We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anyway ... discover It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE

RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE
8 Bis Rue Houmam El Fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-73158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Anyway ... discover It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Finally a place where good food is combined with the quality of service and hospitality ... what more! Seasonal products purchased with due care to offer only fresh, nothing fresh. Preparations that express well the flavors of Morocco with a few bonus dishes keys ... so "Frenchy" (try the desserts!).
And also the occasion a little more "fair", some pastries from a local education association (I'm not a pro, ask a few questions to Fred once there, she will be happy to tell you more!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    248
    121
    29
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little restaurant, run & owned by a lovely French couple, serving great quality delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We came across this little restaurant after seeing it recommended in the guide book. What a great discovery! We were the first customers of the evening and we were welcomed in by the delightful French couple who owed the restaurant. They were both exceptionally friendly & helpful. It was not long before the place was full but this all added to the atmosphere. The food cooked was really great, we had the fish tajine & Moroccan special, both of which were delicious.
I would highly recommend this lovely little restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Did not meet our expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The menu looked promising but the food was very disappointing. My partner had lentil salad which was plain but nice (boiled lentils with a touch of argan oil and an olive on top). I had vegetable soup to start but its lack of flavour was overcompensated by too much salt - it was so salty I could not eat it. We hoped for better with our main course which was pan fried fish of the day with rice and green peas but again we were bitterly dissatisfied. Without the crispy skin you expect from a pan fried fish, our john dory was wet and limp on both sides and lacked any hint or herbs, spices or flavour. The rice was bland and not a suitable accompaniment for this fish. There was no sauce at all so the meal was very dry. We had Moroccan pastries for our desert and were surprised to see them simply sourced from a Tupperware box on the side table. On the whole, there was a distinct lack of flavour and imagination especially with the main course.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladecouverte2006, Propriétaire at RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Google Translation
La cuisine marocaine est saine. La fraîcheur des aliments et les épices qui accompagnent ne nécessite pas que l'on rajoute de la crème ou de la sauce. Comme à tous nos clients nous vous avons expliqué la carte (en français ou en anglais). Vous avez choisi des plats sans sauce.
Nous avons une cuisine ouvert, ce qui permet à tous de suivre la préparation de leur plat.
En ce qui concerne les pâtisseries marocaines, elles sont toujours conservées dans une boite, hors frigo pour qu'elles restent moelleuses.
Dommage pour vous que vous n'ayez pas exprimé vos envies et surtout vos critiques .
Frédérique et Edouard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Nampula, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent food with local dishes and ingredients and an equal level of service. it should not be missed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not organic; lots of meat dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The title of the restaurant on TA is misleading. I asked. They have NOTHING organic. Also lots of meat dishes including camel meat (yuyks). The soup tasted funny. They said it was 100% vegetarian but I could taste something dairy or animalistic in it. They said it has no cream or dairy and has coriander but I still didn't trust it b/c they serve so many meat dishes that in that kind of a kitchen for a soup to end up 100% vegetarian is a bit challenging so I didn't eat it (but paid).

The lentils were good.
Nice people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladecouverte2006, Propriétaire at RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Google Translation
Monsieur, votre message contient un nombre assez important de mensonges.

Jamais, nous n'avons écrit que le restaurant était végétarien à 100%, nous avons des plats végétariens dont nous sommes sûrs.
Si vous aviez pris le temps de lire quelques critiques, elles parlent de pastillas, de kefta...de couscous avec viande de dromadaire.

La soupe, vous en avez mangé plus de la moitié ! Tout plat commandé doit être réglé, c'est la règle.

Quel intérêt aurions nous à vous assurer que la soupe etait végétarienne si elle ne l'était pas.
C'est un procès d'intention que vous nous faites lorsque vos suspicions sur la soupe ne sont en aucun cas fondées.

Nous n'acceptons pas vos sous entendus : le repas offert sinon je mets un message négatif sur Tripadvisor. Ce site est réservé pour des clients qui se comportent avec un peu plus de rigueur intellectuelle. Sachez que nous ne céderons pas au chantage!

Quelle crédibilité pouvez vous avoir lorsque l'on regarde le nombre de messages négatifs que vous avez écrit, vous semblez avoir une vision bien négative des choix dont vous avez du mal à assumer!
Frédérique et Edouard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.