We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Garance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Garance to your Saves list
Villa Garance
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10, Rue a. Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 174 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although we could only stay there for a night, it was perfect. Great location, beautiful roof terrace, very kind host lady (perhaps the owner) and all the staff was very sweet, too. We loved the breakfast, which was simple, yet with a little twist. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated with many authentic details. Moreover it's a riad, so great for those looking for a more authentic stay. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    50
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
91
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff were the highlight, all very charming and enthousiastic. Location was also very good, there was free wifi in the lobby and the breakfast was very decent (but not the best). The owner also showed us around and instructed directions over the city map, which was also very helpful. This hotel (like many in Essaouira) is deep into the medina so if you have a lot of luggage it is wise to hire someone to carry it to the hotel.

One of our rooms (the only room in terrace) was fairly poor and in stark contrast to the other rooms of the hotel (with little light and a makeshift PVC door/wall). We did not mind as we stayed one night but avoid it if you are staying longer.

Room Tip: Stairs, especially after the first floor are quite steep so pay attention if you are travelling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was on of the best places we stayed in our visit to Marroco. The reception and information on our arrival was excellent. It's a petty that the the glass doors with curtains interferes with your privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It's advisable to arrive in Essaouira in the afternoon - midday is not kind to the colours, and the town looked like a ghetto. By sunset it was glorious though, so don't be put off.

I speak French very poorly, and chose Villa Garance as I heard that English was spoken. When I arrived the proprietors were not in, so I stumbled to explain that we had a booking, and we managed to eventually understand one another. The room we stayed in was utilitarian, but nice enough. We had to request a heater. The decor isn't as charming as other riads I have been to.

That said, the bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a little grimy around the edges. The shower head was loose so the shower stream pointed at the wall.

The rooftop (like most things in Essaouira) was grimy, being as it is hostage to enormous seagulls! Watch your head on the way up! The doorways are some of the lowest in Morocco! Watch your feet on the way down! The stairs are precipitous! The view is mostly of rusty satellite dishes and a horizon of blue water. Breakfast was plentiful. While the crepes and coffee were great, the other offerings were a bit bland.

I hurt my wrist earlier in the trip. I asked one of the owners where to find a bandage and they sprung to action. Before I knew it a doctor was in my room, making sure nothing was broken and bandaging it with utmost care. The owners were lovely, kind and helpful.

In summary, Villa Garance is a bit run down and less of a visual delight than other similarly priced riads. However, if you are after warm hospitality, you will find it here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved to stay in Villa Garance while in Essaouira. It is situated inside the medina and is very quiet. The place is beautifully furnished and the rooms are decorated with great taste. We enjoyed very good breakfasts, with delicious home made fig marmelade, at the roof terrace with a sea vieuw. We would stay at the same place if we are going back. Our friends have already visited the place and liked it as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great day/night here. Our room was lovely, as were the others we were offered, everything was clean and tidy, high ceilings, lots of light, well set out, etc. The hotel itself was easy to find but set a little back from the main thoroughfare of the medina, so it didn't feel overtouristed and chaotic.

All the staff we met were genuinely friendly and helpful, helping me sort out wifi, pointing out good places to visit and so on.

Breakfast was probably the best we've had in Morocco - although perhaps I just think that because they provided pomegranate - wonderful wonderful wonderful - although with all the usual staples (pastries, bread, yoghurt, spreads, tea, coffee, juice, etc).

Definitely somewhere I'd be keen to go back!

If you're a light sleeper you might want to be a little picky about your choice of rooms - we were there on a Saturday night and faced toward the street (two floors up) and it was a little noisy, fine for us but I know some people would have been bothered.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might want to be a little picky about your choice of rooms - we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nicely located in the medina (old town), which is the center of Essaouira. The owners are really nice and friendly and make you feel at ease!

But the best is the Hotel (Riad) itself. Nice Bedrooms with a high ceiling and beautifull decorations. On top of that, you can enjoy your breakfast on top of this old moroccan mansion and see the rooftops of the Medina, as well as the ocean...

I really enjoyed my stay, and you should try it out! :)

Room Tip: There larger and smaller rooms at slightly different prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#20 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#11 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garance

Address: 10, Rue a. Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Garance 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garance is a charming, spacious riad, beautifully decorated inside, with bags of history and charm, and is located in a small street in the heart of the Medina, only a short walk from the ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. You will be truly delighted with everything that Villa Garance had to offer: elegant, clean and large bedrooms (10 single, double, twin or for families up to 5 people, from 15 to 35 m²); the large roof terrace with distant sea views, where a delicious and hearty homemade breakfast is served in the sunshine, where you can have sunbathe with a book throughout the day; and the charming and helpful owners Marie and Pierre, who are extremely friendly and give you lots of information on the history of Essaouira along with recommendations for restaurants and activities. All bedrooms are heated, with private bathroom, and have large windows except two of them which give access to a bright patio. Lunch, diner and massage can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Garance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Garance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.