We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2012 at Maradiva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Flic En Flac
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“August 2012 at Maradiva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Best located all-villa resort on Mauritius
August was low season but the weather was great and not many tourists
Lots of thing to see on the island
Very quiet family friendly resort
Fantastic spa with free saunas open all day
Great service and food
Minibar drinks are a bit pricey, recommend go to nearby store to get some local rum and Australian and South African wine
If budget is not huge concern, look no further on Mauritius

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Concerning the prices of drinks, w have huge taxes on imported alcohols and spirits. We are doing a bi-annual competition check to compare ourselves with the 5* competition and I can assure you that our prices are in the mid-range.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

We wishe you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    41
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
60
250
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this resort during Novemer 2012. We stayed in a bottom grade villa which was very comfortable and well serviced. We dined in all the restaurant and the food was some of the best we have eaten anywhere, very tasty and well presented. To sit in Breakers bar at sunset with a cocktail and hors doeuvres was wonderful. The only negative thing about this resort is the internet provision in the business centre which runs increadibly slowly. Would I recommend to my best friend?...absolutely!

Room Tip: We stayed in centrally positioned villa 307 which was very private and had a direct sight line to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Greetings from Maradiva Villas resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know you were thoroughly pleased with our resort.

Regarding the issues with the Internet connections, we have one private ADSL line in each villa and by our localisation in Wolmar, Mauritius Telecom could not offer us a better service and connection. I hope this isolated incident has not marred your perception of our property.

On behalf of all at Maradiva, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests and your compliments will serve as added inspiration to our team. I look forward to welcoming you again .

We wishe you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in November for two weeks and wow the resort is beautiful, one of the nicest cleanest places we've ever stayed. The villa was amazing we were lucky to have a very private one but some of the outside spaces and pools were not a little more on show.
From arriving at the entrance which is very grand we didn't find one area of the resort that is not 5 star, nothing seemed run down in any way cleaners seemed to work throughout the early hours of the morning to clean the resort and the beach. Couldn't of asked for a nicer setting. The cleaners were good but you cant judge what time of day they arrive never the same so makes relaxing in your villa abit awkward.

Now on to the couple of issues we did have that for us just spoiled it for the cost i'm afraid.
The food 9/10 was fantastic but we did have a few cold meals, we had one night where scallops where substituted for mussels without been told.
The breakfast everyday but the first was served with a cold potato rosti (not a big issue but just don't put on the plate, it became a standing joke)
We witnessed a few other people having problems with there meals and sending it back and each time the other person was left eating there's while the cold one was taken away and re-cooked so that by the time its re-done the other person has finished. again not a massive deal but when your on a romantic holiday just tends to spoil it somewhat.
Complimentary cakes are meant to be brought to you each afternoon at 4pm but few days they didnt arrive taking to other guests we did better than most on the cakes. Again a small niggle but when you are used to them everyday when they suddenly stop you notice.

The service was fantastic in parts but the odd occasion was really quite poor which again let it down. Jusveen, Nitish, Dilrun especially fantastic service really went above and beyond to make you feel very special. Huge thank you to Jusveen who was excellent.

We did sit down with the manager and voice our niggles while we were there and things in the second week did pick up slightly, but for us we paid alot of money and while we had a fantsatic time and didnt want to leave we just didnt feel like it was 5 star all around the food and service on occasion just let it down which was a shame.

Don't let this put you off but what we said was that there are people who are slightly more relaxed that these small niggles wouldn't bother in the slightest to you I probably seem picky or there are the people who expect a little more from 5 star and for those people I think the service issue may just leave you slightly frustrated.

Everything else at the hotel was fantastic the spa was amazing and we only heard great reviews of all the treatments.

We had a fantastic private beach BBQ under a tent with two chefs who cooked us a lovely fine dining BBQ that was really something special and worth a try is rather costly but definately worth it.

The boathouse we found excellent for the dolphin and snorkelling trips and wished we'd booked all our trips with them rather than the tour operator.

In regards to Mauritius itself we were expecting slightly more to do than we found but that was fine we had a good relax, we did the walk and lion interaction which was a fantastic experience but a little cruel on the animals I felt, the bigger lions were hit with sticks which was a little difficult to see and slightly unbelievable but we did talk to other couples who experienced the same so worth consideration. We also did a catermaran trip on the west coast which was fantastic.
Shopping we found quite cheap especially for jewellery, diamonds and rolexs in particular.

All in all fantastic just a few frustrations, we wouldn't go back because of this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

To hear of your experience while staying with us is a pleasure as your suggestions in every area are very important in allowing us to improve our service and exceed your expectations for future visits.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This resort is trully paradise. No words can describe how beautiful this resort is. From the bottom of my heart I can only say If you are visiting Mauritius and want to stay in a 5 star hotel/resort, then Maradiva is the place where you have to be.

Room Tip: Luxury Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

We wishe you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very nice place.
Restaurants are very good and service too.
Free activities are fun and a very attentive staf.
The manager is very sympatic and friendly.
Our Luxury Suite Villa was beautiful and very clean.
Very nice holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to know that were pleased with the various aspects and amenities of our resort including the cleanliness of the villas, the quality of the food and service in our restaurants, the free activities.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our holidays.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next one!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great place to unwind and soak in the sun.
We went for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The food was top quality with plenty of variety.
The villa was spacious and clean.
The beach was beautiful and clean. Trips to go snorkelling plus the water sports were all included which made this holiday even more fun and well worth the money. I learnt to windsurf during the time I spent here and staff were excellent at teaching and very accommodating.
The spa facilities were great.
I would definitely come back here if I was visiting Mauritius again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Mrs L - Z,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both wonderful and memorable for you.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next anniversary.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from the Maradiva Villas and despite the fact that Phil and I have travelled extensively and to many exotic locations this was without doubt the best holiday we have ever had. This place is pure heaven. We stayed in an exclusive villa, looking out onto the beach and for the first 3 days didn't leave the villa itself. Swaraj and Nishi looked after us extremely well and we had the BBQ dining experience served in the villa something not to be missed.
Bilal and Oliver on the beach kept us entertained and never stop smiling. Nitish in the bar helped us to indulge our champagne cru cognac addiction (!) and the ladies who looked after the villa for us were also just wonderful. The food in all the restaurants was exquisite particularly in the Indian retaurant. The gym was useful to keep on top of the food addiction I was in danger of having during this holiday. If you want luxury, in a peaceful and private place, that allows you to choose how much contact you want with other people and that totally recharges your batteries then the Maradiva Villas is the place for you. We will be back in 2 years time and will go in October again as the weather was perfect for us - you never know we may even go and look at what else the island has to offer next time !

Room Tip: Upgrade to an exclusive villa it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know that Phil and you had travelled extensively and to many exotic locations and that Maradiva was a pure heaven and without doubt the best holiday you have ever had.

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories from the time spent with us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again in October 2014 !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.