We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply divine...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Mauritius to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply divine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed at (so far anyways). From the way they welcome you, to the beautiful rooms & environment, to the helpful and friendly staff (always smiling), I just can't sing their praises enough. I generally never write reviews, but I just had to make an exception in this case. Every step of the way during our stay at the hotel, we felt well looked after. Immediately you sit down at beach chairs, someone brings you water and some ice, and after the first time I ordered extra of a certain type of pastries that I liked at breakfast, they took note of it and brought me extra the next day without me asking When we went to other hotels for some of the other activities we wanted to do, they just felt so noisy and the staff were definitely not The Oberoi standard of helpfulness. You really can't ask for more in a romantic getaway, and the couple massage is highly recommended. They even brought me flowers after they heard I just got engaged... I could go on and on, but suffice to say look no further....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    64
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
102
601
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I have been lucky enough to have stayed in 4 Oberoi hotels previously but only for short periods when we have been touring in India. As we wanted to have the Oberoi experience for a longer period of time we chose this hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. From the moment we were welcomed with a 'Happy Anniversary' to the moment we were waved off by a number of staff it was truly magical. The property is gorgeous. Our first room was 511 which was a Pavillion. It was light and airy with its own little terrace complete with sun beds and table and chairs for private dining. It had stunning views and easy access to the adults only pool. When we arrived we had a cake,wine,balloons,flowers,a card and towelling swans! We couldn't have been made to feel more special. Our second room was 302 directly opposite the spa and was a villa. It was slightly larger but the most impressive thing was the large private walled garden. What was also impressive was the way in which the staff moved our belongings. In the wink of an eye it was done and everything was laid out exactly as it had been in our old room. What stays with me about this place is the fragrance both from the wonderful gardens and the oils which were burning everywhere. Everything here seems so seamless but I am sure takes an enormous amount of effort and organisation. Do take the walk around the gardens with the botanist, visit the Botanical Gardens where they actually have lotus flowers in bloom and if you can go to the races. That is so much fun. The food at the hotel is fabulous and the chef is always visible and happy to discuss special dishes he can make for you. One night at his suggestion we had prawn and avocado risotto! And then there is the staff. There are no words to describe how wonderful they all are lead of course by the incredibly stylish Mr Marc Denton. We named all those we came into contact with in our hotel comments form but really it is impossible to heap enough praise on this team. From front of house, the boys who look after your rooms, the staff on the beach, those in the dining rooms and the gardeners no one passes you without speaking.This place truly is paradise on earth (and don't miss out on the spa either!) Would love to return but so many more Oberois to try and not enough time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved our stay as a family at the Oberoi Mauritius in August 2013. My husband and I have travelled a lot for business and holidays around the globe but nowhere have we ever encountered such an amazing and personable service. The Oberoi is really in a class of its own. Staff make you feel so welcome, everybody greets you with a smile and many remember your name after a few days. The lady who runs the kinds club (Suchani) greeted our daughter every morning, explained the activities for the day and asked her if they wanted to join in. She would also bring her back to us after the sessions were finished so we did not even have to collect her. All very effortlessly done which made us feel extremely relaxed. The hotel manager personally attended to us on several occasions and when we left after our wonderful stay the manager (Mr Denton) and 3 other members of staff were present to wave good buy. After we had returned home we received a letter from Mr Denton who thanked us again for our stay and the tips we had left for the staff and he confirmed that our positive mentioning of the names of several staff members in the Oberoi statisfaction survey had been passed on to them and thanked us on their behalf. Where else do you get this?

So in our view the service alone is worth experiencing this amazing hotel!

Apart from that we also loved our pavillion room which was spacious and beautifully furnished and kept very clean. The Pavillion rooms are of a sufficient size to fit in a child as well.

The main swimming pool is so pretty with all the traditional sculptures and the uniquely designed showers. The beach is a bit on the small side with some rocks but still nice enough for a pleasant beach holiday. The food is not Michelin Star quality but very good and served in beautiful surroundings. We very much liked the bar and the drinks are excellent.

We will surely be back and try some of the Oberoi hotels in India which are said to be equally amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading the last few rhapsodic Tripadvisor reviews, we feel that
the consistency and warmth of the tributes are remarkable by any
standards, but, to our eyes and hearts, utterly justified.
Undoubtedly, what the Oberoi has understood to an, in our experience,
unrivalled degree, is that personal service of exemplary and unmatched
quality is above all else the hallmark of excellence. The staff
radiate a charm and sheer pleasure in doing the right things and doing
them right which it would be impossible to fake, and which speak
volumes for the superb leadership and team spirit inspired above all
by the inestimable Marc Denton. Yes: rooms are a delight; yes: food is
exquisite, overseen by Igor's deft and silky skills; yes: the location
is Elysian, the beach and pools beautifully kept and always inviting;
yes: the spa and the activities programme provided relaxation and
fascination. But above all this is a hotel about people, and people
who strain every sinew, but apparently effortlessly, to ensure that
everything is perfection. It is indeed remarkable to experience being
known by everyone and having one's personal wishes and needs always
and almost intuitively catered for. Thank you all! We shall return as
soon as we can.

Room Tip: Room 317 -excellent views and position for 'On the Rocks' restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful. Quite quirky, but unique and draws you in to something very special.
What makes the Oberoi stand out from the rest is the amazing customer service experience.
All the team, led by Mark Denton, show a great sense of pride in what they have created here. We were greeted at 6 a.m. in the morning by 5 members of the staff including the Manager himself. They promised to make our stay a memorable one, and they kept their word throughout.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - all I can assure you is that if you book a stay here you will not be disappointed.
Thank you to everyone at the Oberoi for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Oberoi from June 21st to July 3rd, 2013. We were looking for an opportunity to relax & unwind...and did they deliver! It started with the staff & their polite, unobtrusive and yet attentive attitude/approach. They consistently exceeded our expectations from specific restaurant/menu requests to delivering a (unprompted i.e. we'd mentioned that we were going to watch the British Lions test game) buffet of hot/cold snacks & drinks to our room prior to the kick-off...and more.

The hotel, management & staff have a spiritual & calm aura that compels you to relax & enjoy the 6 star service. The service levels were the best we've ever experienced (inc. Four Seasons Maui...that was very good).

If you are looking for a relaxing break, with spectacular food, unparalleled service and beautiful beaches/grounds...book now! If you are looking for an all action tri-athlon training camp - this is not it.

We will return...

Room Tip: Unless you want complete solitude - do not book a room with an individual pool included as the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Oberoi Mauritius for 10 nights in August 2013. Having had the pleasure of visiting most other Oberois in India, Indonesia and Egypt in the past, our expectations were very high considering their standard of quality and excellence: our expectations were definitely met!!!
We had pavilion n° 317 with wonderful views o f the sea and sunsets. Pavilions are all very well equipped, are spacious and come with the signature Oberoi marble bathroom opened to a small private garden, sunken bathtub and separate shower. This charming bathroom layout was first conceived for the Oberoi Bali back in the 70s!
Service is of course one of the highlights of the Oberoi Mauritius: all the staff members are attentive, kind, professional and yet friendly and trained to anticipate all your needs!!
A special thank you to all and to the GM Mr. Denton, Ms. Tunda and Chef Igor who took spacial care of us.
It is difficult to add any useful comment to all the previous wonderful reviews, but as everyone can aim higher, here are some areas of improvement which could be addressed:
- food although of very high standard is in our opinion a notch overpriced, also compared to other good restaurants on the island;
- service at the adult only pool has strangely a different standard from the main pool/beach: during the whole day no fruit or refreshments were offered, while at the main pool and beach they are very day;
- our room blinds, although working, needed some fixing, being a little worn out and slightly tilted. Otherwise maintence was perfect.

We also rented a car for part of our stay to explore the island which is worth doing, even if the grounds, the activities and the wonderful atmosphere of the Oberoi tend to make you want to stay and never leave!!!

Thanks for a truly memorable and unfergettable holiday!!!

Room Tip: Not all Pavilions and Villas have direct sea views, so try for one of those: 317 is great, while our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.