We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Save Saved
You added Domaine de l'Arganeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Imi Ntagant | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a great place for families. We stayed here for a week and loved it. The Riads are very nice, not luxurious but spacious and well furnished with nice outdoor spaces. The garden and the staff are lovely and the pool is huge and perfect for kids. The Domaine is about 10 minutes drive from Essaouira (don't be put off by the slightly ragged surroundings and the very poor track leading there). All is all great place. If anything could be improved it would be the food which is decent but not amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed with a group of 20 adultes and children for a weekend. The staf makes you feel relaxed and you can ask anything. The women who prepared all meals for us were so good in their work, very friendly and they understand big groups well. The villas are clean and well maintained. The swimmingpool is so big you have space to play and swim without disturbing others. And it is in a nice garden full of flowers, argane trees and turtles! All the guests were very content with the villas and the domaine. It is true the road is a bit difficult but at this moment the gouvernement is making it better. To find the domaine, just ask the staff how to get there and you will find it.

Room Tip: specially the small villas have beautifull rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F M, Gérant at Domaine de l'Arganeraie, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a little of your time to send us your compliments. We are very pleased that your weekend with friends went well, and hopefully it will leave a beautiful memory for a longtime .
Très cordialement
Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved our (too) short stay at Arganeraie. As some of the reviews point out, it is some way from Essaouira and it is down a dirt track, but if you are looking for somewhere to chill out, relax, eat good food and drink wine, then this place is perfect. We had two nights in Arganeraie and then a couple of days in Es town to explore, which worked great for us.
There was a small group of us, only 3 friends, but we were housed in a beautiful massive villa, with our own kitchen, living room and multiple terraces. The villas are well spaced out so whilst you are in amongst other people staying there you do feel separate, and the grounds are lovely. The pool area is really nice, and the pool itself very clean.
From the moment we got there everyone was so happy to help us. All of the villas have their own kitchen and you have the option of having your own cook for the night. The food we ate was undoubtedly the best food we ate in Morocco hands down. The breakfast was included in the room price and was also delicious. We could not quite believe the standard of the accommodation or food for the price.
Cesar and the team made us feel really at home and they went out of their way to help us.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough! We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F M, Gérant at Domaine de l'Arganeraie, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
All the Estate of Arganeraie was very proud and very happy to receive you, and thank you very much for your kindness during this short stay with us. Many thanks also for your very complimentary comments, and we're really glad you appreciated Moroccan specialties lovingly prepared by our cooks. Hope to see you longer next time ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Perfect, is the only word I can think of! This gorgeous riad has been decorated with such a good taste, and our room had the most incredible view on the coast and the Island of Mogador! It is so quiet and relaxing. You feel at home as soon as you arrive. I do highly recommend having dinner there, too! A special thanks to all members of the staff, it has been years since we had such a high quality service. For sure, we will be back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We travelled in a large group driving classic cars, and L'Arganeraie was our final stop and the venue for our end-of-tour party. Bruno, Cesar and their staff were so incredibly accommodating, from organising parking for our cars at the Golf Club and massages back at the hotel, to planning horseriding excursions and taking us into the old town. The food at our party was magnificent, and the staff very forbearing as we danced into the night. Despite terrible weather, the beautifully kept gardens and pretty pool area were a very tranquil space and I can only imagine how blissful it would have been if we had not arrived and left in the rain! We adored this place, and I would love to go back - ideally with a group of 8-10 friends to occupy just one of the spacious, comfortable and charming riads where you can organise your own dining and relaxation, popping across the lawn for a swim whenever you feel like it. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Our large and boisterous group descended on L'Arganerie in May 2011 and were hosted superbly by Bruno and Cesar. The riads are so tastfully built and decorated and the whole estate is private and very upmarket. This privacy coupled with the chilled out vibe of Essaouira makes for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We spent 2 weeks in Morocco in which Essaouira and L'Arganeraie was the last stay of our trip.

This is the first time I've really felt I've needed to review a hotel, but our experience here was really not what we had expected based on other reviews and the hotel website.

Firstly when we arrived in Essaouira straight off the bus from Marrakech, we actually found it quite hard to find a taxi driver who knew where this hotel was, which naturally got us a tiny bit concerned.

With a bit of help from a friendly local we did manage to find a taxi driver who knew the area it was in if not the hotel itself and who agreed to take us. It soon became clear why none of the local petit taxi drivers knew of our hotel once we were out of town though, and that is because it is way off the main road, down about 2miles of winding, pitted, rocky, farm tracks that most petit taxis refuse to drive down for fear of destroying their already dubious state of repair cars! It is also incredibly poorly signposted, which in an area full of small winding farm tracks where it’s very easy to get lost, I think is very unimpressive.

Our taxi driver persevered, getting lost several times as and eventually we realised that the plain black double gates that we happened past in the plain white wall at the end of one stretch of road we popped out of were in fact the entrance to our hotel! A name plate/ entrance sign wouldn't have gone amiss to be honest! We had to beep the car horn and bang on the gates to get any attention as there was no-one around or any bell/knocker/buzzer of any kind, eventually getting the attention of the gardener who let us in and confirmed that we were definitely in the right place!

We had sort of expected it to be a small hotel resort type place with a main hotel reception/restaurant lounge type area of some kind, but in actual fact there is nothing. No reception, just a padlocked office from which they mainly seem to run their business selling Argan oil beauty products and the pool area which expect for breakfast time is mostly deserted. This made finding help and information when we needed it extremely difficult and would have been impossible were it not for Yousef the waiter who helped us out as much as he could, frequently tracking down the owners for us.

Whilst the resort itself is really quite pretty and the pool area lovely and big, the room we had was a bit tired, and the towels they gave us while clean enough were all stained and had seen better days. Also despite the fact that no one else was staying in our ‘Raid’ while we were there we were not allowed access to the lounge area which would have been nice and the pool itself needed a clean as it had large patches of green algae in it! This was also the only place in our trip where we were not offered bottled water for our room at night and we had to resort to buying our own toilet roll too. Despite this I think what disappointed us the most about this hotel was its location. We knew it was out of town, but not that it was down 2miles of rough farm tracks which are really quite challenging to navigate. The owners know that the road to the hotel is so bad most taxi drivers won’t come down it, so their solution has been to set up a taxi service with a company that has four wheel drive vehicles prepared to drive down these roads to take guests out if they so whish and to then pick them up and bring them all the way back. The catch is that you have to pay hugely over the odds for this service. To get a taxi to the medina in Essaouira and back again costs 200 dirhams (100 each way) which is about £15.00, not too much I suppose for most tourists, but a small fortune if you compare it to local rates, and if you are on a budget! We were so unimpressed with the taxi service the hotel provided on our first day, with the taxi driver stopping to perform his own chores and shopping on the way and the way back, that we decided to try and venture out on our own the next day. Under our own steam we walked from the resort to the main road, which took about 30mins, and then from the main road we got a grand taxi for 5 dirhams each to the medina in Essaouira, and on the way home we got a petit taxi for between 30 and 40 dirhams, a saving of roughly 150 dirhams a day and this is still at local tourist rates! The walk back to the hotel at night is not for the faint hearted, and we were just lucky that we happened to pack a torch. I think most people either stay at the resort for most of their holiday, or just pay for the taxis they provide, as the owners seemed quite shocked by us venturing out on our own.

Overall maybe this was just the wrong place for us, we went to Morocco to see Morocco, not to stay in the hotel all day by a nice pool, and although it was a very interesting experience for us to be staying amongst quite a poor farming community, I would not stay at this hotel again because of the transportation issue. I would like to thank Yousef again for all his help; he was very attentive and made our stay a lot better than it otherwise would have been.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de l'Arganeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de l'Arganeraie

Address: Imi Ntagant | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#16 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couple, friends, family or groupwe would be delighted to welcome you to your home away from home at Domain d’Arganeraie. Situated one flight of the seagull from the medina and ten lengths of the driver from the Golf Mogador, this oasis of greenery (more than 3 hectares) boasting hundred year old argan trees has ten Riads with traditional Moroccan architecture that are nestled like flower petals around the pristine eternity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de l'Arganeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Arganeraie Essaouira
l Arganeraie Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de l'Arganeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.