a 5 star hotel. I would say it has the infrastructure (almost) to be so, but just not quite! The room was large, clean and comfortable. There were numerous restaurants and bars, a SPA which my wife and daughter used. They weren't very complimentary of the experience as the staff spent most of the time focusing on themselves and their mobile phones! Overall the staff were very attentive and any small requests we had were quickly dealt with. The breakfast buffet was really good with plenty to chose from even mid morning. The waiting staff were always on hand to clear away empty dishes!

If I were to visit the area again, I'd certainly book the same hotel again

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#31 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Essaouira & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.