We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Save Saved
You added Atlas Essaouira & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Coventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

If you go to Morocco and are staying in Essaouira this is definitely the place to stay.

Perfect location 10-15 minute walk from main town and on the sea front.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of variety.

The pool is nice between 12-3pm gets a little too much wind earlier and later.

The one complaint I have about the hotel is the transfer that was arranged. We had asked the hotel to organise a taxi to pick us up from the airport which we subsequently cancelled via email as we had found a local taxi firm who were willing to do it at a fraction of the price. After receiving an email from the hotel confirming the cancellation we thought that was that. Upon arrival at the airport we was surprised to see two different taxi companies at the airport expecting to take us to the hotel. The hotel had not told there taxi company of the cancellation and this turned into a heated debate between the two taxi drivers. This debate continued out into the car park and turned into a fight which other taxi drivers joined in. We had to plead with out our driver to get us out of there quick and just as we were driving off we could see the police breaking up the brawl. Not a pleasant way to start our Moroccan experience and totally the hotels fault.

The surrounding area is definitely worth exploring, delicious foods available at astonishing prices, such good value for money especially in comparison to the hotels over inflated prices.

A couple of streets behind the hotel is a café called La Maison Gourmande (place 11 janvier) the cakes and pastries are some of the best we have ever tasted, really worth a visit.

There is also an off licence located on the 2nd or 3rd right as you head towards the main town from the hotel it's pretty much across from the supermarket (staff in there are friendly).

Definitely try one of the fish stalls by the harbour the seafood is amazing, the trick is to have a look at all the stalls stock first, this is hard as they stand in front of you and pull out chairs, just say that you aren't hungry at the moment but that you are looking for later. The stalls are numbered so just remember which one you preferred then head straight back to it.
The one other place we would recommend is an evening meal at Chez Sam at the end of the harbour from the outside it doesn't look great but inside is much better the views are lovely and the food excellent.

You won't be disappointed with Essaouira it's beautiful without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    165
    64
    38
    22
See reviews for
76
244
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

great place to stay, only 10 min walk to medina and well worth a visit, HOWEVER, i've never stayed in such a quality hotel where breakfast coffee is 25 flip-flops extra for a fresh ground cup. free "coffee" is available from a machine, but tastes like sludge,
Try the medina square to eat, but order early as Morocco hasn't yet grasped quick service.
horse rriding on beach is great but try rranch Diabat (hotel doorman will sort you out) only 150dh for 1 hour. the beach horses look good but i never saw them fed or watered in the hot sun.

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spend 4 nights as a solo traveler in this beautiful hotel. I always invest much time to prepare my holidays and use Tripadvisor as information source. I couldn't have made a better choice. Stayed in three 5-star hotels during my 10 days visit and this hotel was really the absolute top!
Thumbs up for the friendly staff! Especially the men at the entrance and hall were so nice.
Although this is a rather big hotel I never had the feeling of just being a number...
Breakfast is super and also here staff was extremely helpful. Rooms very beautiful and spotless clean. I visit Morocco every year and without doubt will return upon my next visit in Essaouira. It's a small but pleasant walk (15-20 minutes)from the center. Taxis are extremely cheap. Only small minus was the internet, I couldn't connect with Ipad. There is a computer for the guests available in the entrance hall free of charge. Message to the management: congratulations, keep it this way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After travelling round Morocco and staying in Riads, this was certainly the ultimate relaxation for our price range! Very modern style, but still with a Moroccan feel to it. Good selection at breakfast, and free toiletries in the room (shampoo, conditioner, body wash and moisturiser) from the spa. The beds were so comfy!

Room Tip: I couldn't see any reason why any of the rooms wouldn't be good to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

In no way at all is this place a 5 star hotel. It's decent enough though and for less than £60 a night you really can't complain. Bar prices are very high though and the jack Daniels I ordered tasted like it had been watered down a tad and theres no wifi in the room but its free around the large and well decorated lobby areas but these are minor grumbles and I did enjoy my stay there and yes I would go back for the money I paid

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

A recent business trip to this hotel resulted in 2of my colleagues being molested in their rooms at night, the hotel didn't seem to take the matter very seriously until the police got involved. Not a place I would ever recommend to anyone!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Positives- enormous rooms, lots of space, clean and modern. Located overlooking the very windy beach so beautiful views of the sunrise. Negatives- the restaurant and bar were extremely slow, receiving a drink took upwards of 20 minutes after ordering. Food was not great at the restaurant, resulting in my colleagues being ill. Also the reception staff were very rude and unhelpful when I mislaid my jacket.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Essaouira Hotel
Atlas Hotel Essaouira
Address: Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#31 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Essaouira & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.