We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive is the way to go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Formby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All Inclusive is the way to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first "Real" holiday for some years. We have an apartment in Spain which takes up most of our free time.
Check in time was 14:00, but we arrived a couple of hours early. Our room was ready for us. Check in was very smooth. The room was large and the air con very good. The mini bar was a little bare, but after a few days, we found that we were not using the mini bar as you could always get a drink on the beach (stopped about 17.00 I think) or the main bar.
I think I read a comment that the place was a little tired. I do not agree. There were staff always making sure that every were was as one would expect in a modern hotel.
The TVs are in need of an update 4:3 TVs with great big CRT at the back!! Having said that, we hardly watched TV.
The two restaurants at either end of the resort were great for intimate meals and the food excellent.
Although there were quite a few children at the hotel, they never caused any problems. Well behaved and not noisy.
The rooms are well insulated for noise.
Evening entertainment was very good. Often themed with the meals.
The Beach. Coral sand and chunks of coral. You can walk along the beach in bare feet, but if you go in the water, you need foot protection. My wife went snorkling for the first time here and loved it. Very close to shore there are coral reefs. They are small, but ideal for seeing tropical fish.
Plenty of sun loungers and shades.
The only time that the place seemed crowded was one evening when a cruise ship sent passengers to the hotels main restaurant. Even then, the staff coped well.
The main thing is, would I go back. Without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ground floor gives acess to beach better than rooms above. Nice verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    308
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
545
453
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Feb 2012. The hotel is really lovely - the rooms are very large (we actually had a room with 2 double beds) and the bathrooms are also nice and very large - space is good :) The service at the hotel is very good. The food is also great - sooo many choices every day!! Anyone can and will find something to their liking. Dining around the swimming pool was great. There are 3 different options for dinner - the main dining area or the option of 2 other restaurants! The whole layout of the hotel is also very nice and one can literally walk out of your bedroom onto the beach. The swimming pool is beautiful and big. The bar area was great for cocktails! We noticed the majority of the guests were French families. I would thus say it is perhaps a better choice for families. The spa was also not really functional - or when we were there we actually had a notice in our bedroom saying the hotel distance itself from the use of the spa. This was quite strange. Also, noticed babysitter supplied by the hotel and a kiddies club...
Just a note: there are no motorised watersports here. We did notice another hotel in the same street sort off had motorised watersports which were pretty cool. We also rented a scooter from here for a day.
Overall, we had a great time staying here - and will probably return when we have kids of our own ;)

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My first time in Mauritius, unfortunately, it was for work and since it was December, we only managed to get a booking at Le Victoria at the last minute.

Location wise - the hotel was a hour and half's drive away from the airport and is in a secluded area with the nearest big town Grand Baie, a 20 minute drive away.

The hotel was big with 300 + rooms and since it was holiday time, it was full of kids all over the place. The rooms were quite large, clean and modern with a balcony facing the beach where you can take a nice siesta depending on the temperature. TV channels in the room were a few sports channels, but you wouldnt be expected to be watching TV here would you.

The checkin was quite crowded so we were taken to the lounge while check in was completed quickly. Nothing to complain about.

The pool was big and i noticed that there were quite a few kids and adult entertainment activities such as water aerobics, water polo matches going on.

The main restaurant serves buffets at breakfast, lunch and dinner. While i was there, the menu varied every day and while there were always close to 150+ people at the restaurant, there were no lines anywhere as the selection was vast. Service was fast and efficient at all meal times. Eating the buffet meal for a few days does get boring.
There is a seafood restaurant in the hotel, situated near the boat jetty, but the meal was nothing to write home about. The bar next to the pool was good, with a disco in the night that closed at 10 or 11.

The beach itself was quite nice, a bit rocky at the sea side but manageable. I did not see too many people swimming in the water or at the beach considering the sheer number of people that were there. There were paid and non paid activities. I tried the waterskking and found it quite fun. The guys on board give you good instructions and were patient.

The hotel was equipped with a sauna but with wierd timings, a decent gym and an external service provider spa. The kids had a games room with some games and a ping pong table but the games rooms were locked or unattended whenever i went there. Maybe i went there late in the night when i was bored.

There is a travel desk (Mauturco) at the hotel which arranges boat trips to different islands. We booked a trip from there, they were very efficient in the booking process. However, the boats do not depart from the hotel, you have to be transported to Grand Baie and we had to wait in a big queue, even though we had booked a whole boat to ourselves while they did not know which boat we were to go on. They dropped us on an island without any private place to sit and relax. The boat trip itself is not worth taking, the experience is very commercial, very time bound (definitely not recommended)
Overall, a good family friendly, child friendly hotel, good restaurants, rooms and facilities. Would definitely come back with family, not for a boat trip though.

Room Tip: Get a room not too far from reception to avoid a good long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Security, Service, smiles, safety and surprises.. They have it all! I marvelled at the change of towels and cleaning in the rooms. Food was just perfect. The workers are super friendly. Location is just perfect. I am very particular about security and this hotel gave me the sound sleep I needed. They have had no theft for many years in a row!!
Not the least but visitors in this hotel too are highly mannered. My kids love it!! I could write on and on and on!! Even the manager smiles around :)
D.Nartey

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is just a perfect choice. WE slept in a twin room where the kids slept in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had the most amazing first trip to Mauritius and stayed at Le Victoria, we have enjoyed it so much that we have returned a further 3 times in 2 years! The stay at Le Victoria was definitely the best we experienced in Mauritius. The food is incredible, the buffet quality and size literally blew us away and the dinner setting next to the aqua blue pool and sea beyond is unbeatable. The staff are incrediblly friendly and helpful and the resort is wonderfully child friendly. The hospitality ans warmth shown to you and your children is amazing.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a superior room - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our wedding in Le Victoria was all we ever imagined and much much more!!!
Great and peaceful hotel, excellent customer service, extremely friendly and helpful staff, ....and the food...hmmmm...to die for!!
Our wedding coordinator-Marisa- was like a friend, always there for us, always smiling, always proffesional. She certainly did a great job at organising our wedding. We really couldn't fault a thing. The whole event was so subtly and profesionally coordinated and yet it didn't feel in any way cheesy. Our photographers from Backlight ( Chris Barry & co) were the icing on the cake! A lovely and talented bunch of young guys who made us feel very special and made the whole process of picture taking so funny and relaxed. Their pictures are pure perfection!!!! Our wedding dinner in the beach hut was a pure culinary bliss and we were looked after by Deepak and Govind who were just excellent. So obviously good at their job, always at hand when needed yet not really in our faces...
We would like to thank all Le Victoria staff for everything while staying in this lovely hotel, they were all brilliant!! We would especially thank to:
Marisa
Yogen
Deepak
Govind
Pascal
Veronique
Sonia
Steve
It wouldn't be the same without you!!!!








  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Holidaying in Mauritius is fantastic! I have had the pleasure of staying at many of the the Beachcomber establishments and can highly recommend them all. Decide what you're looking for. Do you wish to be close to one of the towns? Would you prefer to spend most of the time at the hotel, on the beach, at the pool? Would you like to be in close proximity to Port Louis? To the airport? Then choose the hotel best suited to your requirements. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Always opt for a sea facing room if possible! Ground floor has it's advantages as you can walk s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.