We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   , Pointe de Flacq, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% plus half board
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pointe de Flacq
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
761 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,371 helpful votes
“Sheer Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Despite facing competition from newer luxury hotels on the island the Le Saint Geran remains the hotel to beat. We were surprised to find that many of the guests we met at the hotel were repeat customers who have stayed several times - loyalty such as this is always a good sign especially to ourseves and this was our first visit.
The hotel is set in very large grounds, the gardens are mature because it takes years to establish. Because the hotel was one of the first on the island they picked a prime location with the best beach. Rooms are large and spacious, you could argue that they could be more modern but I like the way they are.
Where the hotel excels is in their service levels. Although this was our first visit, the staff made us feel like we belonged and that we had been there many times.
We travel and stay at good hotels often, and the Le Saint Geran is up there with the very best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    123
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
238
363
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our suite was on the first floor with lovely views over the lagoon.
The staff were both friendly and helpful and made our stay.
The golf course although 9 holes was challenging and on most days we almost had it to ourselves .
Food was first class but the wine although good quality was expensive.
We hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back after a night here for a weekend getaway.....and it's not all that it has been built up to be.

The hotel is VERY quiet, it was at 50% occupancy, service was OK (as like everywhere in Mauritius, they do try hard, BUT they just lack basic personal service skills).

Had Sunday brunch today at the La Terrasse restaurant by the pool.....again, service was OK, and food was ok.

Next time i come here, i want to taste "Rasoi by Veenet" which i hear is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Something in a total different class. See can see 5 star luxury plus at this hotel. Everything we saw was amazing, but also at a huge price difference and quite expensive. For some romantic couple anniversary this is the place to be!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights for our Honeymoon, and could not recommend the One & Only any more highly. The resort is in a beautiful location and has a selection of luxurious facilities. The staff were the most attentive and helpful I have ever has the pleasure of meeting, nothing was too much trouble and they consistently went the extra mile to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. The food was fantastic, the watersports brilliant and my husband very much enjoyed the golf course.

The only small negative was the high price of suntan lotion, paracetamol, etc, in the hotel shop -However, I guess this is to be expected in such an exclusive resort! We quickly learnt that the nearby town is only a short taxi drive away, and that this was quite a nice morning out and a far more cost effective way of picking up a few little essentials. The hotel were happy to book a taxi for us and give us directions of where to go.

Thanks One & Only for a beautiful Honeymoon, we hope to come back soon and are looking at booking a holiday to another of your beautiful resorts this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dear All

Most of the reviewers in here are tourists from overseas countries who stayed at the One&Only Le Saint Geran. I, as a local Mauritian, wanted to share the bad experience that my family and I encountered while staying at this hotel. We checked in this hotel on the 10th of February 2013 to celebrate Chinese New Year. We were excited to take a mini break from our daily lives. The welcoming party was great and everything seems to be perfect. The dinner buffet at La Terrasse was yummy and lavish. However, in the morning of the 11th of February 2013, our nightmare began. It was around 7 am when a Guest Relation Officer came to our room to advise us that a coconut had fallen from a coconut tree and had broken the rear windshield of our car which was parked on the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran. Please be advised that the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran has plenty of coconut trees and you have to be beware of them. We could not believe that this coconut had fallen off from a tree and happened to break the windshield of our car. It was only the Guest Relations Officer who managed to help us a bit. He advised us that we have to go to the nearby police station to declare this accident. It took us almost half a day to do all those paperworks for this accident. Meanwhile, at the hotel, neither of the top Management had the descency to advise us what are the requirements needed when such an accident happened on the premises of the hotel. We were not even offered any apologies on that same day. We were at a complete lost what to do with the car and what the hotel was planning to do and how would they help us? The insurance company which takes care of our car advised us that it's only the insurance company of the hotel which needs to be involved in this matter. It's only the following day that we went to see the Guest Relations Officer again and asked him that we need to see someone from the top management to help us since we couldn't drive back home in this damaged car and it was also heavily pouring as well. The top management sent their Director of Finance to talk to us about the steps to be taken in this matter. However, todate, things are still running very slowly since the Director of Finance have to liaise with their head office and insurance company which is located in Florida and there is a time difference of -9 hours between Mauritius and Florida, USA.

We are very upset about this whole loss and how One&Only Le Saint Geran is very slow in taking decisions since they have to refer back to their head office in the States. I just wonder if we were not locals and we were tourists instead would One&Only take this matter differently?

Sorry to say, I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Le Saint Geran. I regret to hear about your experience which is certainly not consistent with the standards for which the St Geran is known and which our loyal guests often compliment us on.

Your stay coincided with a rainy spell of weather during which we received torrential rains with windy conditions that caused major flooding in many areas of Mauritius and damage to homes around the island. We take great care to maintain our hotel buildings and property, and the coconut in our gardens falling on your car – could unfortunately not have been predicted. This is the first time we have ever experienced this.

I believe it is important for the Trip advisor reader and what your review fails to state is how the matter was handled on Thursday when your mail reached my office. I think it is only fair to give the viewers the full and complete picture. I was actually surprised to see this review as I was already personally handling the matter with you including getting your car repaired by the dealership of your choice and setting up a rental car for you during the time of repairs.
All expenses were handled by the hotel, as this unfortunate incident was indeed our responsibility.

One&Only Le Saint Geran operates under the highest levels of integrity and professionalism and your remarks regarding local versus tourists is simply uncalled for.

Personal Regards,
Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel with lots of amenities. Lovely quiet location looking onto the Indian Ocean. Hotel is one of the best I have been to in the world. Staff very friendly and very eager to help. Meals are to die for with lots of choices from all the restaurants. First time I tried Sea Urchins. Hotel has excellent entertainment. Your can relax on the lovely beach at one side and on the other is a lovely lagoon. Fishing, snorkling, golfing & tennis are all on hand.The hotel has its own Helipad where you can arrive or be taken to the airport, lovely experience to see parts of the island. I want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe de Flacq
1.1 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
35.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
LUX Grand Gaube
LUX Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 2,747 reviews
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
2.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: , Pointe de Flacq, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Pointe de Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pointe de Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in the silver sands of its own private peninsula. Its stately gates welcome guests into a Mauritian garden paradise of friendly calm and easy luxury. - Surrounded by fabulous coral reefs and clear waters - Located between a beautiful sheltered lagoon and the warm Indian Ocean - Includes a crescent-shaped stretch of stunning white sand beach - Ideal climate year-round - The resort is approximately one hour drive from the International Airport (MRU). Transfers can be arranged with One&Only Le Saint Geran's private chauffeur or by helicopter. ACCOMMODATION 162 suites and one villa with exquisite taste and grand opulence blend with state-of-the-art technology. All rooms feature a private terrace or balcony facing the ocean or lagoon, and a back door opening onto a tropical garden. Spacious bathrooms are beautifully appointed, with great cascading showers. All guests enjoy personalised 24-hour butler service. ACTIVITIES AND EXCURSIONS - Snorkel or dive through a string of reefs and crystal clear waters - Water-skiing, wakeboarding, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle, hobie cats, snorkelling trips, kayaks, laser sailing, pedal boats, windsurfing and glass-bottom boat trips - The lush Gary Player 9-hole golf course, situated in the resort's grounds, has its own Golf Academy - KidsOnly and Teens Club offer exciting complimentary activities DINING Restaurants offer an array of local and international cuisine - as well as a variety of special dining venues, including: - PRIME Contemporary Grill serves only the finest Australian Angus Wagyu beef, fresh seafood and local produce - The Indian Pavilion offers modern Indian delicacies - La Terrasse, an all day dining, is located by the pool with beautiful ocean views, offering local and international specialities - Enchanting and ultimately private One&Only dinner on the beach - The One&Only designed Tipi is the perfect venue for private dining and special occasions HEALTH AND WELL-BEING Choose from an extensive menu of traditional and contemporary treatments inspired by the local surroundings at One&Only Spa. - One&Only Spa is a discreet sanctuary with its own private lap pool and a tranquil outdoor spa pavilion - PEDI:MANI:CURE Studio by renowned Bastien Gonzalez. Upon request pedicure can be enjoyed on the beach - Cutting-edge hair salon - The Fitness Centre features Kinesis™ and Technogym(R) equipment - Secluded spots are ideal for yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Pointe De Flacq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.