We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ocean Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Ocean Medina to your Saves list
Riad Ocean Medina
7 rue Moulay Azzouz | Bab Marrakech, Rue d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

It's cheap and has a flat on the terrasse. If my experience stopped here I would rate this hotel as very good.

But came the night and the bed was full of bugs under the pillow. Even after killing some bugs, animals were still coming from all around the place ready to suck your blood. We spent an awful night scratching ourself and finally slept on the terrasse.

I'm a backpacker and don't really care about all options hotel have but when you book an hotel it's to sleep well and here it was not the case I felt better outside then inside. I stayed only one night and it was already too much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
7
50
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We turned up from Marrakesh not having booked a place and thought we'd stay for a couple of nights, WE STAYED FOR 10. The staff are more than helpful, it is spotlessly clean, safe, lovely breakfast on terrace, use of fridge etc., we never used the key for our room. New sheets every 3 days and towels (the towels were well used but washed), considering the cost of a towel in comparison to the cost of a room!!!!!! VERY GOOD VALUE. Any Medina in Morocco smells a bit, whilst we were visiting the whole drains of the town were being re-done, so a bit of pong is part of the experience. Maybe some people that have criticised the place for drain smell would be better off in a 'all in one package holiday'. We shall return and thank you all there for looking after us. Beanie and Pete (March 2012)

Room Tip: Staying there for 10 days we had a little look around. They are all good. We are returning - so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Believe the reviews. For this price its truly great value in terms of service, location, rooms and everything else! You even get free wi-fi! Well recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

First off - I'm very dubious about the other reviews on this place. They all sounds a little too good. We booked this place on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and I wish we'd gone elsewhere.

The staff were very pleasant and genuinely sweet and helpful but the room we stayed in (Bab Doukkala) was absolutely miserable. I looked in some of the other rooms and they didn't look much better. I understand that rooms in riads can be dark but this was a world away from our Marrakesh riad which, even though it had a smaller window, managed to feel much more pleasant. The shower needed a really good clean - the darkness hid most of the dirt- and cobwebs needed removing from the ceiling. The floor was dusty so by the time you got from the shower into bed, your damp feet (no bath mat) picked up all that dust and carried it into bed with you.

The worst thing was the terrible damp (maybe this is a problem in the rest of Essaouira, but this place certainly wasn't combating it well). When you climbed into the sheets at night, they felt clammy and the rough blanket on the end of the bed smelled like wet dog and made me sneeze - I had to resort to putting it in the cupboard.

The second worst thing was the way they tried to cover up the damp with a god awful air freshener which would periodically squirt disgusting synthetic floral smells into the room. This, combined with copious amounts of pot pourri, added to the nasty underlying damp smell rather than detracted from it.

Breakfast wasn't bad and the roof terrace is quite nice. The location is good but then Essaouira, particularly inside the walls, is so small that there were a ton of places with good locations. This felt like some of the really cheap places I stayed in when I was travelling in India, paying £5 / night and not expecting much in return. We paid about £32 / night for our room which may be cheap place for Essaouira but we paid £34 in Marrakesh and stayed in a glorious place (Riad Noor Charana). Again I'm sorry to be this mean about the place because the staff really were nice but I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed for a few nights in July and really have mixed feelings about this plce.

Staff were really friendly and helpful, price was very good, location is excellent, being just inside the medina and convenient for the Supratours bus and also to the fort/waterfront area. Breakfast was included in the rate and was nice enough, served on the terrace with a view of the ocean which is a nice touch.

On the downside we were eaten alive by bugs (maybe just bad luck, but there were heaps of mozzies around, which may have something to do with water pooling around the many potted plants around the place), the bedding felt a bit tired, the pillows were very uncomfortable and we had a slight sewage smell in the bathroom.

Given the price point, and the positives, perhaps most people would be ok with Azzouz, but for us, on this particular trip, it was a slight disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and we loved it. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We were offered a larger room as the place wasn't full which was nice and the rooms were a lot more private than they can be in some riads. It was really clean and newly decorated and breakfast was the best we had in Morocco served whenever we wanted.

The location was perfect, easy to find and near the main street but nice and quiet. There was someone there to let us in 24/7 too. The terrace was gorgeous with a view of the sea, places to sit and eat breakfast or have a bottle of wine while the sun sets and loungers for a bit of sunbathing.

This place is perfect for couples as it is much more romantic than many of the places we stayed and the rooms are really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

The Azzouz 7 was the best Riad we stayed at during our entire trip through Morocco. Located on a quiet street just a bit from the center of the old city, it is extremely quiet but right near a bustling city center (although admittedly a bit difficult to find at first). The rooms were extremely nice and well decorated, but the main highlight was the terrace with a sunbathing area. We often preferred to eat on the terrace with take out as opposed to eating in restaurants, as you could see the beach the ocean from there. Ilham was extremely helpful, as were the rest of the staff, and the breakfast is good, often varying a different warm meal each day. We would certainly stay here again, simply for the terrace and proximity to the beach and city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ocean Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ocean Medina

Address: 7 rue Moulay Azzouz | Bab Marrakech, Rue d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ocean Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ocean Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.