We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small yet Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE

RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE
8 Bis Rue Houmam El Fatouaki, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-73158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 192 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Blackburn, Lancashire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Small yet Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very small Restaurant but perfect in every way. The intimate atmosphere, the welcome by the French owners, and more importantly the delicious food ! This was our third visit to Essaouira and our 4th visit to this restaurant. It is advisable to book a table in advance. The Plum tart with Crumble on top was scrumptious !! Enjoy !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    242
    114
    28
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't pass this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Don't pass this place!
Remarkable cousine and surprisingly house atmosphere. Fresh ad excellent food and service.. The restaurant is tiny, so try to come as early as possible or reserve a place.
It is VERY tasty here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Intimate, tasty, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Eating in this tiny restaurant is like eating in someone's kitchen, in a good way. Friendly French owners were very welcoming, and the menu is not rigidly fixed - don't be shy to ask for what you want!

Only grumble was the cheese in my briaoutes tasted a little off. Veggie briaoutes were great, though!

It's pretty small, so I would make a reservation to avoid disappointment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Simple fresh food at sensible prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I only stopped for a drink but could not resist trying something from the menu that was so different to many others in the area.

A varied menu with some staples but also a changing daily menu to make the most of the fresh ingredients available.

My first visit here I had the homemade fresh pasta pesto - it took a little while to come but then it should as it was being freshly made and I was not disappointed. Good portion size, lovely texture and great flavour. I followed this with the Orange Mousse - this was more an icecream/sorbet combination which was creamy enough to add a bit of richness whilst not overpowering the orange which help clean the pallate after the pasta.

I enjoyed my meal there so much that I returned another day. This time I had the combination of pastilla - cheese, fish, chicken. It was very good although I do wish I'd tried the pigeon one instead. I finished, on the recommendation of the people at the next table, with the chocolate tarte. This was very good but would have been improved if served with some icecream.

Although situated on a tiny side street it was still a pleasant place to sit outside and enjoy your meal with some people walking by but not soo many that you felt uncomfortable.

The female chef (one of the owners possibly) spent time talking to the customers when not busy in the kitchen, giving the place a very friendly and informal feel.

Would I eat there again?
Suitable for - singles, couples, small groups, families.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great find in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant a couple of weeks ago with friends who live in Essaouira. We were not disappointed.
Our group consisted of meat eaters, fish lovers and vegetarians and there was something for everyone.
Everything was freshly made and very reasonably priced. We had a range of dishes including vegetable and cheese briwats, pastilla, sardine kefta and camel couscous and we also managed the wonderful desserts, which included plum tart and chocolate tart.
The service was excellent, both the owner and the waiter spoke English and were very friendly and pleasant.
I will certainly return here next time I am in Essaouira and I have already recommended it to several friends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANT LA DECOUVERTE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.