We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE

RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE
8 Bis Rue Houmam El Fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-73158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Nampula, Nampula, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent food with local dishes and ingredients and an equal level of service. it should not be missed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    123
    30
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not organic; lots of meat dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The title of the restaurant on TA is misleading. I asked. They have NOTHING organic. Also lots of meat dishes including camel meat (yuyks). The soup tasted funny. They said it was 100% vegetarian but I could taste something dairy or animalistic in it. They said it has no cream or dairy and has coriander but I still didn't trust it b/c they serve so many meat dishes that in that kind of a kitchen for a soup to end up 100% vegetarian is a bit challenging so I didn't eat it (but paid).

The lentils were good.
Nice people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladecouverte2006, Propriétaire at RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Google Translation
Monsieur, votre message contient un nombre assez important de mensonges.

Jamais, nous n'avons écrit que le restaurant était végétarien à 100%, nous avons des plats végétariens dont nous sommes sûrs.
Si vous aviez pris le temps de lire quelques critiques, elles parlent de pastillas, de kefta...de couscous avec viande de dromadaire.

La soupe, vous en avez mangé plus de la moitié ! Tout plat commandé doit être réglé, c'est la règle.

Quel intérêt aurions nous à vous assurer que la soupe etait végétarienne si elle ne l'était pas.
C'est un procès d'intention que vous nous faites lorsque vos suspicions sur la soupe ne sont en aucun cas fondées.

Nous n'acceptons pas vos sous entendus : le repas offert sinon je mets un message négatif sur Tripadvisor. Ce site est réservé pour des clients qui se comportent avec un peu plus de rigueur intellectuelle. Sachez que nous ne céderons pas au chantage!

Quelle crédibilité pouvez vous avoir lorsque l'on regarde le nombre de messages négatifs que vous avez écrit, vous semblez avoir une vision bien négative des choix dont vous avez du mal à assumer!
Frédérique et Edouard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Intimate friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a really nice lunch here. A small menu but fresh products beautifully cooked and presented. Especially nice to see the chefs working behind the counter giving the restaurant a very intimate feel. Eco tour from here looked interesting also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Small yet Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very small Restaurant but perfect in every way. The intimate atmosphere, the welcome by the French owners, and more importantly the delicious food ! This was our third visit to Essaouira and our 4th visit to this restaurant. It is advisable to book a table in advance. The Plum tart with Crumble on top was scrumptious !! Enjoy !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't pass this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Don't pass this place!
Remarkable cousine and surprisingly house atmosphere. Fresh ad excellent food and service.. The restaurant is tiny, so try to come as early as possible or reserve a place.
It is VERY tasty here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.