We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holliliday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Ile Maurice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Holliliday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came here to celebrate my friends 60th birth day on 27/01/2013 to 07/02/2013 took a chance as you know this a place for honemooners, but we were very wrong. this is a place for all age groupe thoroughley enjoyed the stay here.
i would like to thank each and every one of this hotel from cleaner to the mamagement.
In cleaning department Chaya she made our room every day so beautiful
In catering department The head chef in cumin and the new chef who arrived after our 2 days stay k.sahajuddin who cooked so many lovely dished of our choices and more.
waitring dept., ajay in shell restaurent and all his team. pool side bar cocktail makers.
how can i not thank the entertaing dept. at night gino and michael and his band they were amazing.
I will come back it is such a spiritual place and the people are good and the weather and food too. sarla pugh
special thank to sailesh the manager
who looked after us

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sarla P,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice

It gave us great pleasure to note that your stay was an enjoyable experience and we are delighted to read that the courtesies extended to you exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to our team members particularly Chaya from Housekeeping, the Kitchen Chefs, Ajay from Shells Restaurant, the cocktail makers at the bars and our in-house band.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Resort in a near future.

Sincerely

The Management
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    529
    200
    78
    60
See reviews for
351
833
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I got married at Le Meridien in March 2011 and everything went so smoothly.Not to mention the praises that came from our 60 guests.We thought that nothong ould top that until we decided to go back this year.

We were told that there was a plumbing problem with our room which we were not even aware.We were told that we needed to change room and were not happy . However when we were shown an alternative we were totally gobsmacked. Upgraded to the ROYAL/VIP suite and treated accordingly.How can we not be happy!!!!

Room Tip: If you prefer the quiet life with a pool wthout children , choose the NIRVANA WING. But we find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lucieduval,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay among us. Your positive comments and kind words are greatly appreciated. Customer care service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback. I assure you we have communicated your comments to those staff and departments concerned.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Le Meridien Ile Maurice again.

Sincerely

The Management
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We early booked two rooms since December 2012 for Feb 9 - 13, 2013 to celebrate our Chinese New Year holiday because of anticipating full house in the festival holiday. After the Xmas time, we reviewed some bad comments from tripadvisorduring Xmas holiday and was afraid of having the same experience. We took proactive action of sending an email on Jan 30 to the 01800.info@lemeridien.com in requesting two rooms to be assigned near by becasue we travelled with one child. I thought my request will be taken care while I informed the hotel 10 days in advance of our need.

Upon arriving the hotel, we got only one room ready and we repeated our room assigment request once again to the staff. After our lunch, we got the second room key but it was not near by, it was on other floor and at the other end!!!! First room was on ground floor, at #145, second room was on the second floor #265? We spoke to the staff and tried to get another room may be on the same floor or closer to #145, but received very rude respond, one staff name was Sarah. I showed my email to them of my early request, the respond was the person who received my email was not around? what a stupid answer on it. They only kept on saying that full house and could sent me a Chinese speciailist to handle my case if I needed, I was able to communicate in English and what for having a Chinese Specialist!!! After that, I asked for seeing senior managment to express our disappointment, the staff left the counter for 10 - 15 miniutes and came back to tell me the Front Office Manager was busy and the General Manager was off over the weekend. If I wanted to see the GM, came back on Monday or email him with an email address was provided. Is it a StarWorld Hotel branding standard to handle customer.
After we took the second room key, we went to the lobby lounge for a drink and was served by Shweta. During our casual chat in shareing our horrible check-in experience with her and she went to talk to the Guest Relationship Manager. Shweta said that the Guest Relationship manager would looked into this for us. But we did not hear any update, feedback or any hotel management contacted me throught out our whole stay. it was good that we did not have any expectation of changing our room blockage, otherwise we would have the second diasppintment again. One more was the poor cleanliness at the pool area; with baby disposable dispers around the pool desk during our two afternoons swimming at the pool. The guest room conidtion was aged and needed refrubishment.

Positive:
Shweta was very friendly, taking good care of all the costumers at the bar and at the buffet restaurant.
Chef Lee was very good and gave us big surprise when we dine at the restaurant during the new year day. He is excellent.
In general, all the F&B team members those we met in differenent outlets were friendly, helpful and with great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs ChristineLiu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,

The Management
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've just got home from a special holiday in the Nirvana section of Le Meridien, Mauritius and from the airport pickup to the airport drop off we were made to feel special.

The holiday was booked via Virgin and the airport transports by private car were excellent, but on with the hotel bit.

We arrived very early, knowing that we wouldn't be able to check in for another 6 hours, but were given a warm welcome, sat down in some nice comfy chairs where we completed our paperwork with a couple of interesting local specialty drinks, makes a nice change from standing in a queue at the reception desk.

The guy who checked us in (think it was Sailesh) took his time to explain the hotel and it's facilities and how the all inclusive package worked (more on that later) and advised that we could get towels from the pool bar and we just needed our swimming things from our cases to start enjoying the resort, although the all inclusive package at the bars and restaurants wouldn't start until 2pm (fair enough).

We were just about to grab our things from our cases when he came back to let us know that our Nirvana room was available and we could check in immediately, which was brilliant, but talking to others we know we were very lucky here as many others had to wait until their 3pm check in time.

We were taken with our cases on a golf buggy to the Nirvana section of the resort which is deliberately at the far end of the complex as it's the adult only section and is tucked away for those of us who want a quiet peaceful holiday away from the family section.

The 1st floor room was great, although have seen smarter rooms (maybe time for an update here) with a large bedroom, large bathroom with bath and shower which opened onto the bedroom, the mini bar could be stocked with drinks of your choice if required and our balcony overlooking the ocean. To be honest we didn't really get a lot of benefit of the sea view as palm trees obstruct the view somewhat, and it was rather warm sitting on the balcony, so a garden view would have been fine. Was good that there were a variety of power sockets from different countries, so didn't need to use our adaptors.

Rostom and Irvin looked after our room and we often returned to a surprise bit of creativity from Rostom, I won't say what, you'll find out yourselves, but we often returned to our rooms with a smile on our faces when we saw what he'd been up to that day.

We only used the infinity pool at the Nirvana section as it was perfect, loved the natural colour to the tiles which made it blend into the ocean perfectly and never seemed to have trouble getting a lounger.

Beach shoes are essential if you want to go in the sea though as the coral is sharp on your feet and you can stand on sea anemone's, so go prepared, although beach shoes are available in the hotel shop.

Food and Drink - we chose the all inclusive package and it worked really well, it was nice not to have to wear a wristband, instead you choose from food and drinks marked as all inclusive in the menus and when presented with the bill a discount is applied which zero's out the bill.

If you prefer premium drinks a supplement is applied and some food e.g. the Australian Fillet Steak (was gorgeous) and Lobster would be charged to your bill accordingly.

One suggestion is that maybe you could give all inclusive guests a dinner allowance instead and sacrifice a starter or desert for upgrading to a premium main course ?

We ate at Shells restaurant a couple of times, lovely food and right by the beach, but mainly we ate at the La Faya restaurant adjacent to the Nirvana rooms.

The food at La Faya was excellent, the all inclusive choice was limited to a couple of starters, mains and deserts each day (but they were different every day), there were the optional supplement meals available too. If you like fine dining than you'll love La Faya, there's some really unusual meals here, having eaten at a Michelin star restaurant recently, this was a similar standard.

Kamal, Nikolas and their staff at La Faya were great hosts and soon knew our name, room number and wine choice and always managed to find us a table even though we hadn't always pre-booked (advisable), they made us feel very special and important at every meal time - Thank You.

The heart and soul of a great poolside holiday is always the pool bar and Raja, Vik and Ashley never disappointed, nothing was too much trouble, although we failed miserably at working our way through all the all inclusive cocktails, looks like we'll need to go back and try again ;-), but a big thank you to Ashley who walked his legs off all week, the guy never stops and made sure we were never without a drink at our lounger.

Sadly it was soon time to come home and we were picked up at 5am in a golf buggy again and able to grab a continental buffet breakfast at the 180 restaurant even at that time of the morning.

We've had a wonderful holiday and were made to feel special by everyone at the hotel, we didn't get chance to use the Spa or the free facilities at the boat house, we never ate in the Cumin restaurant (heard it was great) so it looks like we'll have to come back, hope it's not too long before we do.

Thanks to everyone at Le Meridien :-)

Room Tip: Nirvana rooms are a premium cost and a bit of a way from the centre of the resort, but the peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dewar Baggiewhite,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review.


We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations especially Sailesh, Vik,, Nicolas, Rostom, Raja and Ashley

Your valuable comments have been communicated to the Heads of Depaertment who in turn will cascade the same to their team members.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.


Sincereky

The Management
Le Meridien Ile Naurice

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 10 days at the start of February. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a welcome cocktail by Sailesh who seemed very interested in us and made me feel very welcome at the Hotel. First impression was great. I really want to thank all of the restaurant staff and the people on the coffee counter as I feel they always went out of their way to ensure we had a great time.
I found the food selection to be great, The quality was very high and the staff were always attentive and friendly. We were all inclusive and I found there to be a great selection available.
Our cleaner "sudesh" wend out of his way to make sure that our room was clean and he made a special effort to ensure that we were always happy.
I will miss this hotel, and the people who work here. It was brilliant.
Damien

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Damien F,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. We are very delighted to read your encouraging words about our food quality. Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regard to our associates especially Sailesh and Sudesh exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very expensive hotel - a small bottle of suncreen in the gift shop will run you 40 euros.
The hotel/decor is older and would benefit from a refurbishment. Our room was nice with a king bed and a small sitting area with a sea side view. Customer service was lacking, I found the staff in general to be rude and aggressive - particularly the restaurant service.
Food and drinks were also very expensive and not worth it . Nice to do once but wouldnt stay there twice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sophie24,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regard to our room and view,

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thou it's abit late. Just wanted to share. We got good package from our local tour agent for our honeymoon. 6d 4N full board. Check in was breeze even thou i felt the receptionist should have smiled more to make us feel welcomed. Anyways this is a small issue as i'm here for honeymoon with my wife and not the receptionist. Our room was Nirvana garden room with ocean view. Room was big, clean, nice bathroom with bathtub. The back door opens straight to the garden and ten metres away to the pool. What a way to start our honeymoon. Their main coffe house is superb. We had our breakfast and dinner almost everyday there. Variety of food and very tasty. Overall this is a great hotel, nice room with good food. I'm sure there are better hotels in mauritius but for the package we paid. This was exellent!!!

Room Tip: Nirvana garden/seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMilemaurice, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Vimster,

Thank You for taking time off in writing this review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our
We are very happy to read your encouraging words about our room and food.Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issue. Once again, thank you for your observations, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

With our Best regards,
The Management,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Ile Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.