We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...with beach at door step” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Save Saved
You added Atlas Essaouira & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice...with beach at door step”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Atlas Essaouira three nights with my husband - apparently, it was low season in January, the hotel seemed vast and quiet. Nevertheless, it's still very nice - spacious room, nice decor, all in-room facilities are in good condition.

Also, wi-fi is steadily available. There are also plenty of lovely lobby space that we could stay and chill. They also serve complimentary mint tea and pastry at the main entrance every morning.

The minor negative feedback are front desk staff hadn't explained clearly that most of the restaurants are closed for lunch/dinner - only the restaurant on the beach was open, so we'd been unnecessarily waiting for hour. Also, I was a bit surprised that the waiter at the beach restaurant can't speak much English and we need to 'google translate' the menu by ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    178
    70
    38
    22
See reviews for
86
258
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm going to keep this simple, forget the bad reviews, trust me this hotel was value and above all a lovely 5 star, with stunning rooms. Staff were polite, we saw no reason to think this hotel is unsafe. Go and treat yourself to a 5 star facility at a low cost.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked at the very last minute and had a really enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Atlas Essaouira & Spa - would recommend it for a very relaxing holiday (if you haven't visited Essaouira, it's one of Morocco's seaside gems and well worth the 2.5 hr drive from Marrakech).

The Atlas is just opposite the beach (so you get a different sun set every evening), and the main plus points here for us were the attentive staff, immaculately clean rooms, comfortable bed, and a big buffet breakfast with delicious croissants, deli-style bread rolls, and eggs, sausages, fruit, etc - as well as traditional Moroccan crepes and mint tea. Chic and very relaxed, we would highly recommend it. There is a huge pool, good spa, jazz bar, restaurants and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We would pop across the road in the evenings for a drink to watch the sunset at "Seven" bar, which is part of the hotel, and a very romantic place for dinner at night as it's right on the sand.

We thought the Atlas was surprisingly affordable, too, for a 5-star Hotel & Spa especially with its prime location a few steps from Essaouira's gorgeous beach.

A lot of the staff spoke good English and the rooms have international channels (mainly French and Moroccan but some in English) and plasma screen TVs. Ours was well furnished and felt very new, there were no signs of wear and tear.

All in all, we would come back in a heartbeat and are very glad we chose this - at random - when we made the booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent a very pleasant 5 nights at the Atlas in Essaouira -- three nights in a riad room before getting upgraded to a seafront view. Both rooms were spacious, with comfortable beds and large, well stocked bathrooms. Outstanding housekeeping (rooms were always cleaned by the time I would return from lunch), great beachfront location (only a 15 or 20 minute walk along the beach to the medina), good free wifi and flat screen t.v.'s, and very friendly and accommodating front desk staff. They offered me the upgrade without my asking, arranged transportation to Rabat when I left, and providing immediate laundry service and a technician to fix the wifi the one time it froze.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just spent a girls week end and stayed at the ATLAS ESSAOUIRA & SPA
We have stayed there my mother and i twice, abd there was a reason for coming back
although we were 12, our check in was flawless. the service was impeccable from each staff member we entourred. we enjoyed being in the best and the more authentic city in Morocco. Our favorite amenty of this fine hotel has to be the FULL breakfast each morning.
The staff was wonderful, everyone was helpful making it a wonderful week end with friends, we definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks whilst working in Essaouira a few months back. Initially I quite liked the hotel and it did the job as far as a place to stay on a business trip is concerned. I prefer to stay in places with more character and charm if I'm on holiday myself. The place itself is soulless.

Little did I know when complaining to my colleagues about not getting extra hangers after asking about ten times for them what was to happen...

On one of the nights my room was broken into and I was sexually assaulted while I lay in bed asleep and unaware until I woke and the person in question ran out of my room.
We later discovered this to be a member of staff and it also happened to another colleague simultaneously.
The hotel manager was in total denial that something like this would happen and was very reluctant to do anything about it. Only when the heads of our company got involved and subsequently the police that actions were taken although I believe that nothing much was actually done and when we left Essaouira I suspect the member of staff in question probably returned to work, seems unbelievable but the hotel couldn't have treated the matter with less seriousness and concern so it leaves me with little else to believe!

To be honest I'd rather sleep on the beach than stay here again! The doors dont even lock properly and can always be accessed from the outside even when you think its locked its not! Trust me we checked!
Women especially please do not stay here, there are plenty more places to stay in Essaouira!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Whilst staying at the Atlas Essaouira & Spa Hotel two young women had their rooms broken into by male hotel staff.The men cut their own key cards and gained access to the womens' rooms then sexually abused them while they were sleeping! The hotel initially tried to dodge responsibility but through persistant pressure by senior members of our work team, the police were finally involved (not that any serious charges were brought against these men). The rooms at this hotel do not have a safety locks and I spent the rest of my time there blocking the door with furniture as I did not feel safe!

NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#31 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Essaouira & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.