We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time is still a charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% plus half board
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Second time is still a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Once again, Le St Geran welcomed us back like familiar friends. Last year we visited the resort and had such a wonderful time, my husband and I vowed we would return. WIth some wonderful packages on offer we were able to indulge again this year and we were not disappointed. Staff remembered our names, our preferences and we were pampered by the glorious coastline, the food, activities and staff at the resort. Our hats off to this wonderful establishment. I can't wait for an opportunity to return yet again to my favourist spot in Mauritius, Le St Geran.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    112
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
212
336
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I first stayed at the St Geran 10 years ago on our honeymoon, and it was stunning then. We returned this year, with our two children (7 and 4) and it was even better this time around. The service is absolutely incredible, and all the staff were incredibly polite and friendly. Where else will the butler run your children a bubble bath (and even make paper boats for them), and bring them cookies & warm milk every evening?

A real high point of the hotel for families is the kids club. I am very cynical about these clubs, as I actually want to spend time with my children on holiday, and not just dump them off in a club every day. This one is very different though, as they have a timetable of activities, and you can just drop in and out as you choose. We let our boys choose what they wanted to do (golf lessons, tennis, crab hunt, undersea walk, catamaran sailing, soccer) and just let them do those activities. That gave us an hour or two a day to ourselves, and they really enjoyed themselves. Needless to say the beach is beautiful too, so young children will be happy to spend plenty of time playing there. If you get a room on the 'sea' side rather than the cove side, you can just walk right out onto the sand. Lovely.

The other stand out feature for us is the main restaurant. If you are on a 1/2 board option this is where you will eat most of your meals and the standard is very high. It is a buffet, but don't let that put you off. The menu is very varied, and the quality very high. Our boys tried Mauritian curries, marlin, sushi, crispy duck and even sea urchin. If your childen are more fussy, then there is always pizza or pasta as a safety net. The puddings are stunning, and I suspect that the pastry chef from the Spoons restaurant (now replaced by a steakhouse) is now working for the hotel. You can select an assiette of deserts as they are small enough to justify sneaking 3 or 4 onto your plate, and I haven't tasted better in any Michelin starred restauarant.

The only negative is the cost of lunch around the pool or on the beach. If you order a couple of burgers and two kids meals, you can easily spend 100 GBP (160 USD)! The portions are large, so our tip would be to eat on the beach (they serve you at your sunbeds) and share a portion between two adults - that should be plenty for most. We also took a couple of breakfast pastries away with us to give the kids a snack in the afternoon.

Do be aware of the weather though - July is winter in Mauritius, and even though it was lovely and warm when we went, the sea was quite chilly - you really wouldn't want to swim in there for too long. If the weather is poor there isn't much to do on the island, but our experience is that the weather changes quickly, so cloudy starts often give way to blue skies in an hour or two.

Don't let that put you off though - this was by far the best family holiday we have had. I am usually ready to come back after two weeks, but we all could have happily stayed for another week or two - if only the budget had stretched that far!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the sea not the cove - the view & beach is better on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Saint Geran for 9 nights.
We found the food to be exceptional, the ingredients used and presentation was tops.
The position was scenic and close to the water as in 10 meters to the beach.
The room was spacious and adequate and generaly clean (probably the cleanest I have seen any hotel besides my own). The building being old was well maintained. The grounds were neat. The staff were exceptional and really were interested in our well being. The dive centre was equally as good.
The only negative was the hotels 10 x mark up, minimum, on drinks, on super market prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great first trip to Mauritius, and the O&O lived up to the hype, with a few small issues.

Hotel is located near Belle Mare, fantastic beach region, surrounded by reed on the NE of the island. The resort is magnificent, a pretty much private lagoon, and great beach off the grass surrounding the resort.

Rooms very spacious, with all the balconies or terraces facing the beach and north facing so great for leaving the doors open and enjoying the afternoon sun. All rooms had wireless internet, and good selection of TV if one actually wanted to chill in the room.

Wakeboarding, sailing and Golf are offered complimentary, which was big win and readily available. The beach is incredible and the service very good. Pool was good

3 good restaurants, both the michelin star Indian and le Terrace were where we frequented. Both the morning and dinner buffets at le Terrace were great, and the quality of food high. The Indian restaurant on the private wharf was great on both occasions.

Now the faults,... or need to knows. (Not that there are many but it stopped the resort getting 5*'s for me.) I'm happy to pay for good service but some of the charges were ludicrous.
- make sure you take your own golf clubs and golf balls. The price they charge is ludicrous - 5 USD for 1 pinacle golf ball! and 50 USD to borrow some clubs which are not great. If you take your own clubs and balls - its free,
- 9EUR or 350 MRP for a pineapple juice & 5-6 EUR i think it was for a coke/sparkling water was just crazy... I understand hotel's charging above retail but this is more expensive than 5* hotels in Tokyo, Moscow and the Maldives. Bit odd when you have a town (Belle Mare) selling cokes for 1/2 a Eur 3 kms down the road.
- the same prices applied to ali-carte food and we weren't suprised when we saw to larger families hording some food at breakfast into their bags! hilarious but actually understandable!

Please don't take it wrongly though, the resort is great, and this may be the norm for all Mauritius resorts, but best to be prepared. Try get a half board option when you book and make sure you bring stuff like tennis raquets, golf clubs with you to avoid wasting money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I spent 9 nites here with my 2 boys and thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids club was great- there is a planned agenda each day. Their staff are wonderful and genuinely love children. The Kids Club is great for the parents because it can care for the children up to 10 pm at nite. Most watersports are complimentary and the staff were always ready and willing to assist and supervise any and all the activities. Both boys learned Hobie Cat there and my 7 year old loved to water ski. Tennis, bicycles are also free activities. The buffets were extensive and delicious. The rooms are immaculate and filled with extras (scents at night, candles etc)- and the housekeeping staff are attentive to details you don't even expect (unpacking your suitcase). I really don't have any negatives except be prepared to spend money on extras (water at meals, the gift job if you forget something) which are extremely expensive. My only suggestion would be that the water be complimentary at dinner-as it is the same water that is given out complimentary on the beach during the day

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Of all the holidays we've been to, One&Only Le Saint Geran was by far the best. Was skeptical earlier wondering if my 4 yr old boy would enjoy it... but there's soooo much for him to do. As a family this was the best holiday we ever had till date. The service of One&Only is unbelievably good. The Boat House activities are fantastic...rooms are way to comfortable. One doesn't need to venture out of the hotel at all ...everythings there ...The restaurants, spa, boat house, golf, you name it. This is one place you wanna go again and again .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Le Saint Geran in July 2011 and had a fantastic time. Neither of us are really into beach holidays, and so we were slightly worried that we may not enjoy the holiday. How wrong we were, from the moment we arrived everything was done to make life easy, and there was so much to do with water skiing, sailing and snorkling all included and lots of activities at the fitness centre and the spa, such as the Thai couple massage, pilates, yoga, circuit training , golf and tennis. We should have stayed for longer, and will no doubt return very soon. We stayed half board and the food was very good in the terasse, and we didn't really feel any need to go to the new steak restaurant or the indian, although there was a discount of €20 if we did go. Staff and service are impeccable, room was great in a junior suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Poste De Flacq, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Poste De Flacq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poste De Flacq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in the silver sands of its own private peninsula. Its stately gates welcome guests into a Mauritian garden paradise of friendly calm and easy luxury. - Surrounded by fabulous coral reefs and clear waters - Located between a beautiful sheltered lagoon and the warm Indian Ocean - Includes a crescent-shaped stretch of stunning white sand beach - Ideal climate year-round - The resort is approximately one hour drive from the International Airport (MRU). Transfers can be arranged with One&Only Le Saint Geran's private chauffeur or by helicopter. ACCOMMODATION 162 suites and one villa with exquisite taste and grand opulence blend with state-of-the-art technology. All rooms feature a private terrace or balcony facing the ocean or lagoon, and a back door opening onto a tropical garden. Spacious bathrooms are beautifully appointed, with great cascading showers. All guests enjoy personalised 24-hour butler service. ACTIVITIES AND EXCURSIONS - Snorkel or dive through a string of reefs and crystal clear waters - Water-skiing, wakeboarding, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle, hobie cats, snorkelling trips, kayaks, laser sailing, pedal boats, windsurfing and glass-bottom boat trips - The lush Gary Player 9-hole golf course, situated in the resort's grounds, has its own Golf Academy - KidsOnly and Teens Club offer exciting complimentary activities DINING Restaurants offer an array of local and international cuisine - as well as a variety of special dining venues, including: - PRIME Contemporary Grill serves only the finest Australian Angus Wagyu beef, fresh seafood and local produce - The Indian Pavilion offers modern Indian delicacies - La Terrasse, an all day dining, is located by the pool with beautiful ocean views, offering local and international specialities - Enchanting and ultimately private One&Only dinner on the beach - The One&Only designed Tipi is the perfect venue for private dining and special occasions HEALTH AND WELL-BEING Choose from an extensive menu of traditional and contemporary treatments inspired by the local surroundings at One&Only Spa. - One&Only Spa is a discreet sanctuary with its own private lap pool and a tranquil outdoor spa pavilion - PEDI:MANI:CURE Studio by renowned Bastien Gonzalez. Upon request pedicure can be enjoyed on the beach - Cutting-edge hair salon - The Fitness Centre features Kinesis™ and Technogym(R) equipment - Secluded spots are ideal for yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Poste De Flacq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.