We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel to your Saves list
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, between Pointe aux Piments and Trou Aux Biches, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had 2 weeks at this hotel in March, had a relaxing time which is what we wanted. Food was good and not overly repetitive but all inclusive drinks were rather limited. Could not see any benefit to upgrading short of eating in the adults only restaurant which we did once but organising this was not easy, all staff told us to speak to the head waiter but we could never find out who this was.
Staff were very friendly and despite most visitors being French, everyone speaks good English and it is not a problem.

Had a good couple of dives and contrary to another review, found Gino the dive instructor very patient and good fun but he does encourage you to go deeper. The dolphin trip booked through Brad on the beach was excellent and we had lots of swim time with the dolphins, might have got lucky on the day but was a real highlight.

The beach is okay with plenty of sun loungers in contrast to round the pool but the water is very shallow and rocky.

The only downside that we had was that the hotel claims it is barefoot throughout and as such, we expected everywhere to be sand floors as we have had on a different holiday but the restaurant was tilled and the paths either concrete or a shallow layer of gritty sand. Minor point we know but it's something that could be improved or removed.

Overall, the hotel is probably a good 3 star and was just right for the sort of holiday we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We moreover thank you for your feedback regarding out barefoot concept and will take it into consideration the next we renovate the hotel and we look forward to your next visit.


Sunny Greetings
Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    382
    91
    46
    32
See reviews for
300
472
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great location (on the beach) rooms functional although a few extra hooks to hang towels on or even a line to put wet swimming kit on outside would be a big bonus (management take note). Good selection of food to suit all tastes from breakfast, lunch, baguettes, evening meal and if none of the wide selection suited then the chef would cook something else! Pools ok with the main pool for families and the 'Sandy Lane' pool for adults very quiet and a bit cooler but good WiFi. Any issues the staff would sort straight away. Viz in the lagoon was poor when we was there but virtually all the colourful fish you want to see could be seen. Evening entertainment ok but great company & rum made it even better. Kids club was ok although they did try to doctor the kids trip advisor review (not needed) mine deleted theirs before it was published. Car hire across the rd was good to see the island and it was far better value than an organised trip. Snorkelling was disapointing as we were put in 30'-40' due to surf on the reef so pleased we took bread/fruit to feed the fish up close or it would have been a total waste of time. Diving be careful as a novice had a burst eardrum due to poor instruction and encouraged to go deeper by the instructor! Great place to relax and as they say, you can walk round all day and night without footware!

Room Tip: Just off the beach did it for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

we cant believe anyone would leave a bad review of this place, its clean modern the staff cant do more to help you,,, we are on our last day of ten and its been paradise :)
how can anyone say the food is bland when you have a choice of around 10 breakfasts ?
we was upgraded to the sandy lane part of the hotel ,,, as part of that we got to eat at the al ar cart restaurant as often as we liked,, well worth the upgrade
2 pools, mainly French here tho most of the staff spoke English ok ish
all the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome
the nite life isnt up to much but we didnt come here for that, if you want to relax and be treated like royalty this is the place,
the shops across the road do a very good exchange rate ( far better than the hotel) and we hired a car for £25 a day from across the road as we like to take things at our own pace
a very safe island, very welcoming people , go where you like when you like ,
we got married on the beach and they took care of everything :)
take care when "haggling" over prices, remember they have to make a living and things are expensive for the locals too , if you go shopping where the locals do you will find every day items are very dear,, ie we hired a local fisherman to take us on a hr long ride out to the reefs where we did a bit of diving for £10 each,, so reasonable i wasnt going to insult him by offering him less,,, £20 = 1000 reuppes ,,, not enough to buy x2 kfc burger meals out here
so just be kind, try and support the locals and pay what you think is fair, not what you think you can get away with

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches, especially on your wedding day. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Two adults and our three year old boy. Defiantly the worst place in Mauritius we visited in years. The whole place is run down. It was clean so. Management excused the fact, that the club is 7 years old and heavy booked.
We had "all in" the food lacked variation, week three star, the house wine is not drinkable. For ZAR 42000.00 in total a choke....not really a gem from World leisure, we will not return. Couples should look at AMBRE club! Cheaper, and the best option!
We really miss a holiday !

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you for choosing Veranda Resorts. We are sorry we feel this way. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned but we can assure you that our hotel already offers excellent quality for money.


Kind Regards
Clifford Pierre-Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and was worth every cent that we have paid. We have received better service than at the Ambre hotel where we have stayed at last year October and the service at Ambre was excellent! One can never compare hotels, but one can compare people.

Dinner time reminded me at the days when Coco Beach was still around……shorts and t-shirt. This is what I call holiday. If I want to dress up, then I rather stay at home and go to work.

Thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff. Our 11th holiday in Mauritius was once again great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Stefsr

Thank you for your kind words and choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went with eight friends to celebrate my 50 birthday every one made us very welcome from start to finish . I have read some review so I was abit worried no need it was lovely .The food was great lots to choose something for every one the rooms were very clean and large Bradley on the beach booked us two trip one a fishing trip which my husband and two of our friends count some marlin .The second was a boat trip to a amazing waterfall well worth it .And I will go back .we had a room over looking the pool and the sea

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and I are delighted that you and your friends have enjoyed your birthday with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Firstly, I have to say that I agree with many other travellers comments that most of the staff are very helpful and friendly ( I even got a smile from the infamous lady on the eggs) and the whole of the hotel and surroundings are always kept very clean and tidy.
Like in an earlier revue from Zoe (hope your foots better) don't get hung up on the ratings thing you will only get what you pay for, having said that there are a few things that the hotel could do better, in the main dining area hot buffet food could easily be served hotter just by turning on the food heaters especially at breakfast, we once ate at 7am when it opened and even then it was cold and English tea bags could be provided as a norm so that you don't have to ask for them each time. when using the salt seller at the table if you actually get some out I believe that you are should report it to the manager and you get entered into a prize draw
Next is my main point, seating, in the bars there are only very low chairs and bean bags that are very difficult to get up and down and the only way to get comfortable is to lie back making it hard to drink.
We had an up grade to the privilege section of the hotel but all this did was to put you in an area with no children and give you access to the al a carte restaurant but here the seating is only about 12 inches from the ground and tables are not much higher making it difficult to sit or get up and you have to decide if you wish to eat your dinner with your legs stretched out or with your knees tucked under your chin, many people have complained about this but the management take no action.
During our stay we had several phone calls to ask if everything was OK and what we thought of the hotel but if you say anything negative the callers attitude changes straight away and does not want to know. This is not an hotel I would visit again but overall we did have a decent holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Pointe aux Biches. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the discomfort that you mentioned in relation to the seating and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on this issue during our next renovation and we look forward to your next visit.


Sunny Greetings
Clifford Pierre Louis
Hotel Manager
Veranda Pointe aux Biches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel

Address: Royal Road, between Pointe aux Piments and Trou Aux Biches, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Aux Biches Piments
Pointe Aux Biches Hotel
Hotel Pointe Aux Biches
Veranda Pointe Aux Biches Hotel Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.