We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to Beachcomber & Le Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you to Beachcomber & Le Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

All I can say is WOW! We've returned from the most magnificent family holiday in Mauritius! Le Victoria is one of the best hotels we've stayed at - we could not fault anything.

The restaurant choice, the pool and beach service, the concierge, mini club and all the staff involved in the property were all first class. We didn't want to leave :-(

We are already wanting to plan our next trip to Mauritius and will definitely stay at Le Victoria again but this time for a longer time period!!

THANK YOU to the magnificent staff - from making our reservation to the after stay letter from the GM, it all went perfectly and I commend you on your fantastic service! We will be back!

Room Tip: We chose the Ground Floor Superior rooms as we travelled with 2 children (7 and 4 years old)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    274
    45
    21
    10
See reviews for
487
404
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 10 days at this resort and got married there and it could not have been better. The staff are excellent and there are plenty of them to help you out with anything you need. It's romantic, beautiful and I was reluctant to leave the resort to go site seeing as everything was so perfect. The all inclusive price was great and it even included the beer in your room fridge. the food was excellent and we loved the different restaurants you could try each night. And you can't beat the pool side cocktail service! Definitely the best all-inclusive resort we've ever stayed at and we've been to several Club Meds which don't stand up in comparison.
You can't find a better place for a wedding. Everything was taken care of and it really was stress free. We had 17 people there for the wedding and had the most perfect beach bbq reception with excellent service and someone whose only job was to change the CDs on the music system. Couldn't have asked for a better wedding day or experience.
We will be going back to celebrate our anniversary for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our 10th visit to Mauritius over a span of 32 years and we loved it, as always. We have stayed at various hotels over that period: at first at the then Meridian Brabant and Paradis at Le Morne, then Belle Mare Plage on the eastern side (not recommended in Winter, as extremely windy and not ideal for water sports), twice at Club Med Cannonier and four years ago at the Beachcomber Shandrani and this year decided on something new and chose the Beachcomber Le Victoria for our 10 day holiday. As with most resort hotels on Mauritius and Beachcomber hotels in particular, the grounds were very beautiful and immaculate, and the central pool area here absolutely wow! We had chosen a 1st floor room, after reading various Trip Adviser reviews and this is definitely the best choice if you want privacy and like to sleep with your balcony door open at night. When we booked, three months ago, we had requested a room in a particular area to be close to the central area as well as facing north, so as not to have the noise from the bar and evening entertainment. This request didn’t seem to have reached them (although we know that our travel agent had put in the request) and we were given a room on the first wing, facing the dining room and thus hearing the band as if it was on our balcony until midnight. It was not possible to change immediately unless we wanted a room very far from the restaurant, but the next morning the staff was very helpful and managed to change our room to exactly the position we had requested in the first place.
The rooms are huge and tastefully furnished, with the bathroom beautifully appointed, with a lovely big walk-in shower with rain shower head. The toilet is separate and here they saved a bit too much on space!
The food at the main buffet restaurant, Le Superbe, was good – a large variety, with definitely something to satisfy all tastes, and well presented. Lunches were a little less imaginative and slightly uninteresting. This was probably due to the fact that those guests not on the all inclusive option were not taking lunch and the dining room was therefore not as full as at breakfast and dinner time. The all inclusive option is definitely worth the extra charge, as the cost of drinks and lunch was exorbitant. We found the options on the all inclusive menus at the bar, as well as the daily menus at the other two restaurants, absolutely sufficient.
The beach is pretty, with ample loungers and good service. The main beach has soft white sand, but it is, as had been advised, a good idea to wear some sort of rubber shoes to go into the water, as the sand there is very corally. The sea water at this time of year was around 25°C and the water in the pool only around 22°C. The weather was mixed, with some cloud every day, some days a little windy and some days light rain, but generally warm enough to spend the days in bathers and shorts. The snorkeling in that area is not very exciting, although slightly better when the boat took us outside the reef on a calm day.
We thought that the daily sports and entertainment program was a little lacking, and this was probably due to the fact that the hotel was due to close soon for a short while for renovations to the pool and decking and also, being the Mauritian Winter time, but nevertheless the staff in the restaurants, bar, pool and beach area were very attentive and the service good.
We can recommend the Le Vic generally but, if you want fantastic food and snorkeling, we would recommend the Shandrani and if you want lots of fun and full-on organised entertainment and sports for kids as well as adults, we would recommend Club Med!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just arrived home from our son and daughter-in-law wedding. It has been the most perfect week for the whole family. The hotel manager should congratulate the staff who made every effort to ensure we had the best possible stay. Nothing was too much trouble and all requests were delt with in an extremly happy, friendly and professional manner. The vast array and variety of food in the restaurants accommodated eight family members with different tastes and appetites.Our garden room was well maintained and very comfortable and the rooms our family stayed in were also excellent. There were plenty of watersports on the beach to keep everyone occupied and a beautiful hotel pool and bar for those in the the party who wanted a more relaxed approach to the holiday. Overall we were so impressed with Le Victoria Hotel I would recommend anyone to stay here. One week is not long enough.

Room Tip: We had family staying in a variety of rooms in the hotel, they were all very comfortable and had sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Over the years I have been fortunate enough to visit Mauritius many times and I have stayed at more than 10 hotels on the west coast (I am a fan of sunsets). I have a pretty good idea of what is on offer in this regard and so it is by no accident that my wife and I return to Le Victoria for our annual sunshine getaway. We were married at Le Vic and we have visited around 7/8 times or so in total.

Our friends say that we are boring and lacking in imagination. If something works, why change it? And, Victoria works for us. I have written reviews previously and I can only endorse what I have said before. I like the consistency of Victoria. Each year it is the same or better if that is possible. I attribute this to the arrival of manager Lothar Gross around 2008 from when there was a marked improvement at Victoria. Lothar is a hands-on, no nonsense perfectionist and he has assembled a management team around him that is competent and enthusiastic about their job and their hotel.

Victoria is an island beach hotel resort and yes, things can go wrong but to my mind I look to see how they are fixed. Chatting to other guests and in my experience, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They pride themselves on you having a great holiday. A good measure of a resort’s success is to see how much repeat business they get. I understand that Le Vic averages around 6 repeat guests every month. That, in my view, says it all. Why go back if it was not so enjoyable?

Here are a few pointers for you. If you can, take some extra cash and arrange a lover’s romantic dinner on the beach under the stars. You will have your own personal butler and will take with you a memory that will last a long time. Do your self a favour and have dinner at La Casa and Le Horizon speciality restaurants. The settings are magical and the service outstanding.

The taxi industry is becoming a little too organised and their prices are rather high making getting around pretty expensive. Avoid arranging anything through the hotel staff and the “pimp” at the hotel gates. Just say where you want to go and get to talk to the taxi driver directly. If you think that the price is too high, get out and find someone else.

At Le Vic, the nightly entertainment may not be everyone’s cup of tea. Entertainment is of course subjective. There is something on every night but if you want to dance the night away, you may be disappointed. The band and the DJ perhaps lack the ability to gauge the audience and so they sometimes get it wrong in their choice of music. The DJ is younger than the average guest and so he tends to favour music suited to a 7 am gym session! But, you will have fun on most nights.

The under school going kids are still a problem but this is squarely an issue with the parents leaving the hotel powerless. Where ever possible the staff will accommodate guests by seating them away from the brats.

We left Le Victoria last year saying that we had just had our best holiday ever. We did not think it possible that 2012 could be better but it was. Of course everything is getting expensive these days but we look for value for money. In my view, Le Victoria offers just that. Well done Lothar and your excellent team. Your Traveller’s Choice Award is justly deserved. The biggest compliment that I can give you is to say that we will be back in 2013 if not before.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent 21/2 weeks in this hotel and we were absolute happy what it had promised and what we found. We recommend to book all incl. you spend your money wisley and will not have any proplems. Food, service and all other things are perfect. We have enjoined it very much and we will go back to Mauritius again (4 time)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the beach, are very big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our first trip to Mauritius was a dream come true, we both enjoyed every moment of our holiday. The hotel accommodation was spacious, comfortable and well serviced. The staff were for the most part helpful and friendly. The beach and facilities were perfect for our needs, water sports snorkelling and swimming. The beach house staff service was excellent. The all inclusive option was a winner as we were spoiled for choice at the main restaurant. The other restaurants required advance booking and the all inclusive option fairly limited. The Mautourco representative could have been more helpful in terms of what to do. We choose a catamaran trip to I'le aux Cerf which was highly recommended by the Agent. This turned out to be rather disappointing, although the weather was not great which could not really be predicted, the food and beverages on board were sub standard. One bowl of snacks that tasted like cardboard, chicken kebabs, fish, salad and shocking local white wine which was yellow!!
The tan will fade but the memories will remain:) Hope to return with our Family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.