We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not the best (anymore) : pros & cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% plus half board
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not the best (anymore) : pros & cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Let me first introduce you by telling that I am a seasoned traveller and stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels of the world. When travelling, I like to pick my hotels by using websites such as Kiwicollection, Conde Nast, Travel & Leisure. For our Mauritius holiday, we decided to stay in One & Only for a couple of nights, followed by the Four Seasons (FS) for 6 nights. I advice everybody to try at least 2 hotels in Mauritius so that you can take in some different scenery. We preferred the Four Seasons hotel over the One & Only hotel, mainly because the One & Only is an older hotel and because the Four Seasons hotel offers villa accommodation instead of rooms. I can see how the One & Only must once have been the Grand Dame of Mauritius, while it is now surpassed by new hotels such as the Prince Maurice, Oberoi, and the Four Seasons (offering a more luxurious experience). Nevertheless, I am convinced that a total, innovative renovation of the resort could give back its status as the top hotel of Mauritius.

One remark before rating the hotel (I wrote the same in my review about the four Seasons) : I have been to the Seychelles, Maldives, and now Mauritius. While Mauritius is very nice, I have to agree with many other reviews on the internet : it is not in the same league of the stunningly beautiful and tropically exotic Seychelles and the Maldives. The latter islands have truly the most beautiful, powdery white sand beaches of the world, and are covered by a dense, jungle-like vegetation (with lots of palm trees), while I found the beaches at Mauritius nothing to write home about, and the island vegetation rather sparse (except for the implanted palm trees at the hotels you will stay). Nevertheless, we truly enjoyed our time in Mauritius, but we probably will not come back.

What we did like :
-the staff was amazingly friendly, including the manager (first name “Xavier”) who was there to greet me on arrival.
-while the room was “old”, it was not worn down at all as stated by other reviewers. Nevertheless, they are in need of a little (contemporary) revamp. A big plus of the rooms is they are almost on the beach.
-lots of complimentary on-site activities
-while the resort is on the east coast, you still can witness amazing sunsets (over the lagoon) at the top of the private peninsula that they are located on. We really enjoyed that a lot !!!
- halfboard is complimentary when you book through their website.

What we did not like (with some suggestions for the hotel owners) :
- the beach. While the beach (and coconut groove) is nice, it is not out of this world as described by some others. There are no waves, the water does not have an incredible blue shade, and the sand is not super-soft nor powdery. It is a nice beach, but we should have lowered our expectations about it before arrival.
- the prices are exorbitant. The hotel rates are among the highest of the island. While I do not mind paying a lot for a hotel room, this is problematic to me at the One & Only because the other top hotels (like Four Seasons) on the island will offer you a better product for the same amount of money. As long as the hotel is not renovated, I should suggest that they somehow reduce their rates.
- dinner options : halfboard (complimentary, and highly appreciated) entitles you to dinner in one restaurant (switching between a la carte and buffet). Food was good, but did not really impress me. There are also 2 other restaurants on site, but you will have to pay to eat there (half board entitles you to a 20 euro discount per person). I think it would be better if half board would entitle you to eat in at least 2 of the 3 restaurants, so that you would have more dinner options.
- they offer airport transfers for the outrageous price of 140 euro one way. Just know that you can also arrange a taxi for a fixed rate of 35 euros one way by booking Taxis Mauritius online (we were very happy with their service).
- when they ever renovate the hotel, I would advice them to make some hot tubes near the swimming pool, which would be an added bonus on the more chilly afternoons/evenings.
- a band is playing at the main restaurant until 11 pm, so request a room away from the restaurant if you want to enjoy a quiet evening at your room.

In summary : a 5-star hotel, once the Grand Dame of Mauritius. The hotel lost 2 stars in my rating because :
- Mauritius did not impress me a paradise island (for that reasons alone, I would recommend travelling to Seychelles or Maldives, which will blow you away).
- They need to lower their prices as long as they do not renovate/revamp the hotel.

I recommend the Four Seasons hotel over the One & Only hotel if you travel to Mauritius.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
212
336
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is a truly amazing place. The architecture of the hotel is just charming, all the bridges, nooks and corners, paths, bars, restaurants, not to mention the SPA and the amazing room. We got an apartment that had 80 square metres and had a bathroom which I consider the pinnacle of bathrooms. Honestly, I did not feel like leaving it at all :)
The food was excellent, both international and creole.
Much as I enjoyed the luxury, I am not used to it at all, but the staff made me feel like I deserved it every day.
I could live there. Honestly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a holiday of a lifetime for us in many ways and for many reasons and it certainly lived up to expectations!

The staff were wonderful such lovely people friendly, efficient nothing was too much trouble and all the little touches made it even more special for us, we celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary out there and we had so many surprises all day, starting with breakfast on the beach with champane! a lovely fruit cocktail on the beach later in the evening we booked Rasoi to celebrate and instead of being in the restaurant they had put us on the private jetty for our meal with beautiful flowers on the table and our own waiter it was wonderful.

There are too many staff to mention but from the Beachboys to the Barstaff we couldn't praise them enough.

The food was amazing and couldn't be faulted. along with the entertainment everynight from 'The Famous Nine'
I would certainly go again!
The only down side was the drinks are very expensive.

Room Tip: We had a terrace room overlookign the beach - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have travelled to many places and hotels and I have to say this Hotel and its staff top all I have ever experienced. What a place! Lovely welcome (not fussy and OTT), beautiful room (pick one away from the lobby to avoid noise and get a seaview), friendly staff (cannot do enough for you and know when to back off), amazing food (totally stunning in presentation, service and flavour). Seriously, my Hubs and I are in total joy with our mini-break weekend and are saving up to come back again asp. There is a place called paradise and this is it. Deffo bring your own sundowners though - alcohol is exxcy and does add a bit extra to your bill. Perfect break :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at Le Saint Geran. The location and property are superb, as is the food and facilities, but the outstanding achievement of this resort is the service. The staff are wonderful. Polite, professional, friendly, attentive and thoughtful. We have never stayed anywhere where we were made to feel more welcome and "special". We would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean rather than the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Graham C.,

First of all and with great pleasure, we would like to extend again our most sincere best wishes for your 25th Wedding Anniversary.

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the “professional, friendly, attentive and thoughtful” service provided by our dedicated team members.

I will share your feedback with our respective team and leaders who I am sure appreciate your comments on a memorable stay.

Thank you again, I look forward to seeing you when you are back in Mauritius.

Best regards,

Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Slope, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed a week at Le Saint Geran as part of our honeymoon and we will never forget the impeccable service that we experienced here. We felt we were truly spoiled at this hotel. The hotel staff interacted with us and we loved to get to know them. Our favorite thing to do was to sit and watch the sun set at the "Sunset Lounge". There were very few guests that took advantage of this when we were visiting, but it is something not to be missed!

Many reviews already mention the high alcohol prices and we also found that disappointing, and if we had known better we would have picked up some alcohol beforehand. The bottles of wine were very expensive, if they had been slightly less we would have bought a bottle every night instead of limiting ourselves to a glass, maybe 2 a night.

The rooms are very large and could use a slight upgrade, we noticed the ceiling fan and the dining table in our room both needed to be replaced. However, the staff at this hotel was so amazing, that the quality of our ceiling fan did not matter to us. We highly recommend this hotel for honeymooners.

This hotel really spoils its honeymooners!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived after a pretty awful night flight with Air Mauritius, but as many have said as soon as we got to Le Saint Geran, all was forgotten. After being greeted by number of staff with a welcome drink and cold towel, we knew we were going to be well looked after.

We were shown to our room, on the ground floor, overlooking the sea, a lovely room, very spacious, great walk in wardrobe with plenty of space for everything, a safe and a few other useful bits an bobs. The bathroom was perfect, a walk in shower and a separate bath, dual sinks and an abundance of towels and robes. No bubble bath, just oil and salts so glad I took my own. But all shower gel, shampoo etc there.

A well equiped mini bar, coffee machine, daily fruit, water were great, we took a few bottles of wine a bottle of gin as heard how expensive drinks were, it was nice have a glass before dinner on our terrace, butlers were more than happy to bring extra ice or lemon etc.

The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and within 24 hours everyone knew our name and greeted us wherever we went. The facilities were excellent, we can understand how so many of the guests we met never left the hotel and came back year after year. The hotel is not modern like some we saw (long beach) but it has charm that you can't beat. I don't think it looked tired at all. So if they are planning a refurb, it can only improve something that is already pretty wonderful.

The food was very good, I do tend to get bored of buffets, but was pleased that they mixed it up with some ala carte dining and some buffet evenings. Lots of choice and of good quality. We also chose to eat at Rasoi and would say it is a must, food was fantastic as was the atmosphere. We also ate once at Prime, food also very good, but you could be anywhere.

The bar, and evening entertainment were very good, although the same band, it didnt get repetitive and the bar staff were very friendly, although at times a little pushy with selling cocktails. Drinks are expensive, but you can be selective, and not go overboard. Take as much as you can with you and enjoy a couple of glasses on your terrace.

We enjoyed all the facilities as much as we could, golf - a fun 9-hole course, with lovely scenery. Tennis again was well organised, water and small towels, balls all provided. The watersports centre, very well equipped. The pool is ok, not great for real swimming as such as its part of the restaurant area, but the Spa pool is fantastic, noone seemed to use it, lovely double sunbeds, and a lovely pool.

The beach is great and the beach staff were brilliant, getting your beds ready and using a flag system if you wanted anything further, the beach menu was very good and varied. Sea crystal clear albeit a little chilly when you first get in!

All in all its a fantastic place, I would go back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ground floor as you get more space and away from the restaurant and bar area as music is on til midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Poste De Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in the silver sands of its own private peninsula. Its stately gates welcome guests into a Mauritian garden paradise of friendly calm and easy luxury. - Surrounded by fabulous coral reefs and clear waters - Located between a beautiful sheltered lagoon and the warm Indian Ocean - Includes a crescent-shaped stretch of stunning white sand beach - Ideal climate year-round - The resort is approximately one hour drive from the International Airport (MRU). Transfers can be arranged with One&Only Le Saint Geran's private chauffeur or by helicopter. ACCOMMODATION 162 suites and one villa with exquisite taste and grand opulence blend with state-of-the-art technology. All rooms feature a private terrace or balcony facing the ocean or lagoon, and a back door opening onto a tropical garden. Spacious bathrooms are beautifully appointed, with great cascading showers. All guests enjoy personalised 24-hour butler service. ACTIVITIES AND EXCURSIONS - Snorkel or dive through a string of reefs and crystal clear waters - Water-skiing, wakeboarding, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle, hobie cats, snorkelling trips, kayaks, laser sailing, pedal boats, windsurfing and glass-bottom boat trips - The lush Gary Player 9-hole golf course, situated in the resort's grounds, has its own Golf Academy - KidsOnly and Teens Club offer exciting complimentary activities DINING Restaurants offer an array of local and international cuisine - as well as a variety of special dining venues, including: - PRIME Contemporary Grill serves only the finest Australian Angus Wagyu beef, fresh seafood and local produce - The Indian Pavilion offers modern Indian delicacies - La Terrasse, an all day dining, is located by the pool with beautiful ocean views, offering local and international specialities - Enchanting and ultimately private One&Only dinner on the beach - The One&Only designed Tipi is the perfect venue for private dining and special occasions HEALTH AND WELL-BEING Choose from an extensive menu of traditional and contemporary treatments inspired by the local surroundings at One&Only Spa. - One&Only Spa is a discreet sanctuary with its own private lap pool and a tranquil outdoor spa pavilion - PEDI:MANI:CURE Studio by renowned Bastien Gonzalez. Upon request pedicure can be enjoyed on the beach - Cutting-edge hair salon - The Fitness Centre features Kinesis™ and Technogym(R) equipment - Secluded spots are ideal for yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Poste De Flacq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.