We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and extremely good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and extremely good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for a week in this lovely property with an infant and must say , I didn't think it would be so comfortable. They had the infant bed placed in our room before our arrival. Had a in room check in , which was wonderful after the long flight. Our room was on the ground floor with a great view of the pool and the sea. Rooms are spacious and ESP. Liked the bathroom with its twin sinks and bath tub. Toiletries , not so great.
Pool is very clean and overlooks the sea which is a beautiful sight. We were half board with breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was the same every day but its a large spread so one can have scrambled eggs one day and an omelette the next for some variety ....it tends to get boring though.
Dinner was varied and quite good. Special mention here for the lovely desserts section, a lot of variety and delicious too. Dinner buffet had an Indian section every day but except potatoes and Dal , they didn't get any Indian dish right.
Over all a very pleasant experience with friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable stay.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room if you want direct access to pool and beach. Esp. With kids to play in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    224
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
189
1,001
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!
This hotel is smaller and more 'boutiquey' than many of the resort-style hotels around. The location is stunning, and the entertainment areas are situated around a massive infinity pool.

We were travelling with two children (3 and 5) and we were thrilled to be told we'd been upgraded to their beachfront suite - wow! 2 bedrooms, lounge and massive wrap-around balcony! Not to mention the 5pm Aperitif and snack brought up every evening, compliments of the hotel!

The check-in done in your room, really impressed my husband, whereas i was blown away by the ability to choose the 'flavour' of bath products we wanted to use for the week!

This hotel is all about the "small touches" e.g., midmorning frozen fruit juices get brought around the pool and beach for everyone, then a midday its a small snack (e.g. a bite-sized pizza or sandwich etc) and lets not forget the man who walks around the pool and beach cleaning your sunglasses!

The buffet breakfasts and dinner were great, and the choices were varied and plentiful, but special mention must be made of the bar food - it really was exceptionally good! Without fail, every single day, my daughters ordered a platter of mini-potatoe-samoosa's! yum!

The bar area itself was very classy and nicely done - set in the gardens alongside the pool - it had a real clubhouse feel to it. The cocktails were reasonably priced (for a hotel!) with a different Cocktail of the Day on special.
Lots of activities to do, and all the water ones were free - glass-bottomed boats, skiing, kayakking etc. Also, to note that the dolphin excursion only happens just in front of The Sands hotel, so we could just stand on the balcony and watch them!

There is no kids club or play ground, but the hotel staff were wonderfully accommodating to our two - including a birthday cake and special table decor for our eldest's big day! So much so, that they really didn't miss it - who needs a swing set, when there are sandcastles to build!
There were a handful of other kids around, but 99% of the people there were couples, and i think this would be a fabulous place for a wedding / honeymoon/ romantic getaway!
Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: If travelling with 2 or more children - try get upgraded to the 2bedroom suite - HEAVEN!! Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in an absolutely jaw dropping location. You can gaze at the beach indefinitely during your whole holiday. Staff is friendly and the free canoes and other boat trips at the beach is a very nice addition.

Don't let the other highly positive reviews in this section fool you into thinking that the Sands Resort is a five star luxury hotel. It isn't:

- the amount of beach space and (especially) pool area space per guest is VERY limited. It's pretty crowded, with kids running around, one having to fight for empty sun beds near the pool, etc.;

- the food was OK but not inspiring and nothing to write home about;

- the 'night entertainment' was truly a disaster. If management reads this, please get rid of the night entertainment altogether! Music selection is horrible (eg. the live act had the most kitsch songs ever, the DJs were even worse - i dont think people come to Mauritius to have to endure Beyonce and othet terrible 'top 40' songs at max volume). The music was very loud and if you are an early sleeper, you really won't like it as it can be heard throughout the hotel (even our room, which was at the other end of the restaurant area);

- the 'clientele' of the hotel is not what I was expecting to see in Mauritius. A significant portion of the guests had tattoos (always a telling sign, I find...!);

- the 'card' system for the towels somehow made me feel like a criminal (or that it was at least the presumption of hotel management!). I would have expected a system like this in the Copa Cabana Club in Benidorm, not in a high class hotel in Mauritius;

- rooms are not of a particularly high standard (although they are quite comfortable). It's a shame that very few of the rooms have uninterrupted sea views (in our third floor room, we could see trees but hardly any of the sea beyond the trees);

- cleanliness was so so. Plenty of dead insects in the bottom of the lamp bulb in our bathroom.


Having said all the above, the hotel is indeed set in a paradise-like setting and this makes up a lot of the faults described above. Also, this hotel is pretty inexpensive compared to other options in Mauritius, and is half board. So overall probably not a bad option if you can't afford or dont want to splash on one of the better hotels on the island. But don't let the other (slightly over-enthusiastic, I find...) reviews lead you to believe that you will get a five star hotel for the price of a 3/4 stars - what you pay is what you get!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Sands Resort and Spa from the 25th May. It was as good as all the reviews say, we loved it and will hopefully get to return in the future, we will certainly be recommending it to our friends and family. The holiday started well when we were met by the staff as soon as our car pulled up at the hotel, we were offered cool towels and shown straight to our room where we were checked in. The room, 219 on the first floor in the Tamarin wing had an amazing sea view which I hasten to add all the rooms have although some may be a liitle obscured by the palm trees. The room was large and very clean, the bathroom had supplies of shower gel and shampoo and very large white towels. The bathroom not only has a bath but a separate shower to. The room was cleaned daily and the bedlinen changed every 2 days.The food was varied and we always managed to find someting we liked, the chefs at breakfast made amazing omlettes and waffles that were large enough to feed a family, The infinity pool was beautiful and clean and was never crowded, there were always free sunbeds available either around the pool or on the beach. The staff work hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay and nothing was ever too much trouble, any request was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The watersports equipment available free of charge at the boathouse was great and the staff there were helpful and accommodating. All in all a wonderful holiday with many happy memories.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was in Mauritius on my own on business and stayed here as one of the hotels offered. A great location and would thoroughly recommend. Food and drink are a little pricey (as in most hotels in Mauritius) and I would recommend HB or FB. This hotel is right at the end of Flic-en-Flac so is a little isolated, however, the setting is great and a very quiet location. Rooms were clean and well-maintained and I will be returning to Mauritius next year for business and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This Mauritian resort is set on beautiful grounds with a very nice beach. Our trip began by being picked up by a friendly and informative driver at the airport. As soon as we arrived at the Sands Resort we were met with cold towels and respectful staff. Check-in went quickly and we were met at our room with our luggage and complimentary Sparkling Wine.
Our room was a very unique one for the resort, it was a suite with more then one room, also, more than one balcony to relax on. It was decorated tastefully and very clean aswell. Our first trip to the restaurants were above expectation. The employees are beyond efficient and absolutely courteous. They do not give the impression that you should tip them, but they make you genuinely want to. I can't say that about the Caribbean to date. Our week there was filled with complimentary room service bringing shots of local Rums and treats, wonderful bar/restaurant service and calm weather.
The only two concerns I had were handled as follows.

1- We were full board guests, but we quickly found out that drinking water wasn't included. We were told not to drink the tap water but they then proceeded to bill us for our water at the restaurant and bar. We felt that safe drinking water was a human right and necessity, so when we brought the matter up to the Manager one day as he stopped by to introduce himself, he quickly agreed with us and provided one free bottle of water with each meal. This was much appreciated.

2- As Honeymooners, we were gifted one free Honeymoon dinner at either of their 2 restaurants. This letter came written in French and was delivered to our room. We don't read or write French so making out the basics was difficult enough. We booked 24hrs in advance as recommended and had a great dinner at their Spices restaurant. Upon check out we received a bill for thousands of Rupees to cover the cheque. We were unaware that the menu was limited and we were to notify the restaurant that it was the "Luna de Meil" dinner which wasn't made clear to us. I felt we were mislead and made this clear to the night Duty Manager who was less then accommodating. After 30 minutes of debate he agreed to include the dinner and have us pay for the wine service. We agreed to this. He seemed to be the only employee with this attitude. Really our only draw back over the whole week.

I would absolutely recommend this resort based on location, facility management (with one exception) and most importantly, the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from spending 14 wonderful nights at the Sands Resort & Spa in Mauritius and this truly is a hotel we would recommend to anyone.

The hotel is set in a wonderful location directly on the beach at Wolmar near Flic en Flac. The view you get across the bay is breath taking, especially at night as all the villages opposite are lit up and with the silhouette of the mountain it makes it look like a twinkling diamond.

Upon arrival we were welcomed as soon as we stepped out of the taxi and offered drinks, we were then taken to our room along with our luggage. The room was large and had a huge double bed along with sofa, easy chair, flat screen TV etc. The bathroom was also large and comprised of a bath, double wash basins, separate toilet and shower cubicles as well as a walk in dressing area with hanging space and drawers. As you would expect there were the usual array of complimentary toiletries plus a hair dryer, iron, ironing board and safe. When we started to unpack we noticed that we didn’t have that many hangers so we informed the room maid and within 5 mins more hangers were supplied, so you couldn’t ask for a better service than that.

We had a ground floor room, so upon opening the patio doors we stepped out onto a small veranda where there was a table and two chairs and beyond that a garden area. It was then just a dozen steps away from the sunbeds on the beach, so after a lazy day of relaxing on the beach we would wander back and sit and relax with a drink on the veranda and watch the sun go down…..bliss.

We visited Mauritius at the end of May so at this time of year you don’t get that many flowers on the plants and shrubs but this didn’t matter as the gardens at the Sands still looked beautiful as the staff do a meticulous job of keeping them looking neat and tidy. When wandering around the gardens you also get to see the different species of native birds as well as gecko, small lizards and at night the frogs come out and break into a chorus. Also near to the reception area there is a lovely little bridge which crosses a pond containing Koi Carp fish.

The staff at the Sands all work very hard and we found them all to be so friendly and helpful; in fact we can’t praise them enough. It didn’t matter whether you were in the restaurant, spa, gym, boat house, reception, gardens or anywhere else they were all so welcoming. However we would like to extend a special thank you to Viroshnee, Anastasia, as well as the cook and chef serving in the Tamarind restaurant, as they helped to make our stay extra special.

Whilst at the Sands apart from having a meal on the beach one evening we ate at the Tamarind restaurant and didn’t feel the need to pay extra and eat in one of the other two restaurants. This wasn’t because we were to mean to pay the extra to sample the other food; it was just that the food at the Tamarind restaurant was soooooo good that we just didn’t want to go elsewhere. The menu was varied every evening changing from Chinese, to Italian, French, Indian, Mauritian etc and during our stay of 14 nights I don’t think we were offered the same meal twice. The selection of starters and different main courses was such that you just didn’t know what to choose and as for the desserts, we have travelled to many different countries around the world and stayed in various standards of hotel but I don’t think any of them have offered such a vast and delicious selection of desserts, they were heavenly. During the holiday I celebrated my birthday and we’re still not sure how the staff knew but that evening the table was decorated with flowers, along with a birthday card signed by the staff and after the main course a birthday cake was brought out topped with a special firework candle. We were half board and although you could get snacks at lunch time we never felt the need as we never felt hungry, mind you we didn’t turn down the complimentary drinks and nibbles (mini pizzas, rolls, pastries etc) which the staff brought around during the morning and afternoon if you were relaxing on the beach or around the pool area as these like the other food were very good.

Every evening there is musical entertainment including Saga dancing once a week on the beach as well as a weekly visit from some local traders selling locally made crafts. The entertainment always finished at 10pm each evening so there was never any fear of not being able to sleep because of noise disturbance, which we thought was a very good idea. When retiring to our room every evening we found chocolates on the pillows as well as a printed ‘thought for the day’.

There are lots of things to see and do in Mauritius so you don’t have to spend all your time on the beach. We would thoroughly recommend a trip to Cerf Island (ile de cerf), the first time we went to Cerf Island (13 years ago) we took a large speed boat but this time we went via catamaran. Whatever means of transport you choose you will not be disappointed as it will be a great day out. The botanical gardens are also worth a visit, if only to see the VERY large water lily pads. Then there’s the capital Port Louis with its shopping mall and market full of stalls selling all local crafts and produce, as well as Grand Baie in the North. There are also waterfalls to visit, Chamarel Seven Coloured Earths and the Black River Gorges National Park. The marine life is abundant so snorkelling, diving and under water walking are popular in Mauritius. At the Sands they have the usual non-motorised water sports available and we would definitely recommend taking out one of the double canoes, but something not to be missed is a trip out into the bay to see the dolphins. Tourists travel from all over the island to see the dolphins who rest and relax in the bay but staying at the Sands means you only have a 5 mins boat trip to reach them and then you have an hour following the dolphins as they swim around and leap out of the water. Trips out to see the dolphins can be arranged at the Sands Boat House, you just tell them what day you would like to go and then you receive a call at 8.30am on the day to say whether the dolphins are in the bay or not and if they are you leave at 9.30am.

It was a very sad day when we had to say our goodbyes and leave the Sands as we felt we had become part of the Sands family. Another nice little touch was that when we booked out of our room and were waiting for the taxi to take us to the airport we were offered a complimentary drink as per on arrival, a very nice little touch which doesn’t cost a lot but was really appreciated, thank you.

We completed our questionnaire from the hotel and left it with reception when booking out and upon arrival home we soon received a welcome home email along with acknowledgment of our questionnaire from the Sands Manager. We had said that we found the cost of the wine quite expensive and thought that it would be welcomed if they offered a free bottle of water with the evening meal, which we were informed, would be considered for the future.

Mauritius is a lovely island; the people like the climate are warm, friendly and welcoming. We had a few days when there was the odd shower of rain and blustery winds, but it’s a tropical island so without it you wouldn’t get the beautiful scenery and unlike England a few minutes later you are once again bathed in warm sunshine. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would thoroughly recommend staying at the Sands Resort and Spa, you will not be disappointed if you choose it as well.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was only a few steps from the beach, which was wonderful and so handy when on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.