We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True calm in an idyllic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Save Saved
You added Domaine de l'Arganeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Imi Ntagant | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
sharm el sheik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“True calm in an idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in late October with our 7&8 year olds, who loved the donkey and tortoise living in the grounds. The pool area is amazing, the pool was a little chilly for the time of year but I imagine it would be a perfect chill out in the summer months...it is worth noting that the lovely French couple who run the hotel do not speak any English, but they will bend over backwards to help in other ways, in our case they drove to the main highway to meet us and guide us in, as it is extremely hard to find using GPS/google maps. They also don't take cards so have cash on hand. The staff were all fabulous and we ate there both nights, with amazing traditional food which even the children enjoyed. Thank you for a lovely experience, we will be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

W've been to the Arganeraie for a short break.
We loved the spaceful rooms, the clean and peaceful atmosphere and the warm yet professional service.
Children enjoyed the swimmingpool (september) and the large garden.
Breakfast and meals were good.

We'd definitly go back there and recommand the place.

Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foligno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this place for only one night but would have loved to stay at least a week! We were a group of 18 people on a tour on the Atlantic Coast.The hotel is formed by ten different villas very well furnished and immersed in a gorgeous park of argan trees, with a great swimming pool. The place is an oasis of peace and calm and it is very near the beautiful little town of Essaouira (about 8 kilometres). Dinner and breakfast were very good and we especially remember the great hospitality of Maryse and her husband who made us feel completely at home. They were very kind and happily helped us with any requests. We will definetely go back and stay some more at this beatiful place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballaison, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A bit far from Essouira (10mn by taxi), this is "L'Arganeraie", an oasis of silence and beauty...
10 lux and confortable riad for 8/10 persons on a really nice Domain (trees, green grass, turtle... and ute swimming pool).
Helful, smily and available french & local staff.
Nice breakfast.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a great place for families. We stayed here for a week and loved it. The Riads are very nice, not luxurious but spacious and well furnished with nice outdoor spaces. The garden and the staff are lovely and the pool is huge and perfect for kids. The Domaine is about 10 minutes drive from Essaouira (don't be put off by the slightly ragged surroundings and the very poor track leading there). All is all great place. If anything could be improved it would be the food which is decent but not amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed with a group of 20 adultes and children for a weekend. The staf makes you feel relaxed and you can ask anything. The women who prepared all meals for us were so good in their work, very friendly and they understand big groups well. The villas are clean and well maintained. The swimmingpool is so big you have space to play and swim without disturbing others. And it is in a nice garden full of flowers, argane trees and turtles! All the guests were very content with the villas and the domaine. It is true the road is a bit difficult but at this moment the gouvernement is making it better. To find the domaine, just ask the staff how to get there and you will find it.

Room Tip: specially the small villas have beautifull rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F M, Gérant at Domaine de l'Arganeraie, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a little of your time to send us your compliments. We are very pleased that your weekend with friends went well, and hopefully it will leave a beautiful memory for a longtime .
Très cordialement
Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved our (too) short stay at Arganeraie. As some of the reviews point out, it is some way from Essaouira and it is down a dirt track, but if you are looking for somewhere to chill out, relax, eat good food and drink wine, then this place is perfect. We had two nights in Arganeraie and then a couple of days in Es town to explore, which worked great for us.
There was a small group of us, only 3 friends, but we were housed in a beautiful massive villa, with our own kitchen, living room and multiple terraces. The villas are well spaced out so whilst you are in amongst other people staying there you do feel separate, and the grounds are lovely. The pool area is really nice, and the pool itself very clean.
From the moment we got there everyone was so happy to help us. All of the villas have their own kitchen and you have the option of having your own cook for the night. The food we ate was undoubtedly the best food we ate in Morocco hands down. The breakfast was included in the room price and was also delicious. We could not quite believe the standard of the accommodation or food for the price.
Cesar and the team made us feel really at home and they went out of their way to help us.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough! We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F M, Gérant at Domaine de l'Arganeraie, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
All the Estate of Arganeraie was very proud and very happy to receive you, and thank you very much for your kindness during this short stay with us. Many thanks also for your very complimentary comments, and we're really glad you appreciated Moroccan specialties lovingly prepared by our cooks. Hope to see you longer next time ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de l'Arganeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Also Known As:
l Arganeraie Essaouira
l Arganeraie Hotel Essaouira
Address: Imi Ntagant | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couple, friends, family or groupwe would be delighted to welcome you to your home away from home at Domain d’Arganeraie. Situated one flight of the seagull from the medina and ten lengths of the driver from the Golf Mogador, this oasis of greenery (more than 3 hectares) boasting hundred year old argan trees has ten Riads with traditional Moroccan architecture that are nestled like flower petals around the pristine eternity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de l'Arganeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de l'Arganeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.