We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Le Prince Maurice

Save Saved
You added Constance Le Prince Maurice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Constance Le Prince Maurice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choisy Rd, Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 02300   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent a week at Constance le Prince Maurice and to be honest were a little disappointed.
The grounds are beautifully kept, tropical gardens that are lovely to walk through and look at. The hotel its self looks lovely but the food was the biggest let down.
Or first night we were so tyred from the trip we ordered room service, it took a hour to get 2 pizzas. The breakfast buffet was limited with really not a lot to choose from and the same stuff every day.
The Lagoona restaurant was terrible and after trying it once we never returned for a second meal there. The main restaurant was also disappointing. Food that you would expect to be warm such as poached scallops came out stone cold and other things like a milkshake at lunch you would expect to be cold came out room temp. I would have expected more from a 6 star restaurant. We struggled to find anything on the menu’s that we really enjoyed, some in fact tasted so terrible I had to stop myself from gagging. The presentation was always lovely but you can’t eat the presentation, the chefs should think more about taste than how it looks. The floating restaurant we tried one night, the food here was ok but nothing to rave about, the ambience nice.
The bottled sparkling water was terrible too, tasted like the inside of a plastic container but we had to pay $10 a bottle for the privilege of drinking the most disgusting water I have ever consumed.
I think men having to wear long pants to dinner is stupid, its hot and humid and my poor husband had to wear long pants and be uncomfortably hot while he ate so as not to offend some snooty nosed rich people. Yet at breakfast you have fat old ladies wearing swim suits and nothing else and that seems ok. How does that work?
Our room was nice and big but the bathroom roof had water leaking down from the bathroom above and big water stains. Again I would have expected more from a 6 star place.
The day spa was nice, we visited a few times and enjoyed the treatments.
The snorkelling trip was a bit disappointing, really not a lot to look at. Being able to hire push bikes from the gym was great and we made the most it this a few days taking a ride to some of the local areas.
The staff lacked any warmth and friendliness and were generally quite slow and aloof.
Being at this hotel was kind of like being in a retirement village, not a lot of young people around when we were there, mostly geriatrics and retirees. Its not a hotel I would return to and because of the food being so average not a place I would recommend to family or friends. Disappointing as I have stayed at another of constance hotels that was fantastic so I guess I was expecting the same standard. Definitely not what I would rate a 6 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would first and foremost like to thank you for having spared your valuable time in writing such a long review to share your holiday experience to other travellers on the platform of 'Trip Advisor'.

We do think having received your comments through our internal quality survey which we did send to you after your departure and we are very surprised you did not let us know about your dissatisfaction while being with us. Should you have made these comments whilst you were still at the hotel, it would have given us the opportunity to look into the relevant issues and take necessary actions.

We do value all customer feedback and we believe in continuous striving to always exceed guest's expectations. We do react fast and take immediate actions to remedy any shortcomings in view of improving our service and please our guests.

However, I must say that amongst all guests who did stay at the hotel during the same period, we did receive only positive feedback in regards to our various restaurants and the food quality proposed by our Executive Chef. You may also read other reviews on trip Advisor which I believe are self-explanatory.

The hotel appeals to clients of all group age and our prices are in line with other properties of the same category. Also we do have similar 'dress code' as all 5-star hotels on the island and we do believe it is of symbolic respect towards our esteemed 'high-profile' clientele. Once again, You can also read other reviews whereby we are strongly requested by some of our guests who are travelling worldwide to re-enforce our dress code 'casual but chic'.

It has been a pleasure for me to welcome you as 'prize winners' to discover our property but I am sad that we did not manage to meet your expectations as your holiday experience in our sister hotel in the Maldives. However, if you do reconsider to come back as a normal paying customer, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will be most obliged to assist.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    56
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
342
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed a week here, having come from doing the Garden Route in S Africa the previous week.
It is on the east coast and beautfully located in a shallow bay. It is isolated from real Mauritius, and you would have a mile's walk to the entrance gate. Therefore, eating out of the hotel is challenging, with an expensive taxi bill on top of your meal.
The hotel is really quite small, which suits us. The bedrooms are in villas overlooking lagoons or directly on to the beach. They are all equipped to the highest spec, with every facility you would need.
The hotel itself is mostly open plan with water in channels or pools everywhere. Meals can be eaten under a roof or al fresco.
There are 2 restaurants, L'Archipel, the main one, and a smaller Asian Restaurant which you need to reserve 24 hours in advance. The former has international cuisine with an emphasis on French & Indian food, as well as fish.
For us, it had great food much of the time, but every time we were there was something which just did not come up to the mark, say a particular entree course. I felt L'Archipel was trying a little too hard to be what is is not.
The Asian Restaurant was mostly a Japanese menu, and consistently outstanding. Much better.
Warning: all alcohol in the restaurants is eye-wateringly expensive.
The beach and pool facilities are superb, and there is a feeling of peace and privacy at both. A waiter is available for drinks, and will come along regularly with a face wipe or a cooling sorbet -fantastic....
We took a day's guided tour with a private driver round the most interesting parts of Mauritius, and the hotel organised this very efficiently.
Overall, it was a wonderful week's chill and relaxation, as well as a lot of pampering. Special mention and thanks to 3 of the staff: Roger in the Asian Restaurant, Marjorie at breakfast, and Meera at reception. You were fantastic, and helped make our holiday very special.
Would we go back? Yes, certainly, but not for some years. Mauritius is far away from absolutely anywhere, and a 12 hour flight from Europe. For Glaswegians like us, there's a connecting flight to a European hub to factor in as well.
LPM is not cheap either. Go half board. You'll do yourself a financial favour.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you to have spared your time to write this long review on the platform of 'Trip Advisor' and to share your holiday experience at Constance Le Prince Maurice.

I am happy to know that you did enjoy yourself and we do take note of your constructive comments as we believe in constinously striving to become better.

We thank you for your valued feedback regarding our main restaurant, Archipel as well as our Asian Restaurant. I do hope that you did manage to dine at the floating restaurant, Le Barachois as well. We have well noted your comments regarding the food quality and the prices and we want to assure you that our prices are in line with other properties of the same category, on the island and worldwide.

We will again thank you for your valued feedback and we are happy to know that the team did assist you to meet up your expectations with regards to our service and we can only hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The pictures you see in the glossy brochures are true - it really is paradise. If you want a quiet hotel with a lot of pampering and attentive staff (without being too attentive) - it is for you. The two golf courses are an absolute delight and cater for all abilties - the Legend is quite tight with water and the Links a totally different course (golf buggies are a must) with rolling fairways. These are a real test off the back tees but also very enjoyable from forward tees. Golf is complimentary for residents and staff at the hotel and golf courses soon learn your name and you feel very special wherever you go. The restaurants offer wonderful food and there's a gym to burn off the calories if you eat too much ! You certainly get briliant service from all the staff and having been to Le Prince Maurice and its sister hotel, the Belle Mare Plage on 17 occasions - we know what we're talking about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your comments received on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday whilst also enjoying golf at the Links & Legends courses.

Known as a 'Deluxe Golf Paradise' we have recently come up with a series of privileges to encourage golfers to stay in our hotel where they can balance a a good rest together with their favourite sport.

Your kind words can only be best motivation to our team in always going the extra mile to exceed our guests' expectations and we can only look forward to welcoming you back again for your 18th visit in our properties.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amazing food (especially pastries and fruit at breakfast). Staff was super friendly and helpful. Gorgeous beach and calm blue water. Peaceful yet hip at the same time. Clean, modern decor. We spent half of our holiday here and the rest at the St. Regis in the south part of the island. Stay here unless you like to kitesurf and need to be close to One Eye.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very much thankful to you for having spared your time in sharing your holiday experience to other potential travellers on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We are glad that you do keep good souvenirs of your stay in our hotel and we will be honoured to welcome you back for another ultimate holiday at 'Constance Le Prince Maurice'.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at Le Prince Maurice for the past 11 years and each time we have been thoroughly pampered and spoilt by the hotel management and their staff to all the staff at both golf courses.
We find the chef, Michael Scioli very special, through his attention to detail the worry is taken out of my wife’s garlic allergy and he always provides the most fabulous food.
The hotel’s refurbishment in 2012 has been done to the highest standard expected of a 5 star hotel .
We know modern dress styles are changing, but we did have an issue regarding dress code in the dining room – this has been brought to the attention of the management and we have been assured changes will be made before we return in November.
All in all an amazing holiday resort, well worth a visit, well done Le Prince Maurice.
DJ and PJ

Room Tip: All as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks for having spared your valuable time in writing a review on this site and sharing your holiday experience with other potential travellers.

We are honoured to have you as our repeat guest who choose to come back each year to enjoy a relaxing holiday whilst also playing golf on our two 18-holes golf courses.

We value your comments in regards to the dress code and rest-assured, we have already set a number of measures to have all our guests to adhere to it.

We look forward to you return trip in November 2013 and we will try our best to make it an another memorable stay at Constance Le Prrince Maurice Hotel.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We absolutely love the place, since 2004 we only missed one year. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the excellent food and immaculate service all throughout the hotel and if you are a golfer you would love both the courses.
We are are planning to come back again this year but we need for the following to be addressed:
1. The dress code must be adhered to all through the hotel, specially in the dining room.
2. The service at breakfast in the dining room was very poor.
3. For a 5+ star hotel to charge supplements for food is not the right attitude.

Mr and Mrs EM & FYT

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are happy to note that you did enjoy your stay and the golf during your last stay with us.

We are honoured to have you amongst our esteemed repeat clients who chose to come to stay with us each year and we do value your remarks in regards to the service, food supplements and the dress code.

I wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures and decisions in regards to the points you have raised and will definitely readdress the issue to maintain part of our passion; to respect our guests.

Meanwhile, I look to welcome you soon again for another memorable stay with us in year 2013.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had been to Prince Maurice many years before but had forgotten how nice it was. The place had also recently been refurbished and was clean and stylish. The beach is great, and the water is super warm. Nice pools too. The staff are pretty good, but we had the previous week in the Oberoi where the staff were significantly better, but overall the Prince Maurice is vastly nicer. The watersports staff were particularly lack lustre. We normally stay at Aman hotels, but PM, although not quite in that league, is really very nice. And it is a bit cheaper than an Aman. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at Constance Le Prince Maurice and to share your experience on the site of 'Trip Advisor' to other potential travellers.

Thank you for your kind words in describing our property and we do value your comments in regards to the staff and I can assure you of my personal intervention to get the team of the boat-house to more attentive and always be at the service to our esteemed clientele. As a team, we are 'inspired by passion' and I would like this feeling to prevail amongst all staff members to meet 100% guest satisfaction always.

Thank you once again and I do look forward to your return trip in the future.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Constance Le Prince Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Le Prince Maurice

Also Known As:
Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel Poste De Flacq
Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel
Le Prince Maurice Hotel
Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice Mauritius/Poste De Flacq
Address: Choisy Rd, Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 02300
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Poste De Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Poste De Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Le Prince Maurice 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate romantic hideaway, where stunning architectural design meets relaxed luxury. Step into this high functioning deluxe paradise, and choose from one of the 64 Junior suites, 12 Family suites, 12 Villas or the sumptuous Princely suite. Revel in the intimate and secluded setting, pamper yourself at the renowned Sisley spa and Spa de Constance, then enjoy the exceptional international cuisine created by our chefs from around the world. Families enjoy the beach-side villas and complimentary children's club 'Constance Kids' Club', while golf fans can retreat to our 2 18-hole championship golf courses. Le Prince Maurice is part of our Ultimate Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Prestigia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Le Prince Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Le Prince Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.