We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there anywhere better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% plus half board
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is there anywhere better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from an eleven night stay at Le Saint Geran. This was our third time there and won't be our last.

There are some reviews that refer to the hotel looking tired, even out-dated, so we were a little concerned that "paradise" had lost its way. Not at all. From the moment we stepped on to the bridge to the entrance of the hotel and welcomed by a gong and a number of hotel staff, including management, we knew we had made the right decision to come again. The hotel is about to celebrate its 38th year but it is still the benchmark for all other hotels to aspire to.

The service can not be bettered. All staff - waiter, beach attendant or butler - are genuinely courteous and attentive without being over-bearing. They clearly love working there and many of the staff have been there for many years. The caddy master at the golf course has been there 41 years; yes, before the hotel was opened.

The location is beautiful and the rooms are of the highest quality with every facility you could want. The food in the main restaurant is very good, although the buffet is a little "samey". Management acknowledge this and there were signs of them introducing little touches to make sure that each evening there was something different - difficult bearing in mind we were there for 11 days.The Rasoi by Vineet and PRIME are both superb and worth a visit for that special occasion.

The evening entertainment is excellent. The "Famous 9" band play music from all eras and their rendition of "Samba Pa Ti" by Santana is spine-tingling!

If you like an aperitif before your meal and a bottle of wine with it, be prepared for the bill! This is not a criticism of the hotel, since alcohol in this part of the world is very expensive. But eh, you're on holiday - enjoy it!

We had 11 fantastic days and we were sad to leave but as our butler, Nasser, said "Don't be sad, be happy, because you can look forward to coming back". How right he was - we most certainly will be back and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Get and Ocean Front suite. Tell me a better feeling than opening the shutters to see the glittering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Edward W,
We are very grateful you took the time to share your recent experience of our property with us. We have celebrated last week our 38th anniversary in style and after so many years, your kind comments are very encouraging.
Our employees take great pride in providing a personalized yet discreet service and I am glad you could experience it firsthand.
Thank you for choosing us. Ramesh, Nasser, “The Famous 9” and all of us are looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
212
336
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel more or less every year for the past 15 years. It had the deserved reputation as one of the best Hotels in the Indian Ocean, and frankly one of the very best resort hotels anywhwere in the World. In truth we have found the Hotel to be in noticeable, if genteel, decline over the past few years. Thankfully there were ample signs on our recent stay to suggest that this corrosive trend has been stemmed and is in the process of being reversed. Modest, but well targeted, investment in room decoration, food quality in La Terrasse, and soft furnishings in public areas have made a big difference. The visibility and engagement of the (relatively new) management team, Charles and Jerome, is also a plus. Needless to say the Staff and their commitment to outstanding service remains the resort's biggest asset. Whatever the ups and downs of the last year this remains a shining constant. Compared with 15 years ago there are now a number of outstanding luxury resorts to choose from in Mauritius. The "Grande Dame of the Indian Ocean" however retains it's own particular ambience and charm. These qualities now appear to be in safe hands

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Kenneth A,

We would like to thank you for your really great comment about your stay at One & Only Le Saint Géran. Thank you very much for your trust in our services over the past 15 years!

Your positive comments are extremely encouraging. Our small investment is on-going as we have just started receiving new uniforms and more improvements are due in the months to come.

I am please to read that according to you, The Grande Dame of the Indian Ocean retains its own particular ambiance and charm.

Be reassured that your positive comments will be shared with all our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back in September 2014 if not earlier!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 5th September 2013 to the 12th and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is perfectly located with the ocean nice and calm. The thing that made our stay superb, besides the high-quality rooms, was the staff.They were excellent in all respects. Treated us like royalty but with a sense of down-to-earth, that is, they did not over do it. They were friendly, professional and extremely helpful.

The one thing we were very impressed with, is that every member of the staff we dealt with, be it in the reception, concierge, restaurant staff, beach staff etc. - they always greeted you by name Mr and Mrs etc. as if we had been staying there for months.

The food was awesome as well. Well prepared and very tasty. Breakfast had a nice selection of hot and cold foods - I don't think we ever had a better breakfast at any of our other stays elsewhere. Dinner also had a very nice selection and the chefs were always ready to make something special for you, if you wanted. The only downside of the dinner service was that they did not have many egg-free (vegetarian) offerings. So Le Saint Geran - please increase your egg-free desserts...

The kids-only club was amazing. All our children wanted to do was go there, which was great as it allowed us some opportunity.

Beach was nice as well. Snorkeling was a 20m swim in and there were loads of fish and other creatures.

Overall though, our stay was excellent and we will definitely going to go back and the next time we intend to stay longer.

A very big thank you to all the staff but especially:

Balram (on the beach - our son adopted him as his uncle),
Luchmee & the one other gentleman whom we don't know your name (Breakfast - for recognising we were vegetarian and arranging for egg-less pancakes and cake),
Brindha (for just being Brindha and entertaining or sons),
Doorgha & another gentleman whom we also didn't get his name (Dinner service - for all your excellent service and friendliness) and
Ashna and the other ladies of the kids only club.

We will definitely be back...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 145. It was ideally located as it was only 10min from the beach with its own hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear M&L_ZA,

What a lovely review! I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely vacation and this mainly due to our excellent staff’s approach. Attention to detail is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we have exceeded your expectation. I will share your nice comments with our team and recognize individually those that have gone an extra mile to create your perfect vacation.

Lutchmee, Balram, Brindha, Doorgha & the entire team of One&Only Le Saint Géran look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadaques, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We loved every minute we spent at the St Geran. The staff could not have been more helpful and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Everybody is welcoming from the moment you arrive, even the gardeners smile and say hello. The rooms are fantastic with a walk in closet for your clothes, a really good size bathroom and of course a room that looks out to the beautiful sea. My mornings started with a swim in the spa lap pool, the serenity and peace of the spa is outstanding, you swim towards the mountains. It is a really good length lap pool at 18m. Then a dip in the sea before showering down for breakfast, which is a veritable feast. You can either help yourself from the buffet or staff will bring you whatever you would like to eat/drink. There is so much to do at the St Geran, that we need to go back and do all the things we didn't manage to fit in. Every kind of water sport is at your disposal, the Spa has a wide range of classes you can attend or you can go and have private training to keep you fit. We danced to the amazing resident band, I reckon I danced more in the week we stayed than I have in the last 5 years! Our trip was organised by Susie Freeman Travel, from the moment we were greeted at the airport and presented with a lovely beach basket.to the moment we left we were looked after brilliantly. I could not recommend her company more highly if you are thinking of taking a holiday in Mauritius or South Africa. I am still buzzing from the week away - quite the best holiday ever and YES I would love to go back there.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room near the beach, perfect to walk out and onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Travelled here with Susie Freeman Travel and without doubt it was the best holiday we've had in years. The hotel is beautiful on its own peninsula with water sports on tap - tennis and golf too.
A lovely spa and gym and attentive service at all times - day or night.
The in house band were spectacular and got my husband up and dancing every night - a minor miracle..
Food was delicious with the choice of 2 other restaurants as well.
A perfect holiday and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor ocean view suites - a little away from the main bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jezzshropshire,

Many thanks for your really great review about your stay at Le Saint Geran!
We continuously strive to offer everlasting memories to our guest and we are pleased that your recent stay with us was “the best holidays you have had in years”.
Our Resident band, “Famous 9” are celebrating their 27th anniversary at Le Saint Geran and are able to take you through 40 years of music within less than an hour! They look forward to welcoming you back on the dance floor with new tunes for your next visit!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had high hopes for staying here as I booked through Susie Freeman Travel who have a tremendous reputation for quality of service both here and in Mauritius. In fact, I found that carrying the wonderful basket I was given on arrival made the smiles that much brighter. Well, all I can say is that everything was beyond anything I had expected. I had a junior suite, but there was bags of room and a menu of pillows to choose from if I wanted something firmer or softer! A personal butler saw to any details including unpacking and arranging for my evening dress to be ironed. I could walk out of my room into a garden with hammocks strung between palm trees - perfect for an afternoon snooze - with the turquoise sea and white sandy beach just beyond. The staff were excellent at anticipating needs and I felt they really wanted me to enjoy my holiday and relax. I did not use the Spa so cannot comment, but other guests were very enthusiastic. The water sports, tennis, golf, snorkelling all excellent and in the evening the band kept us all dancing under the stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a special hotel which was booked through and recommended by Susie Freeman Travel. The location is spectacular and the hotel lived up to all our expectations. We went as part of a large party but the hotel was big enough that if you wanted your own space it was not hard to find. The facilities are excellent and I really enjoyed the golf course and Ramesh who has been in charge of the course management for apparently 41 years. The water sports are second to none and if you like anything to do with sailing hobbie cats, water skiing etc there is a beautiful and safe lagoon as well as open sea inside the reef if you are more experienced. The staff are all there to please and not one with anything but a smile. Jerome the House manager always seemed to be around checking that all was going well.(there are even members of staff on hand patrolling the beach to clean your sunglasses, which must be a first for me). The food was good but I did tire a little of the Buffet which was a bit repetitive. I recomend that you try the a la carte which is always available in the evenings although not promoted by the hotel as far as I could see. We will definately be coming back and I cant see how you can leave this hotel feeling dissappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Poste De Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in the silver sands of its own private peninsula. Its stately gates welcome guests into a Mauritian garden paradise of friendly calm and easy luxury. - Surrounded by fabulous coral reefs and clear waters - Located between a beautiful sheltered lagoon and the warm Indian Ocean - Includes a crescent-shaped stretch of stunning white sand beach - Ideal climate year-round - The resort is approximately one hour drive from the International Airport (MRU). Transfers can be arranged with One&Only Le Saint Geran's private chauffeur or by helicopter. ACCOMMODATION 162 suites and one villa with exquisite taste and grand opulence blend with state-of-the-art technology. All rooms feature a private terrace or balcony facing the ocean or lagoon, and a back door opening onto a tropical garden. Spacious bathrooms are beautifully appointed, with great cascading showers. All guests enjoy personalised 24-hour butler service. ACTIVITIES AND EXCURSIONS - Snorkel or dive through a string of reefs and crystal clear waters - Water-skiing, wakeboarding, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle, hobie cats, snorkelling trips, kayaks, laser sailing, pedal boats, windsurfing and glass-bottom boat trips - The lush Gary Player 9-hole golf course, situated in the resort's grounds, has its own Golf Academy - KidsOnly and Teens Club offer exciting complimentary activities DINING Restaurants offer an array of local and international cuisine - as well as a variety of special dining venues, including: - PRIME Contemporary Grill serves only the finest Australian Angus Wagyu beef, fresh seafood and local produce - The Indian Pavilion offers modern Indian delicacies - La Terrasse, an all day dining, is located by the pool with beautiful ocean views, offering local and international specialities - Enchanting and ultimately private One&Only dinner on the beach - The One&Only designed Tipi is the perfect venue for private dining and special occasions HEALTH AND WELL-BEING Choose from an extensive menu of traditional and contemporary treatments inspired by the local surroundings at One&Only Spa. - One&Only Spa is a discreet sanctuary with its own private lap pool and a tranquil outdoor spa pavilion - PEDI:MANI:CURE Studio by renowned Bastien Gonzalez. Upon request pedicure can be enjoyed on the beach - Cutting-edge hair salon - The Fitness Centre features Kinesis™ and Technogym(R) equipment - Secluded spots are ideal for yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Poste De Flacq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.