We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really really amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

On our first visit to Mauritius . What an Amazing place !!!! The Sands staff treat You in a friendly personal way . Nothing is too much trouble . Down to Eggs Benedict on demand . Will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxed real holiday . Beautiful beautiful location !!! Right on the beach .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    253
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
200
1,067
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law had an amazing, 'dream come true' wedding at the Sands Resort. Thanks to the professionalism and passion of Tristan de Chalain, the food and beverages manager and Sheeka the wedding co-ordinator and their staff, every minute detail was seen to and and handled with what I'd call the Sands "trademark friendliness" From the start, the ladies doing her hair and make-up; getting my daughter in and out of her two dresses, the flowers, the set-up, the lovely cocktails, the service the help and care was exceptional. Eric, one of their recommended photographers was brilliant. The muscians, Jeane Pierre and Claude were amazing. Best of all was the top of the class snacks and dinner. Every guesst coudn't stop commenting on the delicious food and each and everyone of us had a wonderful time. Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sands in May 2012, due to personal circumstances have been unable to write this review until now. At the time we were in need of a much longed for holiday and the Sands was everything we had been hoping for and more. We booked our holiday with Mercury Direct and flew with Air Mauritius. We had opted for the private transfer from the airport and for the return journey, definitely worth doing especially after a long flight. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Patrick, the Manager, and other members of the staff and were given a refreshing drink while we completed a very relaxed check-in. I have to say that when you walk through reception and see the view across the infinity pool towards the ocean it takes your breath away.

We were then shown to our room, I had email'd the hotel a few weeks previously to request a top floor room in the Tamarind Wing, and sure enough the hotel had noted our request and we stayed in Room 327 which had an amazing view over the beautiful gardens and ocean. All the bedrooms look out to the ocean and the hotel is in a horseshoe shape. The bedrooms are very large, very comfortable bed, with a large bathroom with separate shower and bath. Quite handy to have a small line over the bath to hang your wet clothes rather than cluttering up the balcony with clothing/towels ! Plentiful supply of toiletries and coffe/tea each day.

The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice/variety over our 2 week stay. We prefer to sit on the beach and there was a plentiful supply of sunbeds for everyone, with the nice touch of small drinks and snacks brought to you during the day. We would recommend water shoes when swimming as there can be very small pieces of broken coral on the ocean floor, although at the time of writing this review the removal of the coral may have been dealt with more effectively.

I took advantage of the complimentary treatment at the Spa and had a totally relaxing facial done by Carine. If you do have the opportunity do try and experience a Spa treament.

Although we did want to have a totally relaxing holiday we also wanted to see the island. One day we went on the bus from Flic En Flac into the capital of the island. The bus was an interesting experience, very cheap and a great way to experience island life. We also arranged, through the Concierge Melvin, for a driver for 2 days to take us out for see more of the island. Lindsay was our driver, we had worked out rough itineraries for each day which Lindsay was more than happy to go along with. For us it is the best way to see an island as you go to areas which are not necessarily on the "sightseeing trail" and can experience island life as it actually is.

If you enjoy walking you can walk along the beach from the Sands right the way through to Flic En Flac. It is perfectly safe to walk out beyond the resort. The walk along the beach also gives you the opportunity to view the much larger hotels that line that part of the coast. They look very grand but to us the Sands is the perfect place to stay for a totally relaxing break and to feel thoroughly pamperedt.

A big thank you to Patrick and all the staff for making our holiday such an amazing experience. Even though it is a year ago the memories are still fresh in our memory. We do hope that one day we will be able to return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tamarind Wing are quieter, ask for a 3rd floor room if you wish to have the best possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We choose this hotel for our honeymoon as it's size and description appealed to us. We were not disappointed. Sands is a friendly and unpretentious place to stay. The staff are very welcoming and always happy to help. The room was spacious, really comfortable and cool...the A/C was brilliant. The bathroom was large too, although the decor was a little tired.

The activity facilities were great...with no extra charge for kayaking and certain boat trips on our half board deal. We joined in beach volleyball once, however we weren't very good at it. The spa was quite small but beautiful all the same. We had lovely massages and I had one of the best spa pedicure's I've ever had. Patricia spend nearly two hours on my feet and the result was incredible.

I'm a keen swimmer and the pool was too small for me but there is a safe area sectioned off in the sea, which was amazing to swim in...it's about 50m length by 25m wide. It's not too deep and you can practice your snorkelling there if you need a refresher before going on a boat trip. (I would recommend bringing some diving socks/jelly shoes, as there are a few rocks when you try and get in and out of the sea). The boathouse has lots of activities to join in with. The gym is a little small if that's your passion though.

We had the breakfast and dinner buffet included in our meal and we didn't get bored at all. We were there 11 nights and the variety and themes of the menu kept us from going elsewhere. For lunch we sometimes ordered from the beach waiter and had club sandwiches and a juice brought to us and served on a table next to our recliners. The barman and waiting staff were so friendly and the selection at the Dolphin bar was great ... they made a great margarita! There was live entertainment every night, which again we didn't bore of. The hotel really seems to put an effort into keeping things interesting for the guests. I think the size is helps with this it's just the right size with around 90 rooms.

There were a mixture of nationalities there French, Italian, German, South African and only a few Brits. We hired a car for the whole time we were there and put the money we saved on the transfer costs to the hire car (we used Maki Car Rental, a local firm which we found online - they were very good). The South West of the island was stunning...driving around Le Morne, visiting Bois Cheri tea plantation etc were so memorable. The roads are good quality, although you want to avoid driving through Quatre Bonnes, where we were stuck in traffic jams a few times. If you are feeling adventurous you must try the sub scooter trips organised by Blue Safari...quite a unique experience.

All in all a fantastic holiday and the hotel was the perfect place for us to unwind after our Wedding and explore the beautiful island of Mauritius.

Room Tip: We were on the Albion side, on the ground floor. It doesn't really make much difference though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner and I went to Sands for a "once in a lifetime" two week holiday in March and after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor - which made us pick Sands - wondered if it could live up to expectations. Well it did and then some.

From the moment we went through customs at the airport we were treated like VIPs - we were with Virgin Holidays. We had a wonderful rep meet us to take us to our own mini coach and once we got to the hotel we were treated like royalty. The concierge and hotel manager were there to greet us. Offered us a scented towel to freshen up and then were taken to the bar area and offered either sparking wine or a fruit cocktail while we registered.

The view as you walk into reception takes your breath away. It is exactly as it looks on the website and is even more stunning in real life. We had to wait about 90 minutes for our room to be ready [more about this later - it's not necessarily a bad thing] but we had lunch and admired the view and were too excited to be tired after our long trip from London.

I could write a book about Sands but will try and stick to the highlights. Every room has a sea view on the property. Ours was on the second floor so the sea view was obscured by the palm trees but to be honest we gazed out to sea all day from the pool and beach so it didn't bother us. The view from our balcony was over a lovely tropical garden. If you're keen for a unrestricted sea view then request a room on the first floor. The ground floor room views can be obscured by plants and palm trees. The room was spacious, airy and had everything you need. The bed was super comfortable. My partner is very fussy about pillows and beds and he had no complaints - a miracle! The rooms were spotless. You can even choose what time of day you'd like your room cleaned.

The pool area was great and except for one day we always managed to find a sunbed. The staff bring small fruit slushies mid morning and afternoon - they were delicious - and once a day a lovely man walks around offering to clean your sunglasses. Twice we were also offered a free 5 minute pool side neck and shoulder massage from therapists from the spa. What more can you wish for? There are activities on offer throughout the day and we snorkelled, kayaked, played table tennis and my partner played beach volleyball. Other activities include water skiing, sailing, aqua aerobics, stretching classes, legs bums and tums classes but we didn't try these.

For the 14 nights were there the menu/theme in the restaurant was different. The food was of an exceptional standard and much of it freshly cooked for you. My partner is gluten intolerant and Rishi - the restaurant manager - went out of his way to make sure he was catered for. The chef came out and talked him through what he could safely have. On those occasions that there wasn't a great gluten free choice from the buffet he ordered steak and frites and had caramelised pineapple and ice cream for dessert. The restaurant staff were unfailingly friendly polite and always had a big smile. Special mentioned should be made of Viroshni. Breakfast is great and the lady and gentleman on the "eggs to order station" were exceptional. The waffles made torder were a special treat and the chef went out of his way to prepare gluten free waffles for my partner. You couldn't even tell they were any different.

Every evening at 5pm there's a knock on the door and room service drop off two kinds of canapés - one savoury and one sweet - along with a shot of flavoured rum. Our favourite was the vanilla rum which tasted like a liquid creme brûlée followed closely by the passion fruit flavoured rum. If you're still soaking up the last rays of the sun the canapes are left waiting for you.

In the evening from 6pm onwards there is live music by the poolside bar - usually an acoustic guitar duo - who set the mood playing chilled music before dinner. A great sophisticated, unobtrusive touch. From around 8pm there is further entertainment which was varied and of different musical styles. All the entertainment is in good taste and not cheesy like it sometimes can be.

On our last day we only had to leave for the airport at 2pm and without even asking, the lovely concierge Melvin, said we could have a late checkout which allowed us to make more of our last day. As we were waiting for our taxi to take us away we were once again offered a free drink. It's this kind of attention to detail that makes Sands deserve every single one of their five star
We can't think of a negative thing to write about our holiday. All we can say to staff and management at Sands is keep up the good work and to people reading this review - don't hesitate - book now!!!!!

Melanie and Anthony

Room Tip: If you want a sea view book rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful place and the service in general is excellent. I would like to add that, as a coeliac, I found the service in the restaurant fantastic. I told the head chef about my gluten free diet on the first night and I did not have to explain again - the waiters were made aware of my needs and really looked after me. If there was little gluten free on the buffet, then the kitchen made me a special 3 course meal (this happened twice). They supplied gluten free bread throughout and then on the last night provided me with freshly baked gluten free rolls. We booked the lobster dinner (very expensive but very nice) and I was concerned that I would not be able to eat the spring rolls (starter) and chocolate fondant (dessert). I need not have worried, the chef made gluten free versions of both dishes which were lovely. Even the "turn down" canapes (brought to the room with tots of rum at 6 pm every night, what a nice gesture!) were gluten free. In short, this is a great hotel for coeliacs and anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in beautiful and natural surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived, exiting the taxi we were treated like the only guests in the hotel.
I feel in love with the place and the people immediately and the orange tea smell is just incredible.
the food was amazing, the staff so friendly
The honeymoon dinner was truly romantic and delicious

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.