We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Le Prince Maurice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Constance Le Prince Maurice to your Saves list
Constance Le Prince Maurice
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choisy Rd, Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 02300   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CONSTANCE HONEYMOON OFFER
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We absolutely love the place, since 2004 we only missed one year. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the excellent food and immaculate service all throughout the hotel and if you are a golfer you would love both the courses.
We are are planning to come back again this year but we need for the following to be addressed:
1. The dress code must be adhered to all through the hotel, specially in the dining room.
2. The service at breakfast in the dining room was very poor.
3. For a 5+ star hotel to charge supplements for food is not the right attitude.

Mr and Mrs EM & FYT

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are happy to note that you did enjoy your stay and the golf during your last stay with us.

We are honoured to have you amongst our esteemed repeat clients who chose to come to stay with us each year and we do value your remarks in regards to the service, food supplements and the dress code.

I wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures and decisions in regards to the points you have raised and will definitely readdress the issue to maintain part of our passion; to respect our guests.

Meanwhile, I look to welcome you soon again for another memorable stay with us in year 2013.

Best regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    24
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
310
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had been to Prince Maurice many years before but had forgotten how nice it was. The place had also recently been refurbished and was clean and stylish. The beach is great, and the water is super warm. Nice pools too. The staff are pretty good, but we had the previous week in the Oberoi where the staff were significantly better, but overall the Prince Maurice is vastly nicer. The watersports staff were particularly lack lustre. We normally stay at Aman hotels, but PM, although not quite in that league, is really very nice. And it is a bit cheaper than an Aman. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at Constance Le Prince Maurice and to share your experience on the site of 'Trip Advisor' to other potential travellers.

Thank you for your kind words in describing our property and we do value your comments in regards to the staff and I can assure you of my personal intervention to get the team of the boat-house to more attentive and always be at the service to our esteemed clientele. As a team, we are 'inspired by passion' and I would like this feeling to prevail amongst all staff members to meet 100% guest satisfaction always.

Thank you once again and I do look forward to your return trip in the future.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking to be totally spoilt and pampered The Prince Maurice Hotel is the place to go.
The place is Paradise with a team of the most highly experienced staff, who are discreet unobtrusive in the most attentive manner.
We can not speak highly enough of them and we can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks for describing Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel and your holiday experience in such lovely words on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We are thankful to you for having chosen to spend your holidays in our property and we are delighted to know that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Guest satisfaction is the ultimate goal for our team and we do make it our duty to assist you in the best possible way we can in meeting and even exceeding their expectations.

We do hope to be honoured by your next stay within our hotel establishment and we will try our best to make it another ultimate experience at 'Constance Le Prince Maurice.'

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hi All , We stayed in this hotel for a week - the hotel is really a 5 star + hotel - the rooms are gorgeous ! The Beach is beautiful . The only thing that might worry you is the price - the hotel is overpriced - Mauritius is the place that doesn't cost so much money ! there is nothing to do . The prices at the restaurant are sky high and you are paying extra 15% VAT on top of the prices .
You definitely should not go there unless you can afford to spend about $3000 per week for 2 adults - just for food and drinks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your sharing your holiday views on the platform of 'Trip Advisor'.

We do thank you for your valuable comments.

We do hope that you did enjoy your stay even though if you feel that we are overpriced.

We do feature ourself to be a 6-star hotel property and our pricing strategy is in-line with other similar properties worldwide appealing to a special guest profile who is looking for an ultimate holiday experience. We recently revised all our prices for the different room categories and the different services that we feature to be competitive with other luxury hotels and resorts.

We do look forward to welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

With kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Le Prince Maurice has finally achieved its potential of being what it previously aspired to be-namely the leading luxury hotel in Mauritius. In an idyllic location about an hour's drive from the airport, PM has everything the discerning guest could wish for. Following a major upgrade, the suites are excellently-appointed with everything from superfast and free wifi (finally!) to a Nespresso machine to a pillow menu. With a ratio of 330 staff to 180 guests, every whim is catered for. The food is consistently high-quality, the chef will make you anything you fancy, the breakfast buffet being worthy of special mention, where any sort of eggs, pancakes and waffles are prepared freshly in front of you. The local staff are highly-trained, smiley and can't do enough for you. Obviously, this comes at a price for a carefree holiday in the sun. I really don't think PM can be beaten.

Room Tip: Any suite near the recently-added second pool is well worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We are thankful to your comments received on the 'Trip Advisor' site.

Your kind words are no doubt the drive factor to motivating the team in always going the extra mile to delight our repeat guests whom we do consider to be part of the family.

We did a soft refurbishment in view of bringing in a 'face-lift' to the property and specially for those like yourself who do choose to come back each year to celebrate Christmas and new year with us and I am happy to know that you were pleased by these changes.

We can only thank you to be an esteemed ambassador of 'Constance Le Prince Maurice' and we look forward to welcoming you soon again in December 2013.

Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in september and whilst there are undoubtedly many aspects of the hotel which are fantastic the following issues were frustrating:

1. Service - at breakfast and dinner we found the service at times painfully slow. Having said this, all other aspects of the service were second to none and the front of house staff were particularly good.

2. Food - the Sunday buffet dinner was terrible and the a la carte menu was a mix of good, average and poor. The food is not anywhere close to Michelin standard as others have said in their reviews.

3. Building works - before we booked we were aware that building works were scheduled to finish a week before we arrived. We e mailed the hotel to double check when the works would be finished and we were told that the "soft refurbishment works" would be finished in advance of our stay. The works were not finished when we arrived and they were more significant than we were led to believe. Nevertheless, the builders on site were very courteous and polite and the fact that a number of rooms were not occupied meant that the hotel was not at capacity.

Would we return, probably not but if the food and waiter service was better we'd certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for having shared your holiday experience to other potential travellers on this platform.

We indeed re-opened the hotel on the 01st of September after the 2-months refurbishment and there were still some areas where we had to do some 'fine-tuning'.

We have taken good note in regards to your comments about the food and the service and rest-assured, we have taken necessary measures to review the general standard to meet the guest's expectations.

At Constance Le Prince Maurice we strive to keep a very high standard of service and I acknowledge that the few times there was a failure in delivery of such.

Once again, my Team and I apologise for any all the shortcomings and sincerely request your reconsideration to allow us to remedy the errors in future.

Yours sincerely
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have travelled fairly extensively and I have to say it doesn't get much better than this. We have travelled to Mauritius several times and it was my wife's wish to celebrate her 50th Birthday in Mauritius on 20 December 2012. Le Prince Maurice turned out to be the perfect venue. With immediate family and some close friends we had a superb time. The Management and staff made everything extra special. From the luxurious accommodation to fine dining at its best to the first class facilities including spa, pools, beach and water sports, one couldn't ask for more. This is a very brief report and one could write an essay about this stunning place. This felt like 6 star! We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Le Prince Maurice, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks to have taken the time to share your holiday experience on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.
We were indeed honoured to have had you and the family to spend your holidays at Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel during the festivity period in December 2012 and making it more special with the 50th birthday celebration of your wife.
We are all the more happy to know that you did enjoy the different facilities that we offer hence making the overall stay memorable.
We look forward to your return trip in the near future.
Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Constance Le Prince Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Le Prince Maurice

Address: Choisy Rd, Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 02300
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Poste De Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Le Prince Maurice 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate romantic hideaway, where stunning architectural design meets relaxed luxury. Step into this high functioning deluxe paradise, and choose from one of the 64 Junior suites, 12 Family suites, 12 Villas or the sumptuous Princely suite. Revel in the intimate and secluded setting, pamper yourself at the renowned Sisley spa and Spa de Constance, then enjoy the exceptional international cuisine created by our chefs from around the world. Families enjoy the beach-side villas and complimentary children's club 'Constance Kids' Club', while golf fans can retreat to our 2 18-hole championship golf courses. Le Prince Maurice is part of our Ultimate Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Le Prince Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel Poste De Flacq
Le Prince Maurice Hotel
Constance Le Prince Maurice Mauritius/Poste De Flacq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Le Prince Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.