We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel to your Saves list
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, between Pointe aux Piments and Trou Aux Biches, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Was an all in all good experience and very relaxed, recommended for couples. Very central for shopping via taxi or local bus. Hotel offers lots of activities outside its perimeters. Spa treatments available within the hotel. Hotel is also kids friendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    342
    78
    44
    28
See reviews for
261
419
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I spent a very pleasant 10 days at this hotel.Very laidback(which is why we chose it)and private.However we would like to mention two points to our fellow travellers.
1.Despite a mail from our booking agents confirming sailing dinghies were on offer they were nowhere to be seen.You couldn't launch one anyway as you are on a rocky stretch of the coastline.We were puzzled but assumed we had confused ourselves by looking at too many hotel options!!
On our return we queried this and the eventual answer from our agent was that dinghy sailing was available BUT at their sister hotel in Grand Baie,there is a shuttle service 3 days a week BUT again there is no indication of this reciprocity anywhere on display and nor were we offerred it,you would think they would push this free add-on.My son and I were very disappointed not to have had sailing.
2.No-one to blame I guess.......but Google Eath when using the search bar dropped us right onto TROU AUX BICHE HOTEL along a great sandy beach some distance from our search request POINTE AUX BICHE.I have sent a mail directly to both hotels as one would think they would want this corrected but have not had a reply.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We took your feedback regarding the communication regarding the available options at the other Veranda Resorts into consideration and will act upon it.
However, we would like to underline that should you have enquired at the reception about where you sail, we would have informed you of all the available options.

We hope that you and your family were happy about the rooms, culinary offer and that our staff made its best to make your holiday enjoyable. We thank you for the 3 over 5 rating that you gave us.


Sunny Greetings
Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is located very close to Grand Baie in the north- west of the island. Its a small resort (compared to some other properties in the area), and this makes it rather private. The property is nicely laid out with well manicured gardens and has two pools, one of which is situated in the more private wing of the hotel, meant for the use of adults only. For couples who want a bit of peace and quiet, this section is ideal. It also has its own bar and restaurant - The Sandy Lane Grill, which serves some really great food.

We stayed in this private section, in a privilege room. While the resort is very pleasant and nice, the rooms could really be improved. They are a little dark with poor ventilation, unless you leave the door open. The toilet could also be better planned and made more pleasing. In terms of hotel toiletries, there is not much to offer and another area of improvement.


Breakfast and lunch are served only at the main restaurant - Senses and there is ample variety to choose from. Not all of it is great, but there is something for everyone. We really liked the salads at lunch.

Dinner is served at both restaurants. Since we were staying on an all inclusive package in the Privilege wing, we could eat at either. The food at the other restaurant is really good and we loved the peace and quiet too.

Like all other resorts, pancakes are served at 4pm everyday. They are nice, but not ideal everyday for seven days! They also serve veg fritters around 6pm. Besides this, sandwiches and samosas can be ordered throughout the day at the bar. These are free for all inclusive guests (something that not everyone realises.)

The beach outside the resort is actually a lagoon and quite rocky. It's not really deep and while swimming is possible, it's not the best beach experience. There are no long stretches of sandy beaches to walk if you are looking. Because its rocky, water sports and similar activities are also not offered here. However, just a few kms away is a very nice beach called Mon Choisy where one could spend an entire day. There is a bus stop right outside the resort and getting to Mon Choisy or Grand Baie is very easy.

Wifi is available only at the reception, bars and restaurants. However, our room was close to the bar and we managed to get connectivity in the room.

What really works for this resort is their excellent staff. Whether it's the batman or the waiters at the restaurants, they are all so friendly and sweet. Always eager to talk and make you comfy. That really makes the stay very very pleasant. Kudos to all of them.

As a three star resort, I would definitely recommend this place. But if they could just improve the rooms a bit more, it would be perfect. The privilege section is worth the extra money as it gives you access to the restaurant and some quiet time. If you are going to spend time exploring the island, its best to go with half board. The drinks may look pricey, but in the end, after a full day out, you don't end up drinking that much! We went all inclusive, but hardly ate lunch at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a 10 day holiday in August. After a long 13 hour journey we were greeted at the hotel by the friendly staff and given a glass of champagne each, before being given a tour of the hotel and eventually being shown to our room, our bags were brought to the room by a member of staff which was great as we were so tired from travelling! First impressions of the hotel- absolutely loved the sand/barefoot theme, really makes you feel your somewhere exotic (which you are) we were very impressed with the hotel grounds! Really well kept and perfect for photos. We had a standard room which was always kept clean and tidy by our cleaner Sharmella who was very friendly and did an excellent job!
The staff really made the
holiday, everyone was so friendly and helpful and did their best to ensure your needs were met! Especially the bar staff who were always smiling and chatty, and the entertainers Eric, yohan, Arun and Wendy you all did a fab job of keeping everyone entertained both day and night! The all inclusive buffet could be improved however there is plenty of choice and I liked the different themes every night which made things more interesting, I have read in reveiws that the food is mostly catered for French and Mauritian style tastes, this is true however what else would you expect?! I think this was a great touch to get a better taste of the culture.
I would advise everyone to do the lion walk in Casella adventure park, it was the best experience of our life! And something you might not ever get the opportunity to do again so definatly get booking! We booked two of our excursions with Bradley who can be found on the beach, he is great, really genuine with better prices than when we booked with the hotel reps.
Overall we had an amazing holiday, and believe we made the right choice in the area and hotel, Mauritius itself is more than beautiful and we have met some of the most friendly and helpful people on the island, as for the hotel we would rate it a 4* instead of a 3* due to the excellent customer service and atmosphere the hotel gives to it's guests. Definatley would come again x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Eric, yohan, Arun and Wendy and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings
Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is very warm and friendly from the minute you arrive. The reception welcome was great drinks on arrival after a long journey,a quick tour of the compact resort was given, our room was not quite ready so we were taken to the dining room for dinner straight away.
The room was a comfort room and was beautifully clean and had all the facilities you would need.TV was a little old but serviceable with limited channels. However we were hardly in our room as the outdoor facilities were great.Lovely pool, right next to footloose bar the beach less than a stones throw away.
The bar staff were amazing and attentive {a few rupees ] meant service was exceptional.Elsa was terrific.
The entertainment staff were always happy smiling and went the extra mile to be friendly and approachable Yo Yo Aaron (the weatherman)and Eric worked tirelessly to make everyone happy.
Nothing to do with the Hotel but i had read previous reviews about Bradley on the beach, and was a little sceptical, but I shouldn't have been. We used him for excursions and the prices he charged for the same trips as the reps etc blew them away. almost half the price and a great service.The east coast catamaran trip including snorkelling in the ocean visiting the waterfall and a beautifully idyllic island with barbecue thrown in with free drinks was worth every penny.
The nearest shopping town Grand Baille was ideal for gifts and discounted Branded Goods.
All in all we had a lovely peaceful relaxing holiday and met some lovely people. A great resort.

Room Tip: Depends whether you want it so quiet that it borders on boring if so the Sandy Lane side is for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Elsa, Aaron, and Eric
and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings
Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had the most fabulous honeymoon at Veranda Pointe Aux Biches. Firstly, the food was fantastic and we did not once go hungry! We spoke to the Chef on a few occasions andq asked for some recipes, specifically the fish (this was delicious) and also the moist cakes. Unfortunately we ran out of time on our last day and couldn't find the chef, so didn't get any recipes. My husband is a vegetarian, there were plenty of options every day, but after chatting to the chef he said the next day he would make my husband a special vegetarian meal... Sure enough the next day the chef came out with seven(!) scrumptious vegetarian dishes. We really could not speak more highly of him (sorry don't know his name)
The cocktails and rum were lovely, the island is beautiful, we hired a car for 3 days and made memories we will treasure. The cleaner was brilliant and every day we went back to our room to a different towel masterpiece! The beach is very chilled and the sea was divine to swim in. Both swimming pools were lovely and the novelty of bare foot dining was great and also the varied entertainment. We found out whilst on honeymoon, at the end of our stay that we were expecting our first baby and we really couldn't have found out in a more perfect way than on the beautiful island of Mauritius. Thank you to all the staff that made our honeymoon so perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Only just realised we didn't review this hotel feel so bad. We had the most amazing time very spoilt and very very well looked after.

We stayed in the adults side, rooms were lovely spacious and clean, our cleaner was great towel animals etc every day. Pool was quiet and lovely as was the pool bar. We ate in the al a carte restaurant every night and all the food was lovely.

Staff really can't do enough for you all of them are amazing.

We loved the sand everywhere I hardly wore shoes even at night it was great.

We walked into the town a couple of times which the staff all thought was mad but we enjoyed the walk to be fair but the bus is really cheap and just outside the hotel.

All the food and drink is great loads of choice in the Buffett restaurant.

Bradley on the beach is the man for trips very knowledgeable very pleasant and very reasonable.

Loved everything about this hotel thanks to them and all their staff can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Adults only area is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel

Address: Royal Road, between Pointe aux Piments and Trou Aux Biches, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Aux Biches Piments
Pointe Aux Biches Hotel
Hotel Pointe Aux Biches
Veranda Pointe Aux Biches Hotel Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.