We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, (Closed for renovations until August 16th 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Flic En Flac
nogent france
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“excellent holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed there from 17 to 24 March 2013 on an early morning arrival we were greated by Mr Patrick CHAN who told us everything, our room was ready and we were 20 meters far from from the sea !The room was very well furnished with bath and shower .Every day at 5 pm we were delivered a glass of rum with snack ,the service was excellent .As I said the beach is very near there is a lot of space under the trees you can swim very easily and the view on the MORNE is great .You can spend hours there;the pool is quiet and internet access is free and very easy .The food at the restaurant was very good and the drinks not too much expensive .
We only had one bad point:the diving experience .I am an openwater padi diver and when I reported to the beach they told me the diving time was at 12 and being over 60 I needed a medical certification .I said ,O.K. this is the law,I am a doctor I give my own certification ,they did not agree I had to go to a Mauricius doctor ! I gave up .Usually in all ,hotels the diving counter is the friendlest place ,here it is not,if you want a 2 dives a day diving stay,this is not the place .
But this is the place if you rent a car and want to visit all the island and there is a lot to be seen,,you are really near from any destination in the island even if the best beach is Flic en Flac
I recommend this hotel for his service and his localisation ..

Room Tip: room 231 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Mr. rvrv,

The whole Sands team thanks you for your wonderful and most encouraging review that you took care to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We are always very pleased to allow an early check in for our guests who sometimes arrive after a long and tiresome flight in the early morning. This largely depends upon room availability. We are happy to learn that you took advantage of the free facilities of the resort including the free wifi.

We quite understand your feelings of not being able to dive despite you are an open water PADI diver. As you mentioned in your review, all persons above 60 years old are required to obtain a medical certificate. This certificate is delivered by a medical doctor specialized in diving. The diving staff and management will always strictly adhere to these rules for safety and security reasons.

Thank you again for your very motivating review about the Sands and we would be honoured to be at your service when you will visit Mauritius again.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,046
    215
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
184
957
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got married at the hotel on the 13th march and found it to be the best choice we have ever made. Having read a couple of reviews on weddings there some comments were mixed so I was a bit nervous as there was just the two of us going. The wedding coordinator was very helpful and planned everything for us, staff at the spa & hair salon were all lovely and big thanks to the lady that did my hair(sorry not good with remembering names) & the lady that did my make up (pasquale I think) our photographer was also lovely&very professional for someone young, we had quite a laugh with with him which helped when taking pictures(Dedans photography)we had our wedding on the beach and could not have asked for a more perfect setting, in the evening we had a lovely table on the beach and had chosen a fish menu which had all been printed of on a personalised menu which was all signed by members of the management team.The hotel itself is well maintained and all the staff are very friendly in all restaurants, bar, spa, reception,concierge,housekeeping,boat house,maintenance, of course too many names to remember!! Rooms are very spacious and fully equipped. Beach is also very nice to walk and sunbathe on, quite a bit of coral in the sea so take some beach shoes as it can hurt a bit on the feet.we did eat in the supplemented restaurants a couple of nights for a change&was worth the extra charge especially the lobster bbq on the beach. As people have already said some drinks can be expensive but no dearer really than most restaurants/hotels in the uk so it wasn't really a surprise to us. All in all a lovely relaxing chilled out wedding/holiday which we wanted and found the place for it.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you don't have walking difficulties there is only 3 floors but no lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

During a three-week stay on Mauritius in February and March 2013, we spent the last two weeks at The Sands. We were there as ‘recidivists’, with two previous stays of equal length having convinced us of the high quality and the amenities of the resort.

In order not to repeat what we said on an earlier occasion, let us just shortly mention the hotel's advantages: its very clean, spacious and well equipped apartments; the very good, friendly and amiable service; the generally good quality of the food; its well-kept gardens or its breathtaking location and the view it offers on the Tamarine and the Le Morne Brabant mountains. In addition, when you are a ‘recidivist’ (and there seems to be a lot of regulars) you will enjoy special attention.

Although nearly all is perfect, we would like to draw the attention on two desiderata. The first one is a long term wish: It would be nice when the number of shady trees or devices could be increased on the beach. We know that takamaka trees will grow slowly, though. The beach of the Maradiva (north to The Sands, same proprietary) is perfect in this respect. The second one: Last year we remarked that the coverage and the stability of the free internet access the hotel offers were not satisfactory. This year both were perfect, with the throughput remaining extremely weak, though. It is an annoying experience when it takes two or three minutes until a simple website appears on your display. This holds all the more as the number of iPads (mini and maxi) or smartphones you may observe in the gardens or at the beach is constantly increasing in this hotel, too.

To conclude, an advice for (experienced) guests interested in snorkelling. If the sea is calm, swim out through the sort of channel boats use to leave the lagoon off the hotel. Then you would like to keep to your left swimming along the seaward part of the reef into the direction of Tamarine mountain. Constantly keeping to your left you would like to follow sort of a ragged ravine until you end again in the lagoon heading for a mountain in the distance that looks like the Matterhorn. You should do all this preferably during high tide since at the end of the tour the water will become quite shallow. Anyway, this snorkelling tour (it will take you about one hour or more) will be most rewarding and we even do it without flippers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay.The staff are the strength here and are almost always very enthusiastic and willing to please. Notably the egg chefs Ashoka and the lady with the lovely name beginning with n that escapes me, the wine waiter who knew what we wanted by the 2nd week and the bar staff at the pool.
Our room was comfortable although needed more hangers and didn't think to ask.Liked the balcony but plagued by ants there.Cleaning was varied.We felt it could have been cleaned more thoroughly as it was not spotless and we were never sure what towels would be replaced as often had to ask for more. Although public areas were immaculate.
Lots of free activities manned by friendly staff. Good to see free snorkelling for example-also volleyball, boules, table tennis and glass bottom boat.Not many fish to be seen at the hotel or on a boat trip further south but may have been unlucky.
Food was varied and tasty in the buffet restaurant although if we ate later choices were not replaced.Breakfast included cereal, yoghurt, lovely fruit, cheeses, cold meat, plus English style fried breakfast, eggs however you wanted.Pastries, pancakes etc etc.
Our only real problems were flies around us and the food when we ate but not sure if anything more could be done as food was covered up. A small niggle was lack of umbrellas in the 2nd week either round the pool or at the beach.be ready to reserve early. Something we never participate in.
Entertainment was very varied. Enjoyed the more traditional. Didn't want to hear viva espana or E!vis.
Would we return? Probably not as we enjoyed Mauritius but like visiting unknown places when we go long haul.We would recommend but have to say if going on honeymoon you might want to try the sister hotel which appears to have a more exclusive air about it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Sands has an excellent location on a sandy beach on the west coast of Mauritius. The layout of the hotel is good with rooms forming a horseshoe around gardens and pool. The views from our room 234 was excellent as it was located at the end of the horseshoe next to the sea.

However there was one big problem with having a top room and that was the droppings from the pigeons that rooster in the roof, unfortunately the balcony was rarely cleaned of these droppings.

Generally the service in the hotel was good but rarely outstanding.

Although the buffet meals in the Tarmind restaurant had a different theme each night the food tasted similar each meal. Breakfast was a buffet again with limited variation.

The price of drinks were in our view excessive, £4 for a bottle of water, £6 for a small beer and £30 for a bottle of wine. Although there are two separate restaurants Pink Peppercorn and Spices they seemed rarely to have many customers, maybe not surprising as the allowance for half board clients was just 500 rupees hardly enough for a starter.

There are plenty of free activities the best we did was the walk to the village of Taramind where it is necessary to wade across a river.

Overall there was little to complain about at the Sands but even less to get excited about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Resident Manager at Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Reded46,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are sad to read that you were inconvenienced by birds droppings coming from the roof of your balcony. Your balcony was cleaned everyday when you were not in your room in order to cause the least discomfort possible for you. But birds might have laid their droppings again before you came back in your room. Therefore you thought that your balcony was never cleaned. The birds that have nestled in the roof of our balcony have now been made to move away. Our staff attract the birds by feeding them in the garden far away from the rooms and restaurants each morning. We would have been very glad to change your room should you have expressed the wish to move.

Though there is plenty of choices on every evening themed buffet it may rarely happen that a guest finds a dish not to his/her taste. Our chefs are glad to cook a dish that would please our guests whenever they have any special request. The breakfast buffet is quite generous and varied and we are eager to learn from you how we could make it better. You are most welcome to make your suggestions via our website : www.sands.mu

Please allow us to bring corrections to the beverage prices that you posted in your review. A litre of mineral bottled water is Rs90 or GBP1.80 , the price for a bottle of wine is as from Rs 995 or GPB 20GBP and a beer at Rs170 or 3.40GBP. Our prices are always displayed on the menus and are among the lowest compared to other resorts on the island. Our à la carte Spices restaurant where the service is discreet is well frequented and the beach restaurant Pink Peppercorn are quite busy specially during lunch time where guests appreciate the freshness under the shade of the big pepper tree.

We are pleased to read that you took advantage of the free hiking trip to the Tanarin village organised by our sport and leisure staff every Sunday. As you rightly mentioned , the Sands has this advantage of its unique location and it is correct to say that all rooms whether ground or upper floor are sea facing with magnificent views on the ocean.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to comment and bring clarifications for all the members of travellers community that would like to stay at Sands in the future.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werdohl, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we arrived in the morning after a very,very long trip we were greeted personally by the manager and could immediately use our nice, large room (not until 14.00 p.m.)
All the time the staff was extraordinary friendly. The service was excellent.
The hotel facility looks beautiful.The infinity pool is really large, not so much chlorinated, and almost not much frequented. Staying at the pool or beach iced fruit juice or spits of fruit were given.
We liked breakfast and specially the dinner buffet (food themes) very much.
For us it were perfect holidays in the center of the paradise

One tip: It rained several times. If you have the choice, walk there in november or december.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better look at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really can’t add too much that other people have not already said.

It met all my expectations – they were high after all the great reviews. I had read a lot of them and did want to get my hopes up too much, as things can then disappoint.

From the moment we arrived to the fantastic sight of the infinity pool visible from reception, handed a cool towel and offered a welcome drink, I knew I had made a good choice. Lovely good size room, great view (all rooms have sea view), I knew I had made a great choice for my partners 50th. What was a bit unexpected is how the place grew on me as the days went on – started off as a lovely place and ended up feeling it was something more, mainly thanks to the friendliness of the staff. It is always the people that make the best holidays. Always a friendly word, professional but not detached and more importantly knew that we wanted two large beers!!

Tip on water sports: I decided to give water skiing a go for the first time on the last day (it is free, just need to book it). I made a complete mess of it, but knew where I went wrong. Spoke to another guest on the boat who started from day one, made same mistake as me, but then went out every day after and really mastered it. So if you fancy it, don’t wait until the last day, start early.

The buffet food is good, not great, but it is a buffet after all – when is buffet food great? Every night there is really a good choice of different dishes. Ate on the beach one night for my partners 50th (thanks for organising Rishi) – that was really fantastic experience and food was lovely. Also tried Spices restaurant one night as well – very goodfood.

Had two lovely Spa treatments - well worth trying (You can book in advance via email).

I would not hesitate to recommend this place and wished I had booked longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, (Closed for renovations until August 16th 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious bedrooms, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.