We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow a wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Ile Maurice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“wow a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were greeted at 9 .35 am with a personal check in accompanied by welcome drinks a cold coffee shot and mango shot just to wake us up.

We were taken to our suite which had two bathrooms one with a huge Jacuzzi bath, two huge televisions one each for my husband and I.... a huge king size bed and a lounge area....

The view from our room was straight onto the beach and we saw many a wonderful sunrises and sunsets from our balcony.

The staff were amazing, very friendly and nothing was too much....Nankoo was fantastic he took care of us very we and took our luggage to and from our suite, kept my hubby up to date on the English footie results, and always had a friendly smile ......


Shells resturaunt served excellent food with huge portions.... cumin served an array of indian food 180 degrees eatery, served buffet food with hot food stations at both breakfast and dinner I am not a fan of buffets so ate mostly in la faya and shells

but the best place to eat was in La Faya Nicholas and his team looked after us extremely well, got to know his customers and pre emted our drinks orders .... there was a blip in service one day and we did mention it to them..... they apologised and on our last day made a special shrimp and chicken curry for us which was delicious.

there were over 60 cocktails on the bar list to choose from.... we tried a fair few.... but can recommend the Mauritian sunshine and the hurricaine.

this is one of the most relaxed hotel I have ever stayed in with extremely attentative staff and a lovely location

Room Tip: all rooms were facing the beach but our suite was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear JetsetterYorkshire,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay among us. Your positive comments and kind words are greatly appreciated. Customer care service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback. I assure you we have communicated your comments to those staff and departments concerned especially the team at La Faya.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Le Meridien Ile Maurice again.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    530
    201
    78
    60
See reviews for
354
834
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Le Meridien in a family room. The accommodation was nice, the service was excellent. The room was neat, only problem was the aircon had only one setting.

We enjoyed eating at the buffet restaurant, which had a new theme daily.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make us comfortable.

The only thing that put me off, was that all restaurants are open-plan, which means that wind blows through the restaurant. Not very nice when its cold. Needless to say, hot meals were not really possible, as the food would be cold before you got back to your table. Nonetheless we enjoyed the variety of foods and desserts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Raaks P,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Le Meridien Ile Maurice for your latest stay in Mauriitus.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to our associates and services.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was very good, we stayed in the Nirvana suite and were impressed by the style and standard of the room. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and checked on us regularly to ensure we had everything we needed. The restaurants served a good mix of cuisine to suit all palettes - special theme nights showcasing local foods were held at the main buffet and evening 'a la carte' restaurant menus were changed daily to keep you interested. The bars were well stocked and the drinks were fabulous, although it sometimes to a while to get served in the main bar. What really made the stay for us were the staff! The three stand out team members were:- Vikram, the King of the poolbar always there when the rum ran short - nothing was too much trouble and he took it all in his stride; Ediaz at La Faya, a total charmer who can make every meal a superb experience; and Nitish who seemed to be everywhere tackling any request you could throw at him! Beyond anything else these guys really made our stay in the hotel (which was fantastic and worth every penny we paid). Thank you guys :-)
PS: Ediaz - tell the chef to work on perfecting his amazing chocolate soup and ditch the risotto - it didn't do him justice.
PPS: Our score on the Spa is neutral because we didn't try it. The main reason for this is that it was very overpriced based on the treatment descriptions, If we could feedback anything to the hotel it would be to offer taster treatment packages at lower prices.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the upgrade to the Nirvana rooms for adults. It was so peaceful and with its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear dyth,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.


Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mauritius generally is SO great. This hotel was superb, staff were attentive but not overbearing.. even beach sellers werent pushy, very helpful friendly people. Hotel was v.clean and location was perfect.. short drives to capital and nature park for example, whilst weather was great (not too windy north west coast compared to west, and less rain than south) . As a couple, we would definitely return there :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear DanielleB,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just back from two weeks in this true Paradise and I can only echo the comments of previous people who had stayed in the Nirvana wing..ok so after 8 years or so it might need a lick of paint in the odd place but the quality of service is undeniably world beating. The food is very good and the guys would pretty much prepare anything they could if you asked. The staff here are special, as a businessman I judge the quality of business by the staff, the Management here are blessed all the staff are amazing ambassadors for the company. Whilst it is wrong to mention individuals, Vimal, Nickolas, Kumal and Santy were all outstanding and couldn't have done more for us. The Indian buffet also, orchestrated by Chef Khan takes taste to a different level, he parades nightly rightly proud of what he produces and the additional 5 pound gained bears testimony to its excellence. Double bonus screens all Premiership football as well...now that's Nirvana for me!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Nirvana, the ocean facing are the better ones, but the sun comes over the garden f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Franklancs,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good: beautiful, extra large and relatively secluded beach, coral reef protecting the beach so waves not too high and you can swim, excellent service, free windsurfing, extra large rooms, killer view from the room, free WiFi.
Bad: beware of the shallow water on the coral reef, especially if you are windsurfing, the rooms are a bit outdated, breakfast could be a bit more varied, Internet connection tends to be slow, drinking water should be free of charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is near to the water, possibly on the ground floor. There are such rooms North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Mangement at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Franklancs,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We travelled to Mauritius in August for a short break away from our daily routine. It was recommended by a travel agent which we used, the property is lovely but could do with some revamping as it appears to be quite old. Our package was an all inclusive and we had a deluxe room, the food was great and the waiters were always willing to recommend what they considered 'the best' we were told by the travel agent that the hotel has free Wi-Fi but on arrival realised that yes they offer free Wi-Fi but only in the lobby, not cool at all.The rooms are very spacious but need more modern furniture. Hotel should invest in new towels in the rooms, for the price they charge customers deserve decent clean towels and at least a change of sheets. We arrived the one afternoon after relaxing on the beach to a bed with unchanged sheets, we called management and it took them over 3hrs to come sort that out...not so great customer service. Best restaurant we visited during the stay was The Shells, loved everything about it. Great menu they had and food was very different from the usual but very delicious. The highlight of our vacation was the entertainment the hotel offered every evening, this we always looked forward to. The live band sure knows how to get a person dancing :)Good people, good music, good memories! #musicislife learnt one or two local dance moves.

Perfect weather>>>Beautiful beach, loved the view from the main restaurant where the breakfast was served. So calming.

No words can begin to describe the beautiful scenery. A trip to the island of Mauritius is a definite must do. Would do it again different hotel this time around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nokukhanya N,

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly

Sincerely.
Le Meridien Ie Maurice




Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ile Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.