We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Ile Maurice to your Saves list
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently stayed in a Nirvana Ocean View room for our honeymoon. The room was very clean and the staff were excellent,although the external woodwork could probably do with a refresh of paint. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice, however the buffet was typical of most buffets in that the food was luke warm. We mainly ate at Shells or La Faya as all the food was cooked fresh and served hot. Our celebration meal on the beach at shells was excellent! La faya for lunch was good although there were a couple of occasions where we waited a long time for our meal. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Vik on the pool bar was brilliant, remembered what you wanted to drink from day to day; Nickolas, Kumal, Vimal, Ediaz and Santy in La Faya were always friendly and keen to please. Nitish, he stood out for us; he always came to greet us when he came on shift, had an outstanding personality and worked hard to please everyone. We found the bar in reception was very slow, although the staff were friendly, we waited 20 minutes for a drink after we ordered and there were only four tables occupied. The entertainment could have been more varied; the same band playing every night and the same songs! How about looking at the times for the AIP; ours finished at 12 o'clock on our departure day (as per hotel guidelines), just when lunch was due and we were picked up at 6.15pm; how about changing this to allow guests to have a last meal whatever their departure time.

Room Tip: Choose Nirvana rooms for peace and quiet, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    611
    235
    84
    70
See reviews for
425
984
26
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

we reached at 1630 last week and surprisingly we welcome by saga dance .. superb with welcome drinks .
accommodation is very nice (hotel need Renovation) .Indian food and Indian crowd was in big no
they served indian food in breakfast and have separate area for indian food with only veg preparation
Rooms are great in size (stayed in Nirvana room) which is children Free area .all other amenities and recreational facilities are away some. We never feel to go out from resort .Le meridien is resort but it is destination too

Room Tip: if choosy about for Indian food with five star personalise attention then must stay here only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Rajesh661,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to food quality at the hotel. We will make sure to pass on the comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylestone, leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we had the pleasure of a 2 week stay. our accommodation had beautiful views .highly satisfied with the room and the staff. the food was varied and fresh .the beach and sea gave us plenty to do . certainly would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Pete F,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to our services. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.


Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were greeted at 9 .35 am with a personal check in accompanied by welcome drinks a cold coffee shot and mango shot just to wake us up.

We were taken to our suite which had two bathrooms one with a huge Jacuzzi bath, two huge televisions one each for my husband and I.... a huge king size bed and a lounge area....

The view from our room was straight onto the beach and we saw many a wonderful sunrises and sunsets from our balcony.

The staff were amazing, very friendly and nothing was too much....Nankoo was fantastic he took care of us very we and took our luggage to and from our suite, kept my hubby up to date on the English footie results, and always had a friendly smile ......


Shells resturaunt served excellent food with huge portions.... cumin served an array of indian food 180 degrees eatery, served buffet food with hot food stations at both breakfast and dinner I am not a fan of buffets so ate mostly in la faya and shells

but the best place to eat was in La Faya Nicholas and his team looked after us extremely well, got to know his customers and pre emted our drinks orders .... there was a blip in service one day and we did mention it to them..... they apologised and on our last day made a special shrimp and chicken curry for us which was delicious.

there were over 60 cocktails on the bar list to choose from.... we tried a fair few.... but can recommend the Mauritian sunshine and the hurricaine.

this is one of the most relaxed hotel I have ever stayed in with extremely attentative staff and a lovely location

Room Tip: all rooms were facing the beach but our suite was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear JetsetterYorkshire,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay among us. Your positive comments and kind words are greatly appreciated. Customer care service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback. I assure you we have communicated your comments to those staff and departments concerned especially the team at La Faya.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Le Meridien Ile Maurice again.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Le Meridien in a family room. The accommodation was nice, the service was excellent. The room was neat, only problem was the aircon had only one setting.

We enjoyed eating at the buffet restaurant, which had a new theme daily.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make us comfortable.

The only thing that put me off, was that all restaurants are open-plan, which means that wind blows through the restaurant. Not very nice when its cold. Needless to say, hot meals were not really possible, as the food would be cold before you got back to your table. Nonetheless we enjoyed the variety of foods and desserts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Raaks P,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Le Meridien Ile Maurice for your latest stay in Mauriitus.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to our associates and services.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was very good, we stayed in the Nirvana suite and were impressed by the style and standard of the room. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and checked on us regularly to ensure we had everything we needed. The restaurants served a good mix of cuisine to suit all palettes - special theme nights showcasing local foods were held at the main buffet and evening 'a la carte' restaurant menus were changed daily to keep you interested. The bars were well stocked and the drinks were fabulous, although it sometimes to a while to get served in the main bar. What really made the stay for us were the staff! The three stand out team members were:- Vikram, the King of the poolbar always there when the rum ran short - nothing was too much trouble and he took it all in his stride; Ediaz at La Faya, a total charmer who can make every meal a superb experience; and Nitish who seemed to be everywhere tackling any request you could throw at him! Beyond anything else these guys really made our stay in the hotel (which was fantastic and worth every penny we paid). Thank you guys :-)
PS: Ediaz - tell the chef to work on perfecting his amazing chocolate soup and ditch the risotto - it didn't do him justice.
PPS: Our score on the Spa is neutral because we didn't try it. The main reason for this is that it was very overpriced based on the treatment descriptions, If we could feedback anything to the hotel it would be to offer taster treatment packages at lower prices.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the upgrade to the Nirvana rooms for adults. It was so peaceful and with its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear dyth,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.


Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mauritius generally is SO great. This hotel was superb, staff were attentive but not overbearing.. even beach sellers werent pushy, very helpful friendly people. Hotel was v.clean and location was perfect.. short drives to capital and nature park for example, whilst weather was great (not too windy north west coast compared to west, and less rain than south) . As a couple, we would definitely return there :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear DanielleB,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ile Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.