We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klondike Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Klondike Hotel to your Saves list
Klondike Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Birthday Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On the 3rd of August my mom and I went to Mauritius to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel was great and our room newly renovated with a lovely sea-view. The beds were comfortable and the fridge came in handy since we had the half-board option, so we bought our our lunch from the local Spar supermarket nearby. The food and service at the hotel was good value for money, but unfortunately they were still busy with renovations :-( However, if you spend time on the hotel beach, the noise fades away with the crashing of waves on the rocks so we were not too upset by it. The weather was warm but too cold to swim in the sea. I would recommend October to be the best time. On the evening of my birthday, they set up a table for us on the beach and the food was delicious. They even bought me a cake with sparklers for dessert! They really did go out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. The bar prices were reasonable and they make great Pina Coladas! I will definitely return to this hotel once all the renovations are finished, but since they are busy building a whole new block of 20 rooms, it might be a while before it is completed. So put this one on your list for 2015.

Room Tip: Self-catering bungalows are cheaper but no sea-view. Definitely choose a standard room - lovely gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
25
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our first visit to Mauritius several years ago. During our last visit last week (26 June 2014), the hotel and the adjacent apartments were closed for renovation. The guard knew our guide and allowed us in for a quick look around. It is due to be reopened from 1st August.

This hotel is tucked away in a secluded section of Flic en Flac town. It was a cosy hotel before the renovation (aging but nice) and should be better when they reopen. Their beach section is probably the only place where you can find fish along the Flic en Flac beach. Great for family with kids who want to feed the fishes.

The path to the hotel from the main road can be dark in the evening with wild dogs running about. So far, I had found the wild dogs to be harmless. But it you're staying here, a small torch light may come in handy in the evening.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is good hotel with a great view, sea looks sublime and a great beach. Breakfast is good. but, little less variety for vegetarians. Beach bar is very good with good variety. It is a good hotel with economy budget.

Room Tip: Facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I visited Mauritius in May 13 and stayed in the hotel for 7 days , the hotel has a excellent Ocean View and located in a very Peaceful area all the Staff Members are very cooperative they ensure everyday in the breakfast they use to prepare one Indian Dish as per my wish Rooms are pretty Neat and Clean and also the Bar was excellent which offers all the kinds of drinks at a reasonable prices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went to Mauritius for our honey moon in December 2012. We feel very lucky we chose this hotel because even after years from then and a number of trips to various places and staying at so many hotels,we enjoyed Klondike the most!

No wonder, I can see other reviews saying the same... what could make you happier than your own little house with a private balcony and entrance that opens right over the sea, chefs making you delicious breakfast on the beach, music and local dances with dinner and not to forget , the most amazing staff that takes care of all your comfort...Do you have a hotel in any other country? :)

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Good customer service and feel at home... Will miss this experience with my family and we will come again for the same experience... Love Kevin sunassee the barman service and the swimming pool service. Very good service about the kids and the food very goog tasty... And special thanks for sandrine for her nice and good service.. It was an memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piltown, Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were in a lot of luxury hotels, but we always like to remember the Klondike hotel as one of the best places we visited. Great people working there. Managers and maid of rooms, barkeepers and cooks, all these people care about the comfort of all hotel guests. The buffet dinner was also great. Hotel is gradually renovated. The rooms are newly decorated, modern lcd tv and very comfortable beds. Beautiful pool and hotel location just steps from the ocean is just an added bonus. Thank you all once again for a memorable vacation and spending time with you. John & Carmen

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Klondike Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klondike Hotel

Address: Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Klondike Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Klondike Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klondike Hotel Flic En Flac
Klondike Hotel Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klondike Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.