We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and feels really safe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sahara

Hotel Sahara
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sahara to your Saves list
Hotel Sahara
Av Okba Ibnou Nafiaa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
1 review
“Great location and feels really safe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Was a really pleasant stay in a clean room with bathroom. Fast wifi, roof terrace and great location just next to the tower clock. Minutes from the beach and meters from the medina. Common room with tables and a huge tv downstairs. The hotel well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

As a veteran traveller in Maroc I have used Hotel Sahara for about a decade and will long continue, Inshallah! It used to to be quite budget with a slightly sinister "Sddenly Last summer" ethos about it and provided a no-nonsense tartine petit dejeuner once upon a time but alas no longer. Sahara has had a major and quite endearing makeover, with startling artexing and grotto effects; it's quite funny, but unfortunately costs more; The rooms are reasonably spacious, unlike the awful claustrophobic overpriced done-up hovels in the medina with their special effects superimposed for the tourists and walls impregnated with sea dampness.
It has BATHS for Chrissake - what more do you want,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I shared a room with two friends when we were going the "super cheap" route for lodging. I admit I am a wuss when it comes to budget lodging. The rooms were very basic and it took awhile for the hot water to reach a warm state. My two friends used the shower prior to me and couldn't get any hot water, we sort of assumed there was no hot water for the price we were paying!

The beds were okay and it felt so-so clean. No bugs, no hair, what more do you want for a low price? We went out clubbing til' the wee morning hours so only were in the room for a few hours.

The location was fantastic right next to the medina and a few minutes from the ocean. It's an okay spot if you are looking to save money, want a great location and are not going to spend more than a night!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed in May. This is an odd hotel; they do not seem to be much interested in doing business: it has about 60 rooms of which 4 or 5 seemed occupied. No breakfast was available, but that was no hardship as breakfast next door is fine.
This hotel has obviously seen better days and I'd imagine it was once one of the best in town.
We stayed a week. Our first room, theogh spacious had broken windows and some lights did not work. The second room was much better. Very tastefully appointed; TV with 2 movie channels. Shower head was a bit leaky and hot water only at morning and evening; not all the power points worked.
We had a most comfortable stay. Staff were very pleasant.
At 250 DH for a double, we thought it good value. Beats poky, airless riad rooms anytime.
Just be careful to carefully inspect the offered room before accepting it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Was on a Travemood tour of Morocco ( recommended - brilliant holiday ) who book you and your travel mates into the locations you land up in en route around Morocco. Arrived at Essouira and went straight to hotel reception where we filled out duplicates of personal details on small pieces of white card to register.

Location couldn't be beaten - right on the Medina walls and very near the sea, Moroccan decoration - riad style central courtyard with 6 floors of rooms decorated like little Moroccan bedsits. My boyfriend and I were delighted that the TV in the room played more than the News 24 channel found in other hotels and spent a pleasurable hour watching 'A Few Good Men' subtitled in Arabic before going out to explore.

But ( and this is a big but ) they have to save money somehow and it was obvious with the level of cleanliness and the standard of breakfast that if you scratch Hotel Sahara on the surface you can find why. The bathroom was inside the bedsit room, you stepped through a blue painted door up a step to find a loo, shower and bidet ( tick ) no loo paper ( no tick ), the sink was broken ( no tick ) and the splash tiles were covered in toothpaste stains, the shower wasn't clean and I found a long brown hair in the sheets of my bed. I wasn't convinced they were laundered and had been recycled for the next guests ( thumbs down on all fronts ). I brushed my teeth using bottled water that night.

Answer ? Go out until 4:00 am clubbing above the most delicious restaurant in Essouria and you won't care....share a room with people who can politely ignore the inevitable toilet sounds that come from Moroccan belly and only drink the hot tea and coffee that is provided with the " breakfast " ( small dry cut up pieces of french bread with scrapes of butter and processed slices of cheese - very poor).

Essouira ?- amazing place. Hotel Sahara ?- would have requested a room change if booking on my own or staying longer than one night....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed here as part of the Travel Talk Moroccan Tours

Good Points

1.Fantastic Location
2.Rooms- Spacious and clean

Bad Points

1. Breakfast was very basic bread and jam with tea and coffee
2.Tired old building
3.No Lift

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I went to Agadir for two weeks from 25 January to 8 February 2008, travelling on my own with relaxation in mind although the trip was to include a stay in Essaouira sometime in between.
After one week in Agadir I headed to Essaouira by Supratours coach, not as luxurious as some reports lead one to believe though.
In Essaouira I stayed at one of Jacks Apartments, Apt 8; this was an impromptu decision and was not arranged by web or e-mail booking which tend to be unreliable. I was fairly disappointed with what I got for €65 per night; I intended to stay three nights but whilst completing the registration papers, which one is obliged to do when moving around Morocco, I was told the one remaining apartment would only be available for two nights but this did not worry me.
After two nights I moved out of Jacks and just for the record, some of the website information was misleading where it is claimed that “stunning views to the sea” could be seen, a description which I am still trying to decipher as I could see the medina wall a few feet away and only about one inch of sea beyond the castellations.
Before vacating Jacks I asked in various hotels for their rates; the Hotel des Iles quoted 900Dh and the Mogador Sofitel €194 (2000Dh). I went into Hotel Sahara which looked an acceptable sort of place and checked out some of the rooms, deciding this would be a good stop for the last night of my stay in Essaouira. I was advised the rate would be 200Dh for the remaining night.
The Sahara is listed as a two star hotel and comprises 60 rooms set on four floors but no lift so this would be unsuitable for disabled people. Attached to the Sahara is Les Filles, a small restaurant and next to this is Le Mechouar, a plush and modern restaurant.
A rather imposing building, it is situated in the medina on Avenue Okba Ibn Nafiaa facing the entrance to Place Chefchaouni and is in walking distance to the Supratours coach station and only a few minutes to the beach.
Rooms have wardrobe space with additional blankets; the living room has a TV, table and chairs and corner seating; the bedroom had two single beds with bedside tables. There was a separate spacious bathroom with all facilities, including surface pipework for novelty value, as though it had just recently been introduced.
The website is in six languages but you must make allowance for the poor translation in parts. Information states the nightly rate is 340Dh for a double room, about €30, probably for peak season. The website also states breakfast is included although none was provided but for 200Dh (less than the website rate) I was not concerned as there are several cafes nearby providing a standard breakfast of French bread, jam, freshly squeezed (or so it appeared) orange juice and mint tea or coffee. I found this to be sufficient to get through the morning although having come from Agadir where the hotels have buffet breakfast, this somehow seemed inadequate. The cost for breakfast was between 13 and 20Dh depending on the cafe.
Internally the hotel has a Moroccan style living room on the ground floor just opposite the reception desk with TV. The decor is unmistakably Moroccan with the usual magnificent tiling and ornate plasterwork throughout. Rooms have bare plaster which has been stippled in a sandy colour and has a mottled effect with Moroccan lampshades on walls and ceiling. Floors are tiled throughout the building although rooms do have rugs. Tiled floors do present the perrenial problem of echoes and noise from rooms above.
As with Jacks, there was no hot water on tap or heating in the external rooms although the shower facility was adequate. The Sahara had the plumbing to cater for hot water but perhaps it had just been turned off as there were very few people staying here. I noticed that some rooms did have wall mounted radiators, these being the rooms which had no external windows and faced into the hotel “courtyard”. The hotel also felt warmer than Jacks as it did not get the cold sea breeze.
I felt safer here than I did in Jacks apartments but there was some heightened noise from the restaurant Le Mechouar next door which had live entertainment later in the evening although this did not go on too late, an ear plug sorted that problem admirably (I only need one as I suddenly went deaf in one ear last year).
Checkout time is noon but luggage can be kept at reception until you are ready to leave.

  • Liked — Friendly, quiet, inexpensive and good location.
  • Disliked — No hot water on tap.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sahara

Address: Av Okba Ibnou Nafiaa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old medina (historic quarter), HOTEL SAHARA is decorated with modern art work and wall murals. It features a panoramic terrace, which overlooks Essaouira’s main beach. Guest rooms at the hotel have a contemporary decor with unique furnishings. Each room has a bathroom, Alarm clock, Bed linen, Free Wi-Fi, Hair dryer, Internet access, Satellite / cable TV, Smoking permitted, Television, Toiletries, Towels. HOTEL SAHARA provides a daily breakfast and a 24-hour front desk with free internet access. It is situated just 3 yards from the main shopping district, Avenue Istiqal. Essaouira Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.