We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low winter prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Morabitine Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Morabitine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Morabitine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Av Mohamed VI & Av Annakhil, El Jadida, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in El Jadida
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Low winter prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There was a special winter rate of 220dh/single ensuite when I rode into El Jadida, so stayed for two nights. Hotel isn't worth much more but 220 was OK. Advertised wifi only works in reception, no repeaters elsewhere. Pool, bar, restaurant, secure parking. Bit of a walk into the older part of town, but exercise is good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    14
    6
    14
See reviews for
12
7
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
El Jadida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Good value for money. Stgrategic location , in the city centre, nice room view facing the sea. Dinner was not bad , meal portion is good for 2-3 small eater ladies.
Could further improve on breakfast - lack of fruits & salad.
Strongly need to improve on extend ing the wifi in the room .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent a week in this hotel during a scientific conference at the university. The hotel is simple but clean and provides more than what its price suggests. The furniture in the room is minimal, the bathroom is good, although not new.

The breakfast is good. The restaurant is a bit more expensive than the booking rate suggests.

Nevertheless, I came across a few shortcomings:
- The night receptionist did not speak a word of English, so getting a glass of water after arrival at around 1 a.m. was difficult. I know, I should speak French.
- The hotel uses an external taxi 'company' for transport to the airport. The owner of this small enterprise was tricky and demanding - and the hotel could not provide an alternative when I requested. Do not accept Haj Mohamed (GSM: 0666.07.47.62) if the hotel books a taxi for you.

In general, the hotel is good, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible - you might have a view to the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

500 DH for one night and breakfast(breakfast was poor but we were almost late so maybe that was the reason). Big room with toilet and shower. Airconditioning was forking fine. not the best view from window. Only 3 channels in TV-arabian language. Nice pool with place to sit. Wifi only next to reception. Concierge speaks english,arabian,french. Bar and restaurant in hotel. Not the best not the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were happy to visit jedida for the first time. we booked to nights at this hotel in advance to avoid problems and a smooth check inn .when we finnaly arrived we were sooo tired. the lady in the reception had a rude attitude before we even introduce ourselves.she was not a service minded.we told her that we have booked and paid for our stay for to night.she said that she didnt find our boking and she does'nt have any access to the system .and that she is waiting for someone to call her to confirm our stay .this tok a very long time.without that she care about us.instead she used the phone the whole time of our waiting to talk with her freind in front of us about personal things .just to irritate us.instead of fiksing our problem.after 1 hour we become irritated and we decided to never come back.
Ps: the breakfast was terrible as the staff, and we desided to eat the breakfast another place the second day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in February 2011. Somewhat concerned by the reputation the place seems to have, but what a pleasant and welcome surprise. Nice, basic room and a great buffet breakfast. The staff were fine, and seemed prepared for some rough treatment from guests, which I witnessed them receiving from one belligerent English speaking punter. Highly embarrassing as my first language is also English.

I really liked the Moroccan 'riad style' interior of the building, with it's central skylight in a quasi modern setting. There was also a very appealing fading grandeur to the place, exemplified also by the uniformed, but ever so slightly scruffy, guy who stood outside the reception entrance for many hours every day.

Making friends with traffic cop on the busy riundabout outside was a great help with parking - he ordered all traffic to stop while I manoeuvred my hire vehicle into an available space.

Don't believe the negative rumours about this hotel. It's fine, with a distinctly Moroccan feel without all the tourist style, 'traditional' trimmings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I would not usually write anything disparaging, everyone has a right to make a living, but this hotel steals it. We arrived with my mother and father and the stench from the room we were offered initially turned my stomach, the next room overlooked a back alley and after much faffing about with a key the third time was acceptable. Only because we were so tired and just wanted to sleep.
So down to the bar, had one G+T, they ran out of gin and in the seven nights we were there they never replaced it.
The food - poor, it boasted 3No restaurants, same menu all 3, just in different locations.
A nightclub, wouldn't know it was closed.
Staff friendliness - hardly, all professed to being unable to speak English, which isn't a problem until you hear them talking to other guests in pretty good English.
I genuinely would advise traveller beware, in fact one useful thing to come from this is that we now have a decent benchmark by which to judge things, ie if it's no worse than Hotel El Morabitine, we can survive it....Just.

Room Tip: Smelly on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Morabitine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Morabitine Hotel

Address: Angle Av Mohamed VI & Av Annakhil, El Jadida, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in El Jadida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Morabitine Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Morabitine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Morabitine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Morabitine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.