We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally spoilt. A foodie's heaven. Best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Oberoi, Mauritius to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Totally spoilt. A foodie's heaven. Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

From start to finish, we have been totally spoilt.
At our arrival, we were given cocktails looking over the beach. We checked in at our luxury pavilion and we were given a free bottle of wine (we were on honeymoon)
The room was a lovely size, with a sunken bath looking out on a little garden. The shower was perfect. There was also a room for the cases and clothes so they could be out of sight. We used the in house laundry service for pressing our clothes.
The dining options were various, whether at the main restaurant (fine dining) beautifully presented and plenty of choice ;the menus are rotated twice a week. There is a mix of vegetarian dishes, meat and fish. The staff are polite, friendly and attentive. We have been to numerous Michelin starred restaurants and this was a match for any.
The views from here are to the beach and there are candles and flames at night. In the distance, live piano music could be heard from the bar, where extensive cocktails can be supped watching the sun set at sea.
Breakfast is at the main restaurant and there are hot options, including full English, continental style and local options (Creole sausages were lovely with a coconut chutney).
There is in house dining, breakfast in bed or dinner in the room /veranda. These choices are different from the main restaurant.
As well as menus on the beach and the bar, there is "On The Rocks". This needs to be booked and was no extra cost to us on half board. This restaurant is on the beach front and has the best tempura prawns anywhere. Watching the moon set out to sea, smelling the barbecue where the chef can be seen creating masterpieces, whether seafood, including Rosenburg prawns from the Madagascar sea (size of languistines) or prime marinated meats, was stunning! The staff here again were friendly and totally considerate and relaxed.
Even on the beach, free water, cocktails, fruit, sorbets and cool towels were handed out at leisure. As I have mentioned, we have been totally spoilt and on the final night of our honeymoon, we were surprised to have an extra prawn, champagne cocktail and when we returned to our pavilion, a presentation box of local luxury rum, a card and a freshly run bubble bath filled with rose petals lit with candles. We enjoyed this together.
I loved the pool, the extensive water sports, the massage, the proximity to everything, the staff and the feeling of being welcomed, remembered and thought of. We would like to thank all the staff at the Oberoi (the cleaners were thorough, friendly and made us an elephant from towels). We will be back xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    55
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
82
522
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Quite simply, a wonderful hotel!

My partner and I have had the most fantastic and memorable stay at the Oberoi. We stayed in a villa with a private pool. The villa was spacious, clean, luxurious and the pool was large and amazing.
We were greeted with a very warm welcome by way of a refreshing drink, a hello from friendly staff and the hotel manager and with breakfast in our villa.
The resort is great; there is a beautiful bar, 2 restaurants, reception, boutique, spa and 2 fantastic swimming pools next to the beach. The beach itself is bliss and perfect for relaxing.
All the staff are attentive, helpful and friendly, they all greet you with a smile all day and everyday, and nothing is ever a problem for them.
My partner proposed to me whilst we were there. As a surprise to me, he booked the jetty at the hotel for the whole night for a private romantic dinner over the Indian Ocean; all the staff from Aky our waiter to Marc the hotel manager accommodated our needs to ensure that we had the perfect, most memorable night.
All the food at the hotel is fantastic and we recommend private dining!
All the small touches have made our stay a wonderful one, and we most certainly recommend this hotel, and any other Oberoi hotel, to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment you arrive at this resort you know that you have arrived somewhere special. The welcome drink at 6 am and the check in in your room with the complimentary breakfast set the tone for your holiday. If outstanding customer service is important this is the place for you. We stayed in a luxury pavillion with a view of the sea and close to the adult pool, lovely. All staff are very friendly and very attentive and helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed the cookery class by chef Singh and the yoga classes with Henriot, all complimentary. The massages at the spa were excellent, look out for special rates during afternoons. We would highly recommend this hotel and would happily go back and would certainly stay at another Oberoi hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Incomparable service - we have never felt this spoilt before. Where to start? An amazingly beautiful room with a sunken bath and a shower with an outside area, wonderful terrace overlooking the gardens and the sea, 2 huge and beautiful pools (one for adults only), lovely beach that gets cleaned everyday, huge beautiful gardens. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble - e.g. when our little daughter fell asleep over dinner in the restaurant they rushed to bring chairs for her to lie down, a blanket and offered to drive us back to the room. You get iced water when lying on the beach, refreshing towels and even magazines. We felt like royalty. Only downside is that food is on the pricey side but is delicious. There are lots of free watersports activities - waterskiing, snorkelling, glass bottom boat etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went for our honeymoon. Can't even compare this to another experience. I imagine this is what it felt like to be some sort of prince or king in the 1700-1800s Just pampered every step of the way. Worth the little extra to have a truly flawless experience.

The only thing you should be aware of is the food is expensive (~$150 per couple)....and considering the prices in town or elsewhere on the island it really stands out. Believe it or not taking a $50 cab to town and eating there works out much better than eating on the resort. I will also mention that I thought the quality of the food was good - but i definitely got a sense the resort was charging a little "resort premium" to the prices but what can you do. its the price of paradise i guess. I should also say that when I casually mentioned this to the concierge they did EVERYTHING they could to rectify the situation. Really OUTSTANDING service. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR A ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: 316 was unreal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We decided on the Oberoi in Mauritius base on their excellent reputation and it certainly lived up to it. It was heading towards the winter for the island ( end of May / June ) but temperatures were still a very respectable 21 - 30 degrees and plenty of sunshine. It only threatened to rain once and that ended up being a hollow threat.
The great thing about off season is less people though all the hotel facilities were still functioning a normal. We arrived very early and were served non alcoholic cocktails in the greeting pavilion while the main sites of the complex were pointed out and then checked in in our villa. Normal check in is 12 but we were given our room on arrival and the same courtesy was extended on check out too. The villa with pool that we had was spacious, very well equipped mini-bar, ice, safe, nesspresso machine, lovely sunken bath and outdoor shower and private pool. It also had a sea view. There are also pool towels, loungers etc in the villa walls. Extra touches include welcome champagne, fruit and lots of free water delivered daily and at turndown. There are also free postcards and postage. Def worth mentioning the house keeping staff ep Antish and Parita that made us a zoo full of various towel animals which we photoed with great delight !
Meals can be taken in your villa, in your pavilion or in the main restaurant where most tables face out to sea. Lunch an dinner you have the same options but also a family style, tasting menu of creole foods on Monday and Friday in the gun room and also beachside at On The Rocks. The current head chef is Italian and meals reflecting this were the best.
Something else that struck me as unique was the daily and free programme of events called Touching Senses which includes activities such as yoga, stretching, run, relaxation techniques, painting, sculpture, wine tasting, gallery visits, a hindi ceremony, henna painting, star gazing, cookery class and tai - chi and meditation. Couple this with the free water activities such as sailing, windsurfing, water ski-ing and you have more than enough to keep you occupied - plus of course there is a full gym and lovely spa. The spa has a wide range of treatments and techniques inc Thai, African and Indian. The therapists Prety and Hansi were great. There are two beaches and two pools to use too one of which is adult only. Services at the pools include free cold towels, drinks and fruit snacks.
In terms of other guest there are a large proportion of French guests due to the history of the island and then UK, Russian, German, a handful of USA and Indian. the majority appeared to be celebrating significant life events such as honeymoon, significant birthday or anniversary.
I briefly met the GM of the hotel who is passionate about people having a wonderful and consist stay and would recommend the hotel and the island highly to others on this account.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If You will decide to go to Mauritius You will have to know: Oberoi side of the island is very good for summer months (April – August) - less wind less rains / 4 Seasons side is more suitable for „Mauritius“ summer (October – March) – strong winds during hot weather.
We traveled in April-May – so we were lucky for our choice of the hotel. After rains in the South and in the middle of the island we saw a lot of rainbows in the sky.
So let‘s talk about the hotel.
Pros:
1) Extremely clean garden and paths (daily wash from birds spots)
2) Rooms are like on the photos. A little bit small but cosy.
3) Personnel are very welcomed (sometimes it‘s annoying)
4) FREE water sports: water ski, snorkeling within domain reef / Three beaches!!!!
5) SPA – try treatments by Lek and Maya – hope You will like ))))
6) We had a problem with food variety – we accept only app.1/3 of the meals offered in menu. After a week of talking we found a brilliant solution – the chef offered to make the dishes upon our requests (NOT included in the menu). This special touch is very appreciated from our side – but I don‘t understand why other people accept such menu. (may be we were very naughty – but for me it was strange). As for dining outside (not in the hotel) – the food at the same quality cost the same money as in hotel restaurants, plus You will waste the time to get in/return. In general I was disappointed with seafood on the island. Maybe I do not accept creole style?
7) The shop – Home textile is very VERY good quality with authentic stylish. Lack of sun screen creams – buy in advance or other places.
8) Trip to NORTHERN island by PREDATOR boat is obligatory – it‘s expensive (around 1,000 USD) – but You will be dropped to the island before other catamarans (at low season it was „only“ 15!!! With 20-30 people each)arrive and You will get may be the best snorkeling on Mauritius – we saw tuna at cleaning factory, yellow pipe-fish and a lot of other creatures never seen before. We asked the staff – they said boat rent is working ONLY through hotels reservations – company policy.
Contras:
1) Air-conditioning: in our rooms the system was fine. But in the room of my mum it was too stale air – it usually appears with old, non-proper maintained system.
2) A lot of flies and other different insects. They didn‘t bite us – but annoying. In the evening all around the gardens and restaurant ares the staff put aroma sticks and lamps – but it didn‘t work.
3) Birds in the morning – be aware from the rooms situated near the tallest trees – other way You will be awaken at 5 o‘clock
4) Food and beverages – I didn‘t like almost nothing from th menu list (we got twice lists as we stayed 16 days). Only the Chef helped – but it is NOT proper services for this hotel level in general. Also I tried 5-7 several cocktails – no one was good – so I switched to wine. The wine list is not very long with mostly wines from SOuth Africa. European wines are too expensive. They do NOT offer dinner at sunset – for me it‘s very strange. All restaurant for dinner open at 7 o‘clock only (it‘s all around the island – exception only for fast-food)
5) Lack of fruits variety – but it‘s general problem described in deferent topics before.
6) A lot of people NOT from hotel are going hither and thither – as they built a pier where they fish. You will be lucky to make a picture at sunset without other people.
7) NO music channels on TV – but they have DVD and book libraries
Recommendation:
1) Restaurant reservation in advance is highly recommended – CAUTION You cannot choose a table – If You want a table waterfront / or near the pool – come at 7 o'clock
2) Dinner time is cool (especially if windy) – don‘t forget jacket / sweater
3) You can order a private dinner on the beach – for extra fees - not very impressed – but You will be a little bit remoted from other people (while locals will be going along the beach).
4) At Casela do NOT take Safary tour You will see only zebras, ostrich, pea-cocks, deers and pigs. The view from the hills is not very impressive. – Cats interaction is much more interesting.
5) If You rent a car – the road is VERY narrow 30 cm from the wheels – NO shoulders – just 1m drop (we saw several cars drop down from the road) – it‘s a specific cased by sugar-corn growing // go around Floreal – if You do not need go exactly in Floreal (and if You don‘t have GPS navigator) – very complex orientation – we go through 3 times and 3 times were lost – of course locals helped (but once even policemen (there were a group of 4) couldn‘t read the map given in the hotel!!!!) // CAUTION night-time – lots of bikes without reflectors – dark men on the black bikes - )))) – BTW GPS navigator didn‘t show correct turn on the map before hotel – check the road signs!!!!
6) We were disappointed by visiting L‘Avenue du sucre – NO production – it‘s ONLY museum. But tea-factory visiting we liked except tea-tasting – we tasted 10-12 varieties but for sale were only 4 – Q – why did they give us tea sorts which we couldn‘t buy???
Anyway the hotel stay You will like I‘m sure – just be ready for several moments ))))) Have a great unforgettable holiday!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Mauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lonelyapart,

Thank you for your very detailed review, one that will certainly enlighten readers.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday at The Oberoi, Mauritius.

We acknowledged your criticism shared with us during your stay, as well as on this review in regard to food choices on the menus.

It is most unusual though, for guests not to find any dishes to their liking in any of our restaurants. I am however pleased that with the daily and personalized intervention of our Executive Chef during meal periods, we were still able to provide you with meals that met your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mauritius, we hope that you will one day choose to stay with us again.

With regards,

Marc Denton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.