We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, in the heart of Essaouira for little price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sahara

Hotel Sahara
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sahara to your Saves list
Hotel Sahara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Okba Ibnou Nafiaa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, in the heart of Essaouira for little price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had an opportunity to spend 4 days in Sahara hotel which turned out to be a perfect place - very quiet but located at the same time in the very centre of the city, between medina and the beach.
The whole hotel has a nice Moroccan style, rooms are big enough with lovely deco while very cheap, and finally the staff is really friendly and helpful.
It was great pleasure to spend there my holidays, I strongly recommend everybody to pop in:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was a really pleasant stay in a clean room with bathroom. Fast wifi, roof terrace and great location just next to the tower clock. Minutes from the beach and meters from the medina. Common room with tables and a huge tv downstairs. The hotel well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

As a veteran traveller in Maroc I have used Hotel Sahara for about a decade and will long continue, Inshallah! It used to to be quite budget with a slightly sinister "Sddenly Last summer" ethos about it and provided a no-nonsense tartine petit dejeuner once upon a time but alas no longer. Sahara has had a major and quite endearing makeover, with startling artexing and grotto effects; it's quite funny, but unfortunately costs more; The rooms are reasonably spacious, unlike the awful claustrophobic overpriced done-up hovels in the medina with their special effects superimposed for the tourists and walls impregnated with sea dampness.
It has BATHS for Chrissake - what more do you want,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I shared a room with two friends when we were going the "super cheap" route for lodging. I admit I am a wuss when it comes to budget lodging. The rooms were very basic and it took awhile for the hot water to reach a warm state. My two friends used the shower prior to me and couldn't get any hot water, we sort of assumed there was no hot water for the price we were paying!

The beds were okay and it felt so-so clean. No bugs, no hair, what more do you want for a low price? We went out clubbing til' the wee morning hours so only were in the room for a few hours.

The location was fantastic right next to the medina and a few minutes from the ocean. It's an okay spot if you are looking to save money, want a great location and are not going to spend more than a night!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed in May. This is an odd hotel; they do not seem to be much interested in doing business: it has about 60 rooms of which 4 or 5 seemed occupied. No breakfast was available, but that was no hardship as breakfast next door is fine.
This hotel has obviously seen better days and I'd imagine it was once one of the best in town.
We stayed a week. Our first room, theogh spacious had broken windows and some lights did not work. The second room was much better. Very tastefully appointed; TV with 2 movie channels. Shower head was a bit leaky and hot water only at morning and evening; not all the power points worked.
We had a most comfortable stay. Staff were very pleasant.
At 250 DH for a double, we thought it good value. Beats poky, airless riad rooms anytime.
Just be careful to carefully inspect the offered room before accepting it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Was on a Travemood tour of Morocco ( recommended - brilliant holiday ) who book you and your travel mates into the locations you land up in en route around Morocco. Arrived at Essouira and went straight to hotel reception where we filled out duplicates of personal details on small pieces of white card to register.

Location couldn't be beaten - right on the Medina walls and very near the sea, Moroccan decoration - riad style central courtyard with 6 floors of rooms decorated like little Moroccan bedsits. My boyfriend and I were delighted that the TV in the room played more than the News 24 channel found in other hotels and spent a pleasurable hour watching 'A Few Good Men' subtitled in Arabic before going out to explore.

But ( and this is a big but ) they have to save money somehow and it was obvious with the level of cleanliness and the standard of breakfast that if you scratch Hotel Sahara on the surface you can find why. The bathroom was inside the bedsit room, you stepped through a blue painted door up a step to find a loo, shower and bidet ( tick ) no loo paper ( no tick ), the sink was broken ( no tick ) and the splash tiles were covered in toothpaste stains, the shower wasn't clean and I found a long brown hair in the sheets of my bed. I wasn't convinced they were laundered and had been recycled for the next guests ( thumbs down on all fronts ). I brushed my teeth using bottled water that night.

Answer ? Go out until 4:00 am clubbing above the most delicious restaurant in Essouria and you won't care....share a room with people who can politely ignore the inevitable toilet sounds that come from Moroccan belly and only drink the hot tea and coffee that is provided with the " breakfast " ( small dry cut up pieces of french bread with scrapes of butter and processed slices of cheese - very poor).

Essouira ?- amazing place. Hotel Sahara ?- would have requested a room change if booking on my own or staying longer than one night....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed here as part of the Travel Talk Moroccan Tours

Good Points

1.Fantastic Location
2.Rooms- Spacious and clean

Bad Points

1. Breakfast was very basic bread and jam with tea and coffee
2.Tired old building
3.No Lift

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sahara

Address: Av Okba Ibnou Nafiaa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sahara 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old medina (historic quarter), HOTEL SAHARA is decorated with modern art work and wall murals. It features a panoramic terrace, which overlooks Essaouira’s main beach. Guest rooms at the hotel have a contemporary decor with unique furnishings. Each room has a bathroom, Alarm clock, Bed linen, Free Wi-Fi, Hair dryer, Internet access, Satellite / cable TV, Smoking permitted, Television, Toiletries, Towels. HOTEL SAHARA provides a daily breakfast and a 24-hour front desk with free internet access. It is situated just 3 yards from the main shopping district, Avenue Istiqal. Essaouira Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.